What’s unique about you? #AtoZChallenge

I was not born to be forced. I will breathe after my own fashion. Let us see who is the strongest. ~ Henry David Thoreau, ‘On the Duty of Civil Disobedience’

Everyone is a blogger. Everyone and their friend, and her mother and her friend, and his cousin and his mother. E.V.E.R.Y.O.N.E.

So, what’s unique about you? Why should people read your version of a book review, when the most popular site for book reviews, GoodReads, has thousand reviews for any given book? Why should people read your recipe of scrambled eggs, when Gordon Ramsay has the best recipe, and looks D.E.L.I.C.I.O.U.S. when cooking it too? Why should people read your fiction story, when there are a gazillion books available in the world?

Why should you be a content creator, when content is available dime a dozen in everybody’s mind?

U for AtoZChallenge 2017 Fabulus1710

I stumbled upon the ‘uniqueness’ aspect of writing pretty late in my blogging life. For the first one year, I was writing random stuff. I didn’t know why I was writing ‘random stuff’. I hadn’t even made up my mind about a niche, let alone ‘writing only unique content’.

But then, I read a boring and cliched blog post. And for the first time ever, I felt myself dozing off in front of the computer screen. I wasn’t sleepy that day, mind you.

Something inside me snapped when I thought about this: what if someone else also sleeps when they read my post? What if they are half-heartedly commenting on a post they feel they have read a million times? What if my post isn’t the best way to present a commonplace content? What if people don’t read my blog, because they feel I’m just another ordinary teenager with just another stupid romantic thought in her head?

And that’s when I started writing about offbeat topics. Topics that not many people would think about. Topics I can do justice to, because I have specialized information about those topics. Content I could present to the world in a way that made them come back only to my blog, because they know they aren’t going to get anything like that on anyone else’s blog.

Since then, I’ve never looked back. Even though this theme for the #AtoZChallenge seems pretty commonplace and boring, I feel that I have done justice to it by throwing light on ‘unheard of before’ topics. I have strived to answer questions that everyone had, but failed to ask them out loud, because they thought it’s too trivial.

That’s enough about me.

Now, let me give you three tips on how to add your unique touch to a commonplace thought, and how to present it in a Michelin star manner.

  1. Google your title: Yeah, Google the title of the post you are writing. Read the posts on the first page of the search results. Even if it’s from a blogger who’s pretty popular, or a faceless brand or company, read the content. Analyse what your posts and their posts have in common. Specially look at the points that others have brought up in their own posts. Write down your observations on a paper. And go to the next step.
  2. Decide whether you want to add more content/update the existing content: Now that you’ve read what others have to say about the thing that you want to say, you will find it easier to express some of your own thoughts. Word of caution: Make sure you aren’t copying someone’s exact words or thoughts. Remember, we’re trying to do something unique here.
    If you want to add more content, you can add it in two ways: 1. Write down something that none of the other posts have mentioned 2. Write down something that the other posts have mentioned, but add a unique anecdote, thought, story to it.
  3. Add some magic: Magic could be in the form of writing poetry in prose, adding an Infographic, adding a quote which suits your post, adding an image that you have clicked (and not a stock photo), sharing a relevant personal anecdote. Ideally, your content should be the magic. The rest should just enhance the fact that you are indeed a magician of words.

U for 2017

Wassup, happy readers! This post is written for the #AtoZChallenge, and this is the third year I’m participating in this challenge. Do keep cheering me on all through this month, as I’m hell-bent on scoring a hat-trick in 2017, at the age of 18! My theme for this year is : The Encyclopedia of Blogging Memories, Feelings and Lessons.
You can check out my #AtoZChallenge 2015 (Theme: Harry Potter and Hogwarts) and 2016 (Theme: Weird Words) posts, and support my awesomeness!
Here’s a special question for you to answer today: Do you follow the above-mentioned tips? What do you do to make content unique ?
~The-Blogging-Curator

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Lalita says:

    I am trying to find my voice and reading this is so helpful. And you are right. Its worth working hard to find the niche. Thanks for this.

    Like

  2. … The word “niche” still scares me. As for uniqueness, I’m still figuring it out. Good tips though, as always 🙂

    Like

  3. jazzfeathers says:

    That’s a question every blogger aks themselves (or should be asking).
    I had a similar journey. At the beginning, I really didn’t knwo what I was doing, so I blogged about something close to what I really wanted to blog about. I know it sounds crazy, but that’s what I was doing.
    It was actually the AtoZChallenge that made me realised what I wanted to blog about was actually something people might enjoy.
    Sometimes, we’re scared of our own strengths.

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – 1940s Film Noir

    Like

  4. That was a fabulous and informative post. I try to create unique posts but donno how far I am succeding. I have varied fields of interests including art, motivational non fiction, fiction and poetry and hence I don’t think I have found a niche in my writing yet. My blog has myriad shades.
    My first time on your blog and must say I loved what I found here. Will hop back soon to read the rest of your A-Z.

    Like

  5. Modern Gypsy says:

    Niche is a scary word and uniqueness….well, I’m trying! Fabulous tips, as usual 🙂

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

