The Versatile Blogger #AtoZChallenge

I think any actor worth their salt wants to show as much versatility as they possibly can. ~ Daniel Radcliffe

No, this is not an acceptance speech for the Versatile Blogger Award (though I may have been nominated a few times already).

This post is dedicated to all those awesome bloggers who write about anything and everything under the sun. The bloggers who can start writing about A-Z topics at the word ‘go’.

Before I run out of euphemisms, let me say that this post is dedicated to all the bloggers who don’t have a niche.

Yes! We exist! And we are proud of it! Because the whole point of being a non-niche blogger is to enjoy the art of writing anything. Focus on ‘writing’ + ‘anything’.  

If you notice the menu of my own blog, you will see a lot of titles. Let’s go through them one by one.

Fiction? Check. This category mostly contains all the stupid, weird fiction I write, which unfortunately, only I can understand.

Poetry? Check. The most memorable out of these poems is the one I wrote on my 18th birthday. 

Theories? Check. I love writing posts for these categories. It makes me feel like a knowledgeable person, sitting hunched up in front of a computer screen. (I may look like those creepy villains in animated shows. You know, the ones that have curled up fingers and a malicious smile on their faces)

Challenges? Too many. I’ve participated in AtoZChallenge 2015, AtoZChallenge 2016 and currently 2017,  the Bar-A-Thon, and the Write Tribe Festival. 

The Fab Life? Too few! This mostly includes personal stories. I don’t prefer sharing much about myself online (for reasons that I may cover in the next posts!)

I am a Versatile Blogger, even after being out here for two years. Reason? I’m still trying to figure out what I’m good at.

Am I better at writing poetry? Nah, I don’t know rhyme or meter or unstressed or stressed syllables! I label everything I write as a free verse poem. Am I better at writing fiction? The minimal number of fiction stories I’ve written on my blog haven’t been pretty successful. And don’t get me started on my NaNoWriMo debut novel. Am I better at writing posts like these? I think so, because I’ve been getting a lot of love from you peeps this month! Am I good at writing book reviews? The few reviews I’ve written are unique, thanks to the Infographics I add in them.

So, while I still stumble around and try to figure out what I’m good at, I might as well be happy to be a Versatile Blogger.

colored-pencils-168391_960_720

Here are three tips to help you be a Versatile Blogger:

  1. Being Versatile does not being random: Remember, there should always be method in madness. You can’t expect to write ‘anything’, and then hope that people read ‘everything’. If you feel you’re good at writing fiction, write more of it. If you still don’t feel like making ‘fiction writing’ your niche, dabble in a bit of poetry, micro-prose, micro-poetry, essay writing, free writing, prompt based writing. Share your travel stories, cooking disasters, observations, etc. You could plan out your ‘method in madness’ by deciding when you will post a certain type of post. For example, on Sundays, I will write fiction. On Mondays, I will write a rant. On Tuesdays, I will sleep. On Wednesdays, I will share a recipe. On Thursdays, I will write an essay. On Fridays, I will write poetry. On Saturday, I will switch off my phone and forget that my blog exists.
  2. You are multi-dimensional, and so is your blog: Everyone has different skills. None of us have just one skill (or none). For me, writing is awesome, but I can manage quilling and coding to a pretty basic extent. Suffice it to say that I can make greeting cards, understand the html version of my blog post, and could add some simple stuff to my old Blogspot blog. (I intend to learn more this summer break). Make sure that your blog is as varied and beautiful as you are. A dash of mystery, romance, suspense, humour amidst a whole block of theory-type posts works pretty well for me. (That reminds me, I need to work on a few small fiction stories on the blog. Any suggestions?)
  3. Chameleons:  Part of being a Versatile Blogger is the unpredictability. You don’t know when you’ll start writing something totally offbeat, and when you’ll be forced to be as generic as an apple. There are chances of you running out of ideas to write. Yes, niche and non-niche bloggers alike look at blank screens. The trick is, to realise that as a versatile blogger, you are not limited by a genre or theme. You could be writing about Cormoran Bluey Strike one day, and then gush about Dr. Spencer Reid the next. You could be a devoted fan of mechanical pencils, and then suddenly go back to your old roots of a normal wooden pencil. Get my point? (Pun intended)

V for 2017

Wassup, happy readers! This post is written for the #AtoZChallenge, and this is the third year I’m participating in this challenge. Do keep cheering me on all through this month, as I’m hell-bent on scoring a hat-trick in 2017, at the age of 18! My theme for this year is : The Encyclopedia of Blogging Memories, Feelings and Lessons.
You can check out my #AtoZChallenge 2015 (Theme: Harry Potter and Hogwarts) and 2016 (Theme: Weird Words) posts, and support my awesomeness!
Here’s a special question for you to answer today: Are you a non-niche blogger? Why do you love being a non-niche blogger?
~The-Blogging-Curator

 

P.S.: This post or idea is not at all related to the Versatile Blogger Award. I have merely used the word Versatile here, as an adjective to describe non-niche bloggers (and make us chameleons sound more friendly than we appear to be 😛 )

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Aw yes, thank you. Non-niche bloggers get such a bad rap that it makes me sad. Like, just let me write what I want to write, right? I never figured out if I want to put my blog into a bracket. But then, my madness doesn’t have a method either. I tried the certain-topics-on-certain-days thing but didn’t work out so well.

    Like

  2. Parul Thakur says:

    Well, were you talking about me? Ha ha! great tips and sometimes – the non-niche bloggers think if this is good enough but in reality, it is. We are multi-dimensional so why not our blogs. That was a good one, Mithila. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

