Laugh out loud at your stupid blogging mistakes! #AtoZChallenge

With mirth and laughter let old wrinkles come.― William Shakespeare, ‘The Merchant of Venice’.

Okay. Get ready to roll on the floor laughing, because I. Have. Arrived. 😛

Do you remember that time when you were writing a post, and had planned to schedule it for a week later, because it was something you didn’t want anyone to read before the scheduled date? You typed up some points to create a rough draft, and had used all sorts of personal shorthand (you know, the quick abbreviations and short forms you use, which only you can understand?). And then, you get a notification about an important email. You hurriedly tried to exit the WordPress app, and instead of hitting the draft button, you hit the publish button. And you realised your mistake only AFTER attending to the important work in that important email i.e. five hours and ten comments later.

Wicked!

Or do you remember that one day when you scheduled a post, but it was incomplete? Incomplete in the sense: half the important content missing. And then tada! The blog post goes live without you realising it. Seven hours later, you check your notifications, wondering why you’ve got comments when you didn’t post anything. And then TADAAA! You get the shock of your life when you see that your post went live, with all its mistakes and incoherence, AND you’ve got comments from readers who think you’ve gone bonkers!

Damn!

Wait, wait. I’ve got one anecdote for the veterans who are quietly smirking at the above jokes. Do you remember those early days, when you used to use the section called ‘keywords’/’tags’? “Hehe, almost everyone uses tags these days”, you say. But here’s the joke: Nowadays, you use tags which are formal in nature, and you are more SEO-conscious when you type in tags. But remember those early days when you used enter in tags like ‘I don’t know why I wrote this post’, ‘strawberry and raspberry milkshake rules!’ or even ‘I’m wearing green-and-white polka dot pants today, what about you?’

Hahaha, I hear the sound of the last laugh. From my side of the computer screen.

L for AtoZChallenge 2017 Fabulus1710

Now now, don’t go feeling all sad. Don’t click the ‘x’ button just yet.

Mistakes happen. If mistakes are a part of human nature, they almost certainly have to be a part of blogging nature. In fact, the mistakes you make are the reason why people will call you an ‘experienced’ blogger. (Sorry, but I just had to write that line :P)


Here are some tips on how to reduce silly mistakes in blogging. Of course, even after all these precautions, little slippery mistakes might escape from your fingers and onto the keyboard. Don’t fret about it, I’ve also got a cool patch-up plan for any blogging mistake you may make!

  1. Proofread your posts: I can’t stress the importance of reading your own posts once again before publishing/scheduling it. Spelling mistakes may seem trivial to you, but for some readers, it could be a deal breaker. Suppose someone has stumbled on your blog for the first time, and the first paragraph of the first post that they read has no less than three silly grammatical/spelling errors. Your bounce rate would need an IV drip, then.
  2. Use one particular way of typing posts: For example, if you are used to using the WordPress PC website, stick to it. Chances of making a mistake will obviously be higher if you use the Phone app on a one-off occasion. This is because your mind learns to subconsciously remember the positions of all the buttons, and is temporarily stumped at the change of layout of the screen! Plus, it is possible that you may not be acquainted with the use of the buttons on the mobile / PC version if you have been using the PC / Mobile version, and that hesitation could be your downfall (and the readers rolling-on-the-floor fall)
  3. If you spot the mistake after publishing the post: Sing an Hallelujah if you the stats for that post are zero. If there’s one view, then hope that the reader skimmed through the content and didn’t see your mistake. If there are five views and one comment, you might as well shut down your blog and shift to the Himalayas. Just kidding. You can edit your post even after its published, so use that option to rectify your mistake. Most probably, the comment on your blog could be from a helpful reader who wants to tell you about your mistake. But in most of the cases that won’t happen, because really considerate readers will notify you about any mistakes via a private message. And even if the comment aims to bash you for writing something erroneously, congratulations at your first experience of getting trolled!

L for 2017

Wassup, happy readers! This post is written for the #AtoZChallenge, and this is the third year I’m participating in this challenge. Do keep cheering me on all through this month, as I’m hell-bent on scoring a hat-trick in 2017, at the age of 18!  My theme for this year is : The Encyclopedia of Blogging Memories, Feelings and Lessons.

You can check out my #AtoZChallenge 2015 (Theme: Harry Potter and Hogwarts) and 2016 (Theme: Weird Words) posts, and support my awesomeness!

Here’s a special question for you to answer today: Share an embarrassing story about a blogging mistake you made. Don’t feel shy, we’ve all got something to our credit (the second story at the beginning being mine, minus the exaggeration of getting a comment!)

~The-Blogging-Curator

 

22 Comments Add yours

  1. mahekg says:

    important points to remember

    Like

  2. Lol! okay, my weird story is falling for a ‘fake news’ in 2011 or 2010 via some random government propaganda site and writing an emotional post about it. I took it off after finding out it was a silly post.
    I just hate reading stuff from past me, I am glad I didn’t keep an open journal on my blog (was considering) because everytime I read my old diary I feel the cringe of being lame and over emotional …
    Enjoyed reading it
    Thanks for sharing
    Cheers!

    Like

  3. psharmarao says:

    What an interesting posts , all of us have committed those blogging mistakes some time or the other, very embarassing but nevertheless learning experiences too .
    http://poojasharmarao.blogspot.in/2017/04/l-lewis-carroll-inspirational-writers.html

    Like

  4. So many times the mistake is spotted only after we publish the post. And well, luckily noone ever comes by early so I get the chance to change it.
    And as for the tags, definitely guilty of that. Before all this SEO thing, used to have all silly ones for my posts. Slowly had to turn mature and put official words like ‘humour’ instead of ‘where’s your funny bone’!

    Sigh… I miss ‘Where’s your funny bone’ 😀

    Like

  5. Hey I still use those funny tags (mainly cos I have no clue how SEO works)!
    Way too many times with me, I notice the error after hitting Publish. That too, not immediately. Sometimes months later 😐

    Like

  6. Yes… we, the MocktailMommies, have our own share of LOL moments about our blog posts. And yes, we have learnt lessons from those mistakes.
    Your tips are worthy taking a note for beginners like us. Thank you for taking up this topic and educating us!
    ———————
    Anagha From Team MocktailMommies
    Collage Of Life

    Like

  7. I’ve never been through the scenario of a post going live by mistake (Thank God for that!) But yes, I’ve spotted mistakes in my posts after I’ve hit publish and I’m ever so grateful to the “Edit” option!

    Like

  8. spelling and grammar rules! i know i have been an inch from clicking on that ‘follow’ button but not gone ahead with it because of that error.

    Like

  9. ridhiik says:

    Well, as I just started my blog and have decided to also take part in my first A to Z challenge…..I am going through my own set of mistakes……from typo errors to publishing my first draft and the final product together …..It’s been a crazy learning experience….

    Like

  10. Typos are the most common blogging mistake, and I’ve made plenty. This was a funny post, with a subtle lesson for bloggers, old and new 🙂

    Like

  11. Funny and so relatable! This. Is. Me!

    Like

  12. Some really useful tips and points to be remembered..A well written post with a bit of subtle lesson for bloggers

    Launching SIM Organics This April
    *Menaka Bharathi *
    *SimpleIndianMom*

    Like

  13. shalzmojo says:

    Dang woman – you are nailing it everyday. I love coming over to ser what gave you conjured up today.
    I could relate so much to this as I have “suffered” almost all of them….. 😉

    Good going M

    Leather that weathers in Pushkar

    Like

  14. Cathy says:

    What a fun post about blogging mistakes! Informative and entertaining, too. I’ve never scheduled a post ever so don’t have to worry about that. I have had to go back and edit things though. Proofreading is VERY important!

    Like

  15. I am glad I am not the only one who publishes too early!
    Rule #4-put yourself on your mailing list or subscribe to your own blog. You will get a copy at the same time as others and will not be surprised!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Vidya Sury says:

    I’ve done them all! I still do! I learned not to create drafts, because somehow I reach for the publish button first, and realize I really wanted to save draft! So I compose offline. 🙂 Love the post Mithila. I have some to catch up with!

    Like

  17. Natasha says:

    Good one girlie ❤️ Though I proofread but I’ve at times noticed typos after having published the post. So giving a good re-read is non negotiable.

    No publish button good ups yet, amen to that!

    Like

  18. Mandy says:

    Ugh! I hate when I accidentally post a thing whether it’s only been live for 30 seconds or 2 hours! So embarrassing! And I’m still cleaning up from the silly tags! *sigh* One day. :-/ And let’s not even talk about spelling and grammar errors. No matter how many times I read through a post I always seem to find one days later after the post has gone live. Or sometimes it’s html errors which I blame blogger for. (Reasons to switch to wordpress?) I do love Grammarly though; it’s helped me conquer and correct many of my errors before they go live. Not all, but enough. 🙂

    Great post!

    With Love,
    Mandy

    Like

  19. Modern Gypsy says:

    I can’t even count the number of times I’ve found mistakes on my posts after I’ve published them. Sometimes I let it be though, too much perfection can be boring, you see. Kidding! 😉

    Like

  20. upasna1987 says:

    Typos are the most common mistake and I read my posts twice before and after publishing. Nice post Mithila and we all can relate to it somewhere

    Liked by 1 person

  21. deepagandhi says:

    Oh I have done all this and more. I was laughing while reading as you said. It is all about learning to be a blogger..isnt it? 🙂

    Like

  22. sanchwrites says:

    My biggest mistakes are usually typos. Although last week, one of my mistakes was having a post titled ‘home’ and forgetting the homepage is also home!

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

