7 Reasons Why Seven Is My Favourite Number

First things first. I categorise people into two types. One, who write their 7’s without a dash and two, the awesome ones who take that extra millisecond to put a dash across their 7’s.

No points for guessing which category I belong to. 

There was a point of time when I was 7 years old and I used to write 7 without a dash. And I was pretty fine with my 7 looking like a generic 7, the 7 everyone sees on a keyboard. But then, I saw a notebook where someone (I really don’t remember who) had written the seven times table. And I kid you not, it looked like someone had printed out the entire seven times table. My 7’s without a dash were really sloppy back then. They seemed like gigantic commas who were angry because they were being inserted among numbers, and not alphabets.  

My one-digit year old mind tried to understand why that piece of paper with the number 7 written repeatedly looked pretty beyond perfection. The times table of every number should look pretty beyond perfection, shouldn’t it? And that’s when I realised that this particular list of 7’s had a dash on them. A neat dash, horizontally bisecting an otherwise plain looking number, making it look elegant and perfect. It was the first time I had seen a seven with a dash. It changed my life beyond any self-help book. That extreme moment of understanding is the reason why I write 7’s with a dash nowadays. 

And of course, there was that other problem of my 1’s looking like 7’s, and that was the reason why I lost too many marks. (Segue into what actually happened: I tried to write 1 the way it appears on the keyboard, and that’s why my teachers thought it was a 7. Because they were used to seeing 1 as a simple straight line, without any decoration. But they were willing to get acquainted with the 7 with a dash, instead.)

7 is my favourite number because of a lot of other reasons too. Here’s a list:

1. Already mentioned above in the most hilarious fashion.

2. There are seven books in the Harry Potter series. Of course, there are eight now, but I don’t consider The Cursed Child as a part of the Harry Potter series. It’s a story about James Sirius Potter, and not Harry Potter. 

3. There are seven colours in a rainbow. I can see rainbows in my spectacles, if I stand in front of a light source at a certain angle. That means, I don’t have to wait for the monsoon to see rainbows. I see them all the time! Segueing here (again), but I do feel bad for the colours black, pink, peach and gray. Why are they not included in VIBGYOR? They are pretty colours too.

4. Libra is the seventh astrological sign in the Zodiac! Wuddup, Zodiac Reference! (Just channeling my inner Bawse, not the criminal 😛 )

5. I read this in an article somewhere: If you add the numbers on the opposite sides of a die, you will always get seven. But on my die, the adjacent sides add up to seven. What about you? 

6. Seventh day of the week is Sunday! Who doesn’t like a Sunday? And by that analogy, who doesn’t like the number 7? 

7. The word seven has two syllables and five letters in it. Two plus five? Bingo. 

Jokes apart, there’s a real psychological reason why people prefer the number seven. You can read it here on the Psychology Today website.

I’ll just leave this cute photo of seven piggy banks here. Maybe you could start filling it up for me? 😛  (Source for the cute image: Pixabay)


This post is written for #FridayReflections hosted by Sanch! Check out the other posts here!

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Anjana says:

    I loved your 7 reasons : D

    Like

  2. Lata Sunil says:

    There are no seven doubts on why you love seven. Saat samundar, saat phere, saat saal, phew! so filmy.

    Like

  3. Lata Sunil says:

    Saat khoon maaf

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Seven is considered a lucky number by many in the United States, especially (for some reason) by gamblers. “Lucky seven”. When I was growing up, crossing your seven was trying to be European, which could be considered sophisticated (sometimes) or just being snotty (sometimes). Funny how culture works.

    Like

  5. sanchwrites says:

    There are also 7 deadly sins 😛 I loved your post especially the story about how you write the number 7. I tried the dash for a little while but gave up on it. Took up that extra second…

    Like

  6. Obsessivemom says:

    Oooh I did the dash too for a long time and then decided it was too much trouble. Very valid points all of those. Yeah I feel bad for pink and peach and the others too – discrimination on the basis of colour.

    Like

  7. Inderpreet says:

    I like seven as well and the occasional 7 does have a dash but not always 🙂 Seven is really very popular and I do love the 7th day!!

    Like

  8. Dashy says:

    Haha, valid points you got there! There could still be so many reasons, and when you look into it seven seems to be everywhere…the deadly sins, the seven ages and so on. It’s the lucky number after all. 😀

    Like

  9. pratikshya2 says:

    I like seven too…. 1. I liked to watch the night sky- the stars.. ‘saptarishi’ was my introduction to constellations.
    2. My birthday is in July -the seventh month of the year…
    3. 7 horses in Sun God’s Chariots in the sun temple-Konark-my earliest introduction to History.

    And many more reasons I can’t really recall now…

    Like

  10. I too like the 7th day..My anniversary is on the 7th in the 7th month..Loved reading your 7 reasons

    http://www.simpleindianmom.in/is-water-retention-the-reason-behind-your-weight-gain/

    Like

  11. I used to write 7 with a dash until last year – that is, until my boss saw me write 7 like that and told me it was incorrect. He had the habit of “correcting” everyone and “explaining” a lot of things, if you know what I mean. So I started writing 7 without a dash, and the habit stuck, and now I’m sad 😦
    PS: Harry Potter has 7 books. Period. We shall never speak of Cursed Child.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Shailaja V says:

    I haven’t read a cuter post in ages! You’re like the poster child for the number, 7. Psst. The theme for BarAThon is something you’d love then eh?
    😉😉

    Like

  13. I could well relatevti your post. I too used dashed 7 during my college days. It meant much pride in me. Loved your post very much.

    Like

  14. Shilpa Garg says:

    HahaHa. We are convinced that you do love the number 7 😀 I used to write 7 with a dash earlier, but now I write it both with and without that extra embellishment.

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

