#Barathon Day 1: The Fault in our Stares

​This is my micro fiction entry for the first day of #Barathon 2017, the fornight-long blogging marathon for bloggers everywhere, organised by Blog-A-Rhythm! The prompt for today is: ‘The Fault in our Stares’, a play on the bestselling book by John Green, ‘The Fault in Our Stars’.


“Come on, dear cubby,” I croon. “Let’s have your cereal and milk earlier than the earliest bird. Or else we’ll be late for school!”

You merely stare at me blankly, not taking in a single word I just said. But today, I have the perfect solution for your lack of domestication.

“Sweetie, look at this spoon flying at you! There are bits of smoked venison in it! Don’t you like deer?” The excitement in my voice is directly related to how concerned I am about you and your feeding habits.

You jump off the table. Time elongates itself just enough for me to worry about you, but not enough to stop staring at you and catch you before you fall.

But, you land gracefully on the floor, much to my relief. Giving me an elegant stare, you say, “I’m old enough to hunt for fresh venison, mom.”

Being a mother to a teenage leopard is certainly not a piece of deer-cake. 


35 Comments Add yours

  1. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Wow! I did think this was an unusual mommy, coaxing her baby to eat his meals! It was great meeting this leopard mommy, Mithila!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Shilpa! Glad you liked the post 🙂

      Like

  2. Kala Ravi says:

    Oh goody, into the animal world we go! Great imagination and clever narration Mithila!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Kala! My posts for this #BarAThon are going to be slightly off the beaten path. 🙂

      Like

  3. Natasha says:

    Sweet and nice twist to the tale.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Natasha 🙂

      Like

  4. Neha says:

    I like the idea of a teenage leopard! You made me wonder if those moms too discuss at length their kids, just like humans 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right! Do they leopard moms meet up and discuss everything embarrassing about their kids too? 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  5. My Era says:

    Aha! What a twist in the tale it was.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. hee hee hee 🙂 Seriously, well written. I was wondering about the species as I reached the last two lines.

    Marvel Movies Trivia: The 6 Infinity Stones and the Gauntlet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you doc for the feedback! 🙂

      Like

  7. This took me by surprise! What a twist! Being a mommy to a teenage leapord, you must have good marathon stats as well!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Arpita 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Hehehe! I liked your narration. Wonderful imagination Mithila 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Reema 🙂

      Like

  9. Shalzmojo says:

    Ha ha ha this is so cute. I wonder what other rebellious thoughts are there in a young teenage leaopards mind 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If we could only understand these big cats better! Thank you Shalini 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. A leopard eating cereal and milk. That’s the picture that remains in my head. But loved the way you have portrayed the motherly instincts of the leopard in wanting to catch her kiddo, inspite of knowing fully well that he / she is a Leopard and a teenage one at that. Cheers, Varad

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your feedback! It really means a lot 🙂

      Like

  11. sanchwrites says:

    I loved the phrase ‘time elongates itself’. Great story too…did not figure out the protagonists were animals so well done on that twist 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I’m getting better at flash fiction! Thank you Sanch 🙂

      Like

  12. Haha!! Wonderful Mithila! That was smart! Loved the way you weaved it!

    Cheers

    Like

  13. Parul Thakur says:

    Ha ha! Leopard Mommy was cute and so was your writing. Good one, Mithila!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Parul! 🙂

      Like

  14. Akshata Ram says:

    Loved how you weaved magic with your words. I could have never guessed it was a leapord. Co incidentally my theme is flash fiction! Look forward to reading more from you

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Akshata for your feedback! 🙂

      Like

  15. Oh I loved that little one. She/he has style and confidence.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Teens rock! 😎 Thank you 🙂

      Like

  16. You kept me wondering which animal this was going to be, until the very end. A teenage leopard having cereal and milk sure sounds interesting to me!! Good take on the prompt, Mithila.

    Like

  17. Rajlakshmi says:

    What a brilliant take on the prompt. Moms are always like that… Thinking that their babies are always little. Loved this microfiction.

    Like

  18. Hahahaaha! Loved the twist! Never guessed it would be Leopards!:))

    Like

  19. Shilpa Garg says:

    Aah! The teens and the moms are the same even in the animal kingdom. Very imaginative take on the prompt, Mithila 🙂

    Like

  20. Hilarious. I couldn’t make out who the characters are until the very last line and then I read it again. My old grey brain cells, blame them 😀
    A mother is a mother, whether a human or a leopard.

    Like

  21. Hahaha, at first I thought it was a cat and its human mommy. Nice twist in the tale!

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

