Let’s save the environment!

Hello. Today is World Environment Day. And thanks to our education system, we all know how to save the environment. We have been learning it right from the day we joined school, till the day we become professionals. But, I still feel that we haven’t learnt some awesome ways to save the environment. I mean, ‘closing the tap after using it’ and ‘not wasting paper’ is for beginners. There are some hacks that only masters can attempt. Here are some ‘master level hacks’ to save the environment.
Warning: This post is a sarcastic post. But do feel free to use these strategies (if they appeal to your sensibilities or if you’re crazy like me)!
Source: Pixabay
  • Don’t buy new calendars every year. Use the Calendar app on your phone! Why? The physical calendar cannot smack you on the head to remind you about the meeting you had planned a month ago. It can only sit still and look pretty on your wall. But, your phone can emit a generic beep and remind you (and the people around you) that you are a forgetful geek moron. Nevertheless, don’t hesitate to use this hack. We must embarrass ourselves in the short run. So that our grand-kids can embarrass themselves in the long run. #NobleGoal
  • Don’t buy books and magazines. Let us assume that you spend 100-500 rupees on one book, buy four books a month, for 12 months. You’d end up spending 4800-24000 rupees per year on books. And I’m not even considering magazines. Whereas you could get a Kindle in the price range of 10000-25000 rupees. Or you could download the Kindle App on your phone for free! The prices of Kindle versions of a book are generally way lesser than that of books. Hence, you save the environment, some bucks and look like a bibliophile-geek at the same time.
  • It’s high time we go back to those times when we used to do everything in the daylight, and sleep the moment it gets dark. (That happened in the Stone Age, right? Before they discovered the mobile phone?) But there’s the temptation of using your phone when you’re sleepless at night. I get you. Yet, I’m pretty sure you’ll use this hack in your daily schedule ASAP. Because who doesn’t want more time to sleep (4 hours more! Besides the 8 hours you should be getting!!) or more time to catch up on Netflix (that’s easily 4-6 episodes more, right??)? By sleeping when it’s dark, you’ll be saving a lot of electricity. Plus, if you use the Kindle hack, you could have an awesome extra 4 hours to read! (The bookworm in me is squirming for joy!!)
  • Don’t buy board games, toys, etc for your kids. In case you didn’t know, all these games are available on the phone. In the Play Store. Of your Android Phone. Or in the App Store. Of your iPhone. (I’m not even going to talk about the Windows Store. People owning Windows Phones will have to buy physical games for their kids.) Thus, by downloading a game-app on your phone you end up saving space in your kiddies room. You can place a comfy sofa in this space, so that your kid can relax and play on his/her phone. Cheers to us, environment savers!
  • Don’t wrap the gifts you give someone. If you use the above hacks, the options available for gift-giving boil down to a very short list. Books are out, toys are out. What else do people gift each other? (Segue: Give plants! Not bouquets of flowers!) But, whatever you choose to gift, don’t wrap the gifts at all. Don’t wrap it with cellophane paper, brown paper, newspaper, toilet paper, nothing. By using wrapping paper you waste a lot of precious time. ‘Is the paper folded exactly at the edge? Is the cello-tape stuck in a way that makes it completely invisible? (Idiots, this is cello-tape. Not spello-tape.) You’re also wasting the precious time of the person receiving the gift. This person has to plaster on a happy-surprised expression on their face. And then ends up throwing all the wrapping paper (and the gift) in the dustbin. By not wrapping a gift, you save so much time. Time to come up with better hacks than the ones I’m coming up with right now.
  • I’ve saved the best hack for last: don’t maintain a diary. Save your ink and paper, be a blogger! *nervous grin*

That’s enough hilarity for today. I hope you have an awesome Monday, and are motivated enough to save the environment!

~Crazy-Environmentalist

P.S.: Please check the price of the Kindle you’re planning to buy on the Amazon website. The figure I’ve mentioned is just a guesstimate range.

Update: This post has been featured in the Spicy Saturday picks by BlogAdda!

ssp_email

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Uma C says:

    Hehe, this was a good one, Mithila. In fact, I’m all for not wrapping gifts and not having the paper calendar. I’m sure the kids will applaud your suggestion of using Apps for games. Err..as a parent, I might not yet succumb to that. Not just yet πŸ™‚ However, these hacks are not just for crazy minds, Mithila. The way we are going, very soon these might not remain optional at all 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes. Given an option, even my parents would have declined my brilliant suggestion of a phone instead of toys πŸ˜€ But I guess the Kindle could be a better option in that case?

      I do hope it doesn’t come to the day when we actually have to do all these crazy things. The whole point of this post was to make people do the traditional things to save the environment, so as to not resort to doing these crazy hacks later!

      Thank you Uma for stopping by ❀

      Like

  2. Rajlakshmi says:

    Yes be a blogger and save paper. Hehehe I have never understood the need to gift wrap something that will anyway be opened. Yeah, it looks pretty but what’s the purpose πŸ˜‹

    Like

  3. Beloo Mehra says:

    Even though you say you are choosing a sarcastic voice in this post, but the tips you give are all good and important πŸ™‚ I rarely use gift wrapping paper, but recycle paper or cloth bags from shopping (I save them and use them for many purposes including gift-giving). I do buy books though from time to time though, but then I console myself that I do as much paper-plastic recycling at home as I can, even to the smallest bits of candy wrappers etc…and also do composting quite religiously.
    I wish we all, the entire human species becomes more conscious of the need to be responsible for the health of our planet and environment.

    Like

  4. kalaravi16 says:

    Yayy! Super life-hacks and despite being hilarious they do make a lot of sense in this digital age! I totally endorse the last hack of course, glad that I am doing my bit by ranting away in cyberspace!

    Like

  5. Shailaja V says:

    This was partly hilarious and partly good tips, actually πŸ™‚ Am all for the calendar app on the phone. We haven’t bought newspapers since 2009 for precisely this reason. As for the games for kids on the phone, am not there yet πŸ˜‰ I prefer it when she drowns herself in a paperback any day.

    That being said, I enjoyed this post as always πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. I’d agree with some of the ideas, but the one I can’t go along with is not buying books! We have a library almost at our home, and never in any of my thoughts has it come across as against the environment(I am biased, I know, can’t see it any other way). And I hate the idea of giving gadgets to kids(obviously I am a parent).

    My post for World Environment Day

    Like

  7. Haha, how true. I’m especially all for falling asleep the minute it turns dark. I don’t know why we as a species don’t do it?!?!

    Like

  8. Hahahaha, I love how this post reeks of sarcasm! πŸ˜€

    Like

  9. This was sarcasm + wisdom. I always gift books to children on their birthdays. Now I will ditch the wrapping papers and gift them in recycled paper bags. For adults, the gift will be plants. Be a blogger. Cheers.

    Like

  10. These are super sarcasm ides plus wisdom…Good ideas of gifting for the younger generation…I think we need to teach the children of tomorrow the benefits of recycle and reuse

    http://www.simpleindianmom.in/advantages-teaching-mindfulness-children/

    Like

  11. Ramya says:

    Lol!!! But amidst all the sarcasm, there was no denying I quite liked the logic. MAde sense!!!( well agreed to part of it cause I still love board games :))

    Like

  12. Obsessivemom says:

    You girl are planning on turning the kids into gadget geeks. And here I am putting so much energy in keeping them away. How about they go out and play physical games? That should work for both of us. I loved the idea of sleeping as soon as it’s dark. Four extra hours sounds delightful.
    I do love your crazy posts Mithila.

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

