An online time capsule #AtoZChallenge

You realize that our mistrust of the future makes it hard to give up the past. ~ Chuck Palahniuk, ‘Survivor’

My blog is my way of reliving exciting memories of these past two years. I can reread a post I’ve written, and remember exactly how I felt while writing the first draft. I can also recall what was in my head as I did the revisions for the post, and tell you where the insider jokes are embedded in seemingly innocuous lines.

Most importantly, I can see how I’ve grown up from a boring teenager, to an adult with an informed opinion about (almost) everything.

As I’ve pointed earlier in my A for post, I still don’t know how and when I transformed. Maybe changes in my blogging style happen daily? Maybe it happens when I meet better bloggers online and understand why they are better than me? Maybe it happens with every post I read? Maybe it happens when my subconscious notices tiny details and errors in my own posts, and reminds me silently never to make those mistakes again?

All I can say is, I see traces of development in my blog posts. And that’s a good sign. Changing for the better always is.

But the real question is: Would I unearth this online time capsule ten years down the line, and share it with someone close to me? Would I allow a random netizen to go digging deep into my blogging history and find out how millenials survived ten years ago?

Would I keep adding new content to this ever expanding time capsule, in the hope that someday somewhere, a sixteen year old girl will read the posts in chronological order, and evolve with every word she reads?

I do hope this happens. But, most of the internet naysayers say that the written word is slowly going out of fashion, and video content is gaining more and more importance everyday.

Would I start adding video content then, just to keep myself relevant over the decades? I don’t think so. Writing is a form of expression that I love, and I am at my best when I’m furiously typing words on my keyboard. Plus, I don’t think that reading will ever go out of fashion, as long as there are good people in this world.

Plus, I don’t think anyone would want to discover a video made by someone who can’t stare at a camera confidently for a long period of time and who speaks in a weird accent when scared. *sigh*

T for AtoZChallenge 2017 Fabulus1710

I wonder why I’m speculating about the future. Is it because it’s better than living in the present, where I have hundreds of un-replied-to comments and blog hops pending? Is it because blogging has helped me think about the future first, before doing anything in the present?

Or is it because I want to maintain a time capsule that’s perfect and fabulous, in the way I want the world to remember me?


Here are three tips for making an online time capsule relevant everyday i.e. keeping your blog archives ready and accessible to your readers whenever they need it.

  1. Add a widget: The most common widget which solves this purpose is the one in which you can see the years and months, along with the number of posts written in that year and month. There’s also a widget for separating blog posts as per categories and tags. And how can I forget the one where you can show ‘n’ number of posts with highest page views and likes? But, specifically for the purpose of maintaining an online archive, I’d select the ‘Archives’ widget, with the number of posts option selected. It will look like this:T for AtoZChallenge 2017 Fabulus1710 widget
    It makes it easier for the reader to gain access to blog posts from a really long period of time, without doing a lot of scrolling, clicking and clawing.
  2. Promote your old posts: Specially when there’s a chance for you to do so. Look up important days and dates in the world on Google. Check whether you have any posts relating to that day. Use Hootsuite or Buffer to schedule your posts beforehand for those days. Say for example, you had written a blog post about chocolates two years ago. And it’s Valentine’s day today. Tada! Share the old blog post. And there’s something better you can do, which is…
  3. Recycle your old posts: …continuing with the above example. Say that you had specifically written about ‘Chocolates to buy in Mumbai’. And now, you have info about ‘Chocolates to buy in Bangalore’ or ‘Dessert recipes with Chocolate’ or even ‘the gifting guide for your special someone’, you can integrate the post from two years ago into the new post for today! Either link to the old post in your new one, or just copy paste it into your new one (with any editorial changes you may want to make).

T for 2017

Wassup, happy readers! This post is written for the #AtoZChallenge, and this is the third year I’m participating in this challenge. Do keep cheering me on all through this month, as I’m hell-bent on scoring a hat-trick in 2017, at the age of 18!  My theme for this year is : The Encyclopedia of Blogging Memories, Feelings and Lessons.

You can check out my #AtoZChallenge 2015 (Theme: Harry Potter and Hogwarts) and 2016 (Theme: Weird Words) posts, and support my awesomeness!

Here’s a special question for you to answer todayWhat do you think about those blogs which are created with the sole intention of gifting it to someone once they grow older? Would you like to start one, and for whom?

~The-Blogging-Curator

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Last week, I cleared out my Drafts folder, and noticed some real changes in my writing style. It was surprising even to me, cos it wasn’t something that I was conscious of. And since I regularly go and stalk people’s blogs, reading from start to end (no matter how old the blog), the Archive widget is a godsend!
    (Oh gosh, I do hope vlogging doesn’t take over blogging. I cannot look into cameras!)

    Like

  2. I just love the idea of gifting the blog to someone..I think i would love to gift it o my daughter so that one day she can do read about my thoughts..It would be a wonderful memory for her

    http://www.simpleindianmom.in/quick-diy-organic-pesticides/

    Like

  3. Anki Bhoye says:

    I too wonder if somebody not from my generation is going to read and relate to my content, will my blog get lost in the ever-increasing crowd on the web or will it stand strong? I guess we will only find out when the time come. Till then let’s just try and give our best 🤘. It was an amazing post, really resonated with me

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

