Magic with movies and music! #AtoZChallenge

I can’t imagine anything worse than being required to have fun. ― Scott Westerfeld

Has a particular song or movie ever inspired you to write awesome content?

Allow me to demonstrate: when I watch the Harry Potter movies, I feel totally happy. For two reasons: one, because it’s Harry Potter. Two, because by the time the credits start rolling and I have tears in my eyes, I also have a lot of fiction story material oozing out of my brains. So, you could say that Harry Potter acts as a bezoar to my writers-block-poisoned mind.

Mind you, most of the fiction story ideas revolve around a hot hero, and a sickly, yet intelligent girl who needs help from a tiny spectacled midget. A.k.a.: fan fiction.

Jokes apart, I really enjoy watching movies because it inspires me to write new content. Sometimes the content is somewhat related to the plot of the movie, and sometimes not. (Fun fact: Movies inspire me to write because I rarely watch them.)

If that fun fact is true, then music should certainly NOT be the reason why I’m inspired to write. Because I listen to music everyday, 10 hours a day minimum. I listen to music while travelling, studying, and specially when I’m writing the first draft of a post. (Fun fact: I can associate music with surroundings. I can remember the first time I heard a song and where I heard it, and what exactly I was thinking when I heard it, so I guess that is what inspires me to write. Maybe it’s the subconscious’s way of reminding of beautiful times I’ve spent listening to a particularly good song for the first time.)

M for AtoZChallenge 2017 Fabulus1710

While I still haven’t figured out why music helps me write well, I have learnt a few tips from movie-watching. Here are three tips to help you get inspired while watching a movie!

  1. Identify with a theme: Think about your favourite movie. What is the story about? Is it a romantic movie, with oodles of chocolates and kisses? Is it a horror movie, with cupboards full of skeletons? Is it a family movie, with ribbons and balloons and laughter? Write a fiction story based on the theme of your favourite movie, after watching that movie. Use your imagination and don’t be tied down with the thoughts and dialogues in the movie you have just watched. Stick to the same genre, but use your imagination.
  2. Identify with a character: Think about a character that you love. Not from the favourite movie, preferably. Why do you love this character? What is his/her best trait? What is his/her worst trait? Do see yourself in the character, or do you wish to be like this character? Write down a character sketch of the same character. Pretend that you are interviewing the character. Imagine what his/her answers would be. (Mind you, don’t get confused with the character and the actor playing the character.) Use this information as a jumping board to create a new character. This new character could either be a hero, villain, friend, relative or a  romantic interest. (Make sure not to get influenced by the other characters who are related to your favourite character. Create something new!)
  3. Observe someone from the audience: This is the best option, if you are watching the movie in a theatre (Pirated-movie peeps, please continue with the above two tips). Observe the people sitting around you. Are they interested in the movie? Why do you think they are interested in the movie? If you were them, would you cry at the end of the movie? Why? (Warning: Please don’t act like a stalker, or you’ll have a problem on your hands.) Observing people will give you a lot of new ideas to work on, plus the movie will inspire you in many ways!

M for 2017

Wassup, happy readers! This post is written for the #AtoZChallenge, and this is the third year I’m participating in this challenge. Do keep cheering me on all through this month, as I’m hell-bent on scoring a hat-trick in 2017, at the age of 18!  My theme for this year is : The Encyclopedia of Blogging Memories, Feelings and Lessons.

You can check out my #AtoZChallenge 2015 (Theme: Harry Potter and Hogwarts) and 2016 (Theme: Weird Words) posts, and support my awesomeness!

Here’s a special question for you to answer todayWhich is your favourite movie / Who is your favourite character?  Have you ever been inspired to write a post after watching a movie?

~The-Blogging-Curator

10 Comments Add yours

  1. That is a great idea, and inspiration for a future or two! I love movies, and write movie reviews but will follow your tips and get a post out of it:)

    Like

  2. Lalita says:

    Music and movies are food for the soul, and while that is not the most original thing to say, its just what it is. A song, a movie with some deep associations always triggers new thoughts in the head, new places to go to. So funny, I just thought of Karma Chameleon and Take-on-me, two textbook 80s songs which always start playing on the radio just when I think of them. Its an X-files mystery!

    Like

  3. AN says:

    Coming from a long line of teachers, I often try to use the movie (Also because we watch too many kiddie movies) to bring out a deeper discussion. (https://archanablogs.wordpress.com/2016/11/29/fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-them-a-movie-review-and-a-parenting-lesson-in-empathy-and-character-building/ ). Movies and books. Songs is a new idea too.
    Today for the #atozchallenge I wrote Mind full or Mindful ..do stop by
    https://archanablogs.wordpress.com/2017/04/15/m-for-mind-full-or-mindful/

    Like

  4. deepagandhi says:

    Oh I have never tried something like this but a good idea. I will try this for sure. I love listening to music too and I mostly play music when I am writing as it helps me.

    Like

  5. The Godfather and the Godfather 🙂

    I did write about this in my Films Vs Books post.

    Like

  6. Dude, all my A to Z posts have music references, so won’t answer that bit about inspiration from music 😛

    As for movies, I don’t watch a lot of them. But the next time I do, I will definitely observe the audience – that sounds like the kind of thing I would wanna do (for so many reasons 😉 – why didn’t I think of it before!)

    Like

  7. sanchwrites says:

    I do find some movies inspirational and while I listen to a fair bit of music, it’s interesting I’m not inspired to write due to that. On the other hand, stuff I read always inspires me! 🙂

    Like

  8. shalzmojo says:

    Now here is a smashing idea to write a post Mithila. Loved it.

    I have too many fav movie to name one but its romantic ones for me 🙂

    Nonchalant morning walk

    Like

  9. Have a long list of favorite movie..But i love thriller and horror movies..It just kills me with the suspense and breath talking

    Launching SIM Organics This April
    *Menaka Bharathi *
    *SimpleIndianMom*

    Like

  10. Rajlakshmi says:

    You know what makes me write like a champion, playing CID in the backdrop… Yes when Daya breaks the door, my writing gets a kick. I wrote all my a to Z posts watching and listening to CID. HP movies are class apart, they hit you at an emotional level.

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

