The You Attitude #AtoZChallenge

It’s that wonderful old-fashioned idea that others come first and you come second. This was the whole ethic by which I was brought up. Others matter more than you do, so ‘don’t fuss, dear; get on with it’. ~Audrey Hepburn

The ‘You Attitude’ is a popular concept in Business Communication. I came across this concept, as it was a part of my syllabus in the first semester of undergrad.

By using this concept in business communication, the writer of a letter makes the reader feel motivated, establishes trust and creates a friendly relationship with him/her. It entails the use of simple changes in normal communication, such as:

Me Attitude: We need office supplies to be delivered. I am placing an order for the same.

You Attitude: I would like to place an order for office supplies with you.

The reasoning behind this concept is that people like to feel like they are the centre of attention. Another reasoning that I personally feel is true, is that sometimes people don’t know how to respond to a letter, or what is the right way to address a problem. A letter written with the ‘You Attitude’ helps the reader understand everything in a simplified format, as he/she does not have to waste time trying to figure out why you said what you said.

To read more about this concept, click here.

Now, I would like to share with you the reasons why you should implement the ‘You Attitude’ in your blogging style.

Every reader reads a post with the intention of taking something away from it. Readers do not read posts with the intention of praising the writer. They will only praise the writer if their primary goal of ‘learning something new’ is accomplished.

That’s part of the reason why you shouldn’t resort to rants on your blog online. Unless you can edit it in such a way that the reader ‘learns something new’ from your gibberish.

X for AtoZChallenge 2017 Fabulus1710

Here are some tips to make your content more reader friendly:

  1. The looks: This pertains to the way your content looks. Make sure you use easy-to-read fonts. If you are in two minds about the serif or sans serif fonts, read this article by Design Shack here. Make sure you use the bold, italic and underline features appropriately. Also, if you are copy-pasting content from a Word document or any other document into your WordPress/Blogspot blog, make sure you erase the formatting after doing so. After clearing the formatting, then re-apply the old formatting, if any.
  2. Information: No useless information. No information that the reader cannot benefit from.  No pointless jokes. No unnecessary images. No irritating rainbow-coloured text. No frogs jumping out of the screen. Only clean, clear and condensed content.
  3. Summarization and Conclusion:  You can use the bullet point format to help summarize the content for readers. Infographics work wonders, specially if you have numerical data to share. A concluding paragraph, with an easy-to-use call-to-action is super cool. For example, I have a simple call-to-action at the end of all my posts this April. It’s a question that people can answer in the comments. You could try out something like that. Or you could also ask your readers to follow you on social media. The choice is yours.

Y for 2017

Wassup, happy readers! This post is written for the #AtoZChallenge, and this is the third year I’m participating in this challenge. Do keep cheering me on all through this month, as I’m hell-bent on scoring a hat-trick in 2017, at the age of 18! My theme for this year is : The Encyclopedia of Blogging Memories, Feelings and Lessons.

You can check out my #AtoZChallenge 2015 (Theme: Harry Potter and Hogwarts) and 2016 (Theme: Weird Words) posts, and support my awesomeness!

Here’s a special question for you to answer today: Do you already use the ‘You Attitude’ while blogging? Do you have some special tips and tricks to share with us today?

~The-Blogging-Curator

8 Comments Add yours

  1. This is very interesting. I learnt about the ‘You’ attitude today. Thanks for sharing, MM:)

    Like

  2. Thank you. Lot of things learnt about blogging during this challenge.

    Like

  3. Kalpanaa says:

    This you attitude sounds like a useful tool. In life as in blogging. I’ve just heard about it – never having studied business. Thank you for this information you gave us 🙂

    Like

  4. Points noted, Madame 🙂

    Like

  5. Applying business concepts to blogging… Hmmm… very, very interesting…

    Like

  6. Shailaja V says:

    You know the best part about you? You’ve got the essence of blogging down pat. It is always that: The You factor- which will help us in the long run. How succintly you’ve put it down. Mithila, you are a genius.

    Like

  7. jazzfeathers says:

    This is something I had to learn when I first started blogging, because in all honesty, it isn’t something that comes naturally. The natural idea is: this is my blog, I blog about myself. Especially if we are writers, I should add 😉

    But the you-attitude makes a lot a sense. I’m a blogger, but I’m also a reader of blogs, so I know that I like to read blogs that leave me something, being that a teaching or a laugh. In the three years I’ve been blogging, I’ve devise a policy of never complaining on my blog (let alon rent), speaking my ideas sparingly, never talking about my private life (especially the frustrating stuff). I don’t think readers are interested in these things, they want to be entertained and learn something new, so that’s what I try to give them.
    Looks like working 😉

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – 1940s Film Noir

    Like

  8. Well I enjoy your conversational writing style and look forward to hearing more from you.

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

