Harry Potter Characters in the Blogosphere #AtoZChallenge

Are you really surprised that I wrote this post? You should have been surprised if I hadn’t. #PotterheadForLife

Non-Potterheads, I’m giving you an easy excuse for not commenting on this post. Potterheads, gather round the campfire.

Today’s post is inspired by a brainwave I got yesterday. This topic was not included in my original list of topics to write about. But yesterday, I started rereading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Yes, I got a brainwave for this post directly from Hogwarts.

“How about comparing Harry Potter characters with different types of bloggers in the blogging world?”

I fell in love with the idea at the click of the Deluminator.

Without further ado, let me take you back to Hogwarts. All aboard!

Here are the Harry Potter series characters, which I feel are very similar to bloggers in the blogosphere.

1. Mad-Eye Moody: CONSTANT VIGILANCE! In the book series, Mad-Eye Moody is portrayed to be someone who plans well in advance, is super-alert, hyper vigilant and is visually omniscient (thanks to that spinning, squelchy glass eye of his).

Does that ring any bells about a particular blogger you know? The Muggle similarities you would see are: He/she constantly checks stats, bounce rates, Alexa Rank, and knows Google Analytics inside out. He/she observes new trends in the blogging industry, and obviously takes part in them. Also, he/she would spend time observing how other bloggers write and present their content. And, the ‘Mad-Eye Moody’ type of bloggers would be the ones with editorial calendars, rough drafts ready for ‘writers block’ days, and posts scheduled well in advance.

2. Luna Lovegood: I hope to write a fan fiction series where Luna Lovegood becomes the next Editor of Quibbler. I can almost imagine what the cover page would look like. And what the topics would be. (This is my new pet project. I love you Luna!)

Bloggers who are similar to Luna Lovegood would display the following characteristics: He/she would write posts about unheard-of topics. Be it comparing an entrepreneur with Voldemort, or thinking out loud about why cooking is a superpower, they’ve done it all. He/she would always try to do something creative and unique to appreciate someone else (remember the lion-head cap Luna made, to support the Gryffindor in the Gryffindor Vs Slytherin Match in the fifth book?). Bloggers like Luna strongly believe in the topics they write about, even though it may seem ridiculous to others.

3. Hermione Granger: Insanely clever, self-confessed bibliophile, frequent mutterer of ‘Don’t you two ever read?’, unofficial body-guard for Harry Potter and Ron Weasley, social activist (remember Society for Promotion of Elvish Welfare?), feminist and a brilliant thinker. Have I done justice in describing the most brilliant witch ever?

Bloggers like Hermione Granger share the same traits: he/she will always be around to help someone in need, either with their intellect, or with their sheer power of the written word. She/he is a feminist, has a strong opinion, and unapologetically shares it (even in the face of trolls and crazy lunatics out there). Also, their posts would be well-researched, with links to appropriate websites. Don’t expect their posts to be anything but long form (remember how Hermione used to write ‘more than required feet/inches of parchment’ for her homework?)

4. Mrs. Weasley: Fiercely loyal to her family (and Harry, of course), protective of her children (“Not my daughter, you bitch!” If you don’t remember this line, and don’t visualise her saying it loud and clear everytime you read it, you are no longer a friend of mine), a mother and a wife with a heart of gold and a selfless nature, who successfully makes everyone feel at home.

Such type of bloggers are pretty rare. You know, the ones who’ve always got your back, no matter what. You may associate Mrs. Weasley with your blogger-best friend. Or you may even associate her with your mentor. Either ways, you are always assured of having someone to fight alongside with when you take on trolls, or someone to make you chicken broth when you’re down with blogging illnesses.

A few other characters I considered for this post:

1. Moaning Myrtle (for those bloggers who whine a lot, disappear for long periods of time, make a big fuss of having a great comeback, but then still go back to haunting a U-bend)

2. Draco Malfoy (for those bloggers who boast about knowing the who’s who of the blogging world and every other world, and who feel everyone must bow down to them because ‘my father is in the ‘Hogwarts Board of Governors’)

Wassup, happy readers! This post is written for the #AtoZChallenge, and this is the third year I’m participating in this challenge. Do keep cheering me on all through this month, as I’m hell-bent on scoring a hat-trick in 2017, at the age of 18! My theme for this year is : The Encyclopedia of Blogging Memories, Feelings and Lessons.
You can check out my #AtoZChallenge 2015 (Theme: Harry Potter and Hogwarts) and 2016 (Theme: Weird Words) posts, and support my awesomeness!
Here’s a special question for you to answer today: Which Harry Potter character do you identify with? Even if it’s not one that I’ve mentioned in the above list, do share it in the comments!
~The-Blogging-Curator
28 Comments Add yours

  1. Tina Basu says:

    This is such a nostalgic post now! Why the hell did the series got over??? Love HP and everything along with him.

    Like

  2. Vinay Leo R. says:

    You’re right. It would have been a shock if a Potter post wasn’t there this month from you, MM. 😀 Very interesting. I know a few Moodys in the blog world though.

    Like

  3. sanchwrites says:

    😂 Haha…I LOVE this creative post. You’ve got me wondering about the blogosphere now. Me, I reckon I’m Hermione…or at least I used to be when I’d blog about feminism and other things that got my goat around discrimination. I also love that you’re Luna.

    My guess is Ron, Fred, George, Harry have no writing skills? Ginny is a blogger who changes after some years of blogging and becomes more confident with her voice…

    Like

  4. This post is so much fun to read! #PotterheadForLife. I just can’t decide where to sort myself (it’s too much pressure!). Though I am mentally sorting others! haha!
    Enjoyed reading your post, Thanks for sharing. 🙂
    Best Wishes!

    Like

  5. swathishenoy says:

    I guess right now I am moaning myrtle 😛
    Loved this post Mithila. I could associate bloggers to each type you mentioned and I was nodding my head as I read the whole post. Loved it so much 🙂

    Ah yes, I remember Mrs. Weasley saying that line. Everytime I read it, I can visualise that scene. The best 😀

    Hostel Life

    Like

  6. Damn! I was hoping for some ‘names’ 🙂
    Now come on – ‘sort me’ out; what character do you think I am, little one?

    Like

    1. I was thinking of you when I read about Mrs Weasley 😛 Was about to ping you that in fact!

      Like

  7. That was a great post. You’ve done justice to all the characters you chose to describe. But I did wonder about Harry, Ron, Neville, Fred, George, Ginny, Snape, Dumbledore, Hagrid! Okay…now that I’ve typed all of that, I might have an idea. There are so many characters and it would be really hard to write about all of them. I can’t quite decide which category I might belong to. Maybe, it’s because I’ve got much in common with more than one category! Anyway, great post. I love any Harry-Potter-themed post but this was extra special 😀

    Like

  8. Amazing writeup.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Read-https://creativelifestar.wordpress.com/2017/04/08/gulmarg-a-visit-to-switzerland-of-india/

    Like

  9. I think I could identify with Mrs Weasley, almost 🙂
    I could instantly identify a lot of fellow bloggers with he characters yo mentioned. What a deliciously wicked post this is , MM! Enjoyed it!:)

    Like

  10. Am I… (this sounds terrifying!) am I…. Myrtle?!!?!?! I hope not!
    But I’m also a feminist with a book blog, so maybe I’m Hermione?
    But wait… I think I’m a mix of everyone, except Mad Eye, cos I’ve never looked at Alexa, and looking at my stats turns me into Myrtle, so nope, def not Mad Eye.

    Like

  11. Suzy Que says:

    Enoyed your post. How clever to link HP characters with bloggers. I don’t think I identify completely with any of them. but I’m definitely not Mad Eye. don’t know what an Alexa is!

    Like

  12. Geets says:

    This post is hilarious and I love your creativity here and the way you have brought out their traits!

    Cheers

    Like

  13. A hilarious and funny post to read. Loved your writing and the way u brought out the traits in them ! Brought back the series of Happy Potter which i still miss 😦

    Launching SIM Organics This April
    *Menaka Bharathi *
    *SimpleIndianMom*

    Like

  14. akaushiva says:

    This is a fab post but I don’t think I fit into any of the above, what do you think? Would love an extended part of this; I’m sure Ron, Harry, Snape, Dumbledore have some skills! 😉

    Like

  15. deepagandhi says:

    I was nodding my head while reading all the types as I know most of them and I am there in between too. What a creative post Mithila ..oops Potterhead 😉 Loved it 🙂

    Like

  16. shalzmojo says:

    Mithila this is truly brilliant and I was trying to match and mix the bloggers I interact with these types you had mentioned! Hilarious post! 😉

    Theme: Peregrination Chronicles (travel)
    H id for a stinky high at ChangLa pass in Ladhakh #atozchallenge

    Like

  17. Modern Gypsy says:

    Now that is an interesting take on linking HP to bloggers. I wonder who I am…hmm….thinking, thinking.

    Like

  18. Considering my today’s post, I should be a half Potterhead I guess.

    Oh yeah, I’ve seen such characters on the blogging space. Mostly Moaning Myrtles to be honest. What’d I be? I’ll be a mix of Hermione and McGonagall (strange you didn’t mention her) 🙂

    Like

  19. Lalita says:

    I live by the philosophy that if you cannot reframe EVERYTHING in life to Harry Potter, then its not worth one’s time. What a great twist to blogger personas. I will keep checking in till I get a fix on where I fall. 🙂

    Like

  20. Fun analysis of blogging traits. I try to emulate Hermione’s helpful style with a little Luna zaniness from time to time. Nice to meet you through the A to Z!

    Like

  21. Shailaja V says:

    Ha ha ha, Mithila, you sweetheart you. You’ve hit the nail on the head with this one 😀 SUCH perfectly described traits. I wonder where I’d fall 😉 No, don’t answer that. I like me some mystery. You are SO very Luna. So very very her.

    Like

  22. I kept coming back to this and wondering what a Snape would be like in the blogosphere… inherently annoying and evil on social media but with an ulterior purpose to help good?

    Like

  23. Loved this post! And yes I was expecting something with Harry Potter to come up soon on your blog! What a brilliant idea for a post! And yes, you could add some more characters to this list! And tell me more about your Luna project!

    Like

  24. Shilpa Garg says:

    That’s a cool post, Mithila. Fantastic classification and relation to blogosphere is so apt. I was expecting some names for each category, though.

    Like

  25. mahekg says:

    It was fun relating it to Harry Potter..food for thought I must say…

    Like

  26. That’s a very creative post you have there! Kudos! On some days, i feel like dobby! Trying hard to be freed from this trapping brain with freedom of thoughts at all! I reckon I should just grab a sock! Eh? 😅

    Like

  27. rohini says:

    haha thats truly well written! a fun read

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

