Let wit rule the world! #AtoZChallenge

I love people who make me laugh. I honestly think it’s the thing I like most, to laugh. It cures a multitude of ills. It’s probably the most important thing in a person. ~ Audrey Hepburn

Wit.

Everyone loves a bit of humour.

It’s the reason why comedy shows are popular. It’s the reason why tweets by comedians (the jokey tweets in particular) get 100 retweets and 1000 likes. It’s the reason why people smile. It’s the reason why people feel happy.

Wit.

You don’t need special skills to be funny. Everyone has a bit of humour in them, and I don’t mean the humerous bone.

You just need to have a sense of comic timing, the foresight to see what people would consider as a pun intended / pun not intended, and the ability to ignore people who gaffe at your supposedly ‘lame joke’. And then you’re good to go!

At the risk of sounding clichéd, I’d reiterate ‘Hasee toh Phasee’ (If you laugh, you’re trapped). And this is true for bloggers too!

Bloggers, you can trap  get your readers engaged to your blogging style and persona by being humourous!

Still not convinced? Let me clarify: Would you like to read a post that’s a rant about something that you can’t relate to, or would you enjoy reading a post that shares a humourous view about an otherwise boring topic?

Posts that otherwise seem boring, done to death and uninspiring can be easily peppered and spiced up with a generous splash of humour. And in my humble opinion, even posts which tackle topics that are unpalatable, or challenge people’s opinions deserve a bit of humour. You can always win someone over with humour, instead of forcing your opinion down everyone’s throats in a strict and stern writing style.


Today’s three tips will be replaced by a list of humourous posts that I can recall off the top of my head, and show the perfect use of humour in any blog-post situation. These posts are in an alphabetical order, and I’ve mentioned the Twitter handle too!

Confessions of a Hotel Kleptomaniac by Sid @iwrotethose

Minor by Shailaja @shyvish

Ten Things That Just Have To Be Done During Exams by Tulika @obsessivemom06


Wassup, happy readers! This post is written for the #AtoZChallenge, and this is the third year I’m participating in this challenge. Do keep cheering me on all through this month, as I’m hell-bent on scoring a hat-trick in 2017, at the age of 18! My theme for this year is : The Encyclopedia of Blogging Memories, Feelings and Lessons.
You can check out my #AtoZChallenge 2015 (Theme: Harry Potter and Hogwarts) and 2016 (Theme: Weird Words) posts, and support my awesomeness!
Here’s a special question for you to answer today: Are you humourous online? Do you crack lame jokes like me too? 😛
~The-Blogging-Curator
4 Comments Add yours

  1. Shailaja V says:

    Humour makes everything better 🙂 And in a blog post, especially where you go to unwind and let your worries fade, it’s the best thing possible. I’m touched that you considered my humour noteworthy of inclusion here, Mithila 🙂 Thank you for the shout out!

    Like

  2. Totally agree! Especially on an unpalatable and difficult topic it is better to keep it playful … It can be made light-hearted and toothsome with a sprinkle of wits. Nice post!
    Thanks for sharing
    Weltschmerz
    Best wishes!

    Like

  3. Oh yes! Humor is difficult in writing, but those who can do it, man, oh, man, I’m their biggest fan! ❤

    Like

  4. Oh yes! Wit always gets my vote! Great point, MM!:)

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

