#Barathon Day 4 : War and Pieces

Screenshot_2017-06-16-20-01-56-925

This is my fiction entry for the fourth day of #Barathon 2017, the fortnight-long blogging marathon for bloggers everywhere, organised by Blog-A-Rhythm! Today’s prompt is ‘War and Pieces’.


rose-232114_960_720

“Me quiere mucho… poquito… nada…” Sofia mutters under her breath, as she rapidly pulls out a set of three petals from a rose she plucked from a garden.

“Loves me a lot…” One tiny petal of the daisy is ripped apart from its womb.

“Loves me a little…” The second last petal joins its sister.

“Loves me not…” Sofia rubs the last petal in her hand, hoping to find a hidden petal stuck under the one she’s holding.

Sofia lies down on the grass and closes her eyes. The tortuous image of ‘Isabella weds Alejandro’ is still printed on the inside of her eyes. In a few hours from now, Sofia will attend her best friend, Isabella’s wedding. She will have to plaster a convincing smile on her face, wear the pastel coloured dress that Isabella had selected for her and pretend to be happy for a backstabber.

“This is not a war that will be won with might.” Sofia says. “A fake smile, appropriate deception, saying the right words and raising hue and cry at the right time are the weapons we must employ. After all, we will get only this one chance to right some wrongs, uncry some tears and get things back to the way they were supposed to be.”

Sofia tears the last petal into two symmetrical pieces. She gives one half of the petal to her soulmate since seven years, Alejandro, and they mumble in unison, “Me quiere mucho… Me quiere mucho…”


P.S.: “Me quiere mucho… poquito… nada…” are the Spanish words to be used while playing the ‘loves me, loves me not’ game. However, in the Spanish version, you have three options, and not two.

P.P.S.: How do you think this story will end? Comment and let me know!

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely take on the prompt, Mithila. It’ll be interesting to see which is the third way this story can go. I’ll stay tuned for sure.

    And, btw, here’s my post for the day: https://blogsbyesha.wordpress.com/2017/06/23/seven-memorable-skywatch-shots/

    Like

  2. kalaravi16 says:

    Brilliant! Fantastic take on the prompt and I learned something new too…. 3 options to the Spanish version of loves me-loves me not! I hope true love wins! Be it Isabella or Sofia.

    Like

  3. I am not a fan of romance or love stories. I would like Sofia to hire a contract killer to get Isabel out of her way or do it herself. Thanks for helping me in keeping my interest alive in Spanish. I learnt new lines today 🙂

    Like

  4. Lata Sunil says:

    I am a bit confused. If Sofia is giving a petal to Alejandro, soul mate of 7 years, why is he marrying Isabella? There is so much more to this story. Give us the bigger story.

    Like

  5. I like your take on the prompt, but I have a few questions. Will there be a next part?

    Like

  6. Yes, same question as Lata here. But, I loved the way you built up the story. Esp. the lines, “The tortuous image of ‘Isabella weds Alejandro’ is still printed on the inside of her eyes.” Please give us more, Mithila!

    Like

  7. Obsessivemom says:

    Oh this is intriguing. You really need to do a part 2. Wonder what Sophia would do. I’d like to know what Alejandra thinks, who he truly loves.

    Like

  8. Shilpa Garg says:

    I hope true love wins in the end. Would be looking out for the next part of the story!!

    Like

  9. Shalzmojo says:

    Oh my this is new…. I am a die hard romantic and my ending says she will go in guns blazing and declare her love which will be reciprocated by him too. 😊

    Like

  10. Balaka says:

    For some strange reason I felt Sofia was in a lesbian relationship with Isabella…good take on the prompt..looking forward to read the ending.

    Like

  11. gravadee says:

    OMG…So Alejendro is with Sofia now? and marrying Isabella..such a jerk
    I want to know more…I think Sofia might pretend all is ok and she and alejendro might have an affair

    Like

  12. L.E.R.T says:

    Esta es realmente brillante. Gives a complete different meaning to the word ‘WAR’. Well written. Cheers

    Like

  13. Rajlakshmi says:

    Ohh the ending sounds sinister. They are up to something for sure. The open ended stories are always fun to read… Although the curiosity is killing.

    Like

  14. Interesting take on the prompt! I think that Sofia and Alejandro are upto something. Maybe Alejandro marrying Isabella is a plan to extract money or something of value from Isabella or her family. May be even revenge. The wedding itself may just be the perfect setup for their plan and once they get what they want, the groom disappears.

    Like

  15. shanayatales says:

    Gave half of the petal to Alejandro? Interesting. I had a theory, but Alejandro being there, kinda blows it out of the water. So I hope you have a sequel planned, cause I am curious.

    Like

  16. Beautiful bound me to thinking what next. Sofia’s soulmate marrying her best friend 🤔🤔🤔 still she’s giving the half petal to him and taking the vow of togetherness…
    Hmm.. eagerly waiting for conclusion.
    Here is mine
    https://www.gleefulblogger.com/2017/06/24/war-pieces-fight-survive/?preview=true&frame-nonce=dff748f422

    Like

  17. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Sofia seems feisty, for sure! I wonder who will get the man – she of Isabella!
    Do bring out the sequel soon, Mithila!
    Loved your take on the prompt!

    Like

  18. Hmm… I like the way you had put the prompt in action!! What happens next? Will she get him or not? Let us know soon!

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

