No Xerox copies, please! #AtoZChallenge

I’ve been imitated so well I’ve heard people copy my mistakes.
~ Jimi Hendrix

Give me the liberty to use the wrong word for ‘photocopy’ today. Today’s the toughest day in the challenge!

I’m hoping that you have already figured out the analogy between the title of my post and the topic I want to write about today. If not, here it is: plagiarism in blogging.

Many better, and more knowledgeable, authorities have written about this topic. I can’t claim that about myself, as no one has felt the need to plagiarise my content. (Or at least if they have done so, I have no clue about it.)

But here I am anyways, trying to tell you why you should be ashamed of being a plagiarist.

You became a blogger, for the reason of sharing your views.

Highlight the word ‘your views‘.

Not the views of some random netizen. Not the views of some random person you’ve never met. Not the views of some person you trust.

Your own views.

There may be ideas that are repeated. I don’t believe that there’s a single idea that hasn’t already been thought of by someone else. And so does Mark Twain:

“There is no such thing as a new idea. It is impossible. We simply take a lot of old ideas and put them into a sort of mental kaleidoscope. We give them a turn and they make new and curious combinations. We keep on turning and making new combinations indefinitely; but they are the same old pieces of colored glass that have been in use through all the ages.” ~ Mark Twain

I do believe that everyone has their own magic touch in writing and sharing their thoughts and emotions. I feel that this magic touch is what forms the ‘mental kaleidoscope’ that Twain talks about. Early experiences in your life will shape the way you think about a certain phenomenon and the way you choose to present your views to someone else. Since everyone’s experiences are unique in their own way and everyone’s thought processes work in different ways, I can’t think of any possible reason why you should possibly plagiarise anyone’s content and be happy about it.

And even if you claim to ‘just copy someone’s writing style’, you are fooling no one but yourself.

I’m not even going to talk about the view of the person whose content you are plagiarising. Because I’m sure of this: If you couldn’t think about the emotions of the other person while you were busy ‘Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V’ ing their entire post, I doubt you are capable of any emotion after the deed is done.

Instead, I’ll make this entire post about your selfish needs, and make you feel a bit more craven about copying someone else’s posts blatantly. (Yeah, that’s the ASOIAF effect: ‘craven‘)

I’ll sign off with a quote from one of my favourite classics (my only favourite classic, actually), The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. In this quote, Basil Hallward tells Mr. Dorian Gray that Lord Henry Wotton would be a bad influence on him, jokingly. But on Mr. Gray’s questioning, Lord Henry gives this reply:

“There is no such thing as a good influence, Mr. Gray. All influence is immoral – immoral from the scientific point of view.”

“Why?”

“Because to influence a person is to give him one’s own soul. He does not think his natural thoughts, or burn with the natural passions. His virtues are not real to him. His sins, if there are things as sins, are borrowed. He becomes an echo of someone else’s music, an actor of a part that has not been written for him. The aim of life is self-development. To realize one’s nature perfectly – that is what each of us is here for.”

If Mark Twain and Oscar Wilde can’t convince you, no one can.


X for 2017

Wassup, happy readers! This post is written for the #AtoZChallenge, and this is the third year I’m participating in this challenge. Do keep cheering me on all through this month, as I’m hell-bent on scoring a hat-trick in 2017, at the age of 18! My theme for this year is : The Encyclopedia of Blogging Memories, Feelings and Lessons.
You can check out my #AtoZChallenge 2015 (Theme: Harry Potter and Hogwarts) and 2016 (Theme: Weird Words) posts, and support my awesomeness!
Here’s a special question for you to answer today: Do you have any experience with plagiarism? Share some tips on how to find out that someone has plagiarised your content, and how to tackle the situation!
~The-Blogging-Curator
8 Comments Add yours

  1. I found my Z post from A to Z 2014 on another blog – cleverly modified in places, but I could still see parts of it. What’s worse is, the number of people you find who defend plagiarism. Their arguments are rubbish, but they will still fight with you about it. I’ve seen it so much, not just in blogging, but in the poetry community of Twitter.
    PS: My favorite pub in Bangalore (or what was my favorite pub in Bangalore – I haven’t been in years) has that Jimi Hendrix quote painted on the ceiling 😀

    Like

  2. Natasha says:

    I recently experienced a plagiarism of sorts! Plagiarism of an idea.
    But then like Mark Twain says that there is no such thing as a new idea, I’m keeping it aside and moving on.
    Great post Mithila. I’ll play catch up with your other posts in May.
    Blog: natashamusing
    Theme: Travel Epiphanies
    Walk of Wisdom

    Like

  3. Modern Gypsy says:

    I’ve lost friendships to plagiarism. I’ve had people copy my writing style and my ideas both. While it is true that there is no original idea, copying someone’s idea 30 minutes after you see it is a dead giveaway! And don’t even get me started on people who copy your idea, block you on social media, and then cry wolf when you protest.

    Like

  4. satheadis says:

    Hey, exactly, Blogging is the place where you “E(x)press yourself.” others have their own blog for their views.. and the sad part is people are not even bothered about this copy + paste business.. my post is also about expressing own views freely. http://adisjournal.com/express-yourself/

    Like

  5. I’ve been imitated so well I’ve heard people copy my mistakes.
    ~ Jimi Hendrix
    This quote is awesome!
    Glad you wrote this, MM. I’ve truly lucked out where plagiarism is concerned, as my idea was copied AND I was labelled the plagiariser, by a repeat offender no less ;))))))
    Ah, you live and you learn to be more careful :)))

    Like

  6. Kalpanaa says:

    You xeroed in on it Fabulus. Plagiarism sucks. ThNk you for writing so wittily about it.

    Like

  7. Anita says:

    Plagiarism is terrible. Why copy someone else’s ideas? Be original.
    Yes, I have experienced it. Bad experience. Keeping track of who’s copying what is a challenge!

    Like

  8. If Mark Twain and Oscar Wilde can’t convince you, no one can. You said it darling!

    A so called friend of mine copied a poem of mine and sent it for publication in some random book. It got published under her name and she put it all over Facebook. When I read it I was shocked! Not only was the title and the words, exactly the same, she had used the same image I had used in the post as well. It just broke me a little inside. I commented saying that this is my work. My comment was deleted and I was unfriended in a minute. Well, good riddance I’d say.

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

