Fame, the fickle and flighty temptress #AtoZChallenge

If you come to fame not understanding who you are, it will define who you are. ~ Oprah Winfrey

What if you woke up one morning, your name plastered on all the billboards in your town, all saying the same thing ‘Look at this awesome blogger, read his/her fabulous posts, follow him/her on social media, blah blah blah

You’ll either think that

a. Some rich secret admirer did this to woo you,

b. You woke up in Wonderland.

c. You’ve worked hard for it, and finally your deepest dream has come true.

And while I know that everyone aspires for option c, I personally would choose the option…. well, you know the option I would choose! 😉

Most of us blog for different reasons. You may want to be famous for:

  1. Getting so much traffic on your blog that it crashes down.
  2. Writing detailed and interesting comments on other people’s blogs, just to inspire them to keep blogging.
  3. Having so many followers it’s hard to even reply to their tweets.
  4. Making a difference through your unique thoughts and words.
  5. Being known to marketers and influencers, so that you can get some paid gigs.
  6. Being known to a small audience, but making an impact in their life.

All these reasons and many more are justified, and I don’t demean any of them.

It’s just that: it may not be possible for all of us to achieve all the above points at one go. 

While looking for a million followers, you may have to compromise on social media interactions. While looking for interactions with community members, you may have to forego regular posting. While keeping up a regular posting schedule, you may forget to comment on posts by other bloggers. While commenting on other bloggers posts, you will overlook the importance of replying to comments on your own posts. While replying to comments on your own posts, you may fall asleep and wish you never were a blogger.

Such a tough life. Take that, all you losers who say blogging is for losers.

Your own blogging life could become so chaotic, that you forget the reason why you wanted to become ‘Blogging famous’.

F for AtoZChallenge 2017 Fabulus1710

So, here are three tips on how to stay focused on your goal of becoming ‘Blogger famous’.

  1. Write it down on a big piece of chart paper, stick it on your bedroom wall, take a pic of it, make it your phone wallpaper, share the screenshot of that wallpaper on social media. There you go: a triple security protection so that you stay focused on your goal of blogging famousness.
  2. Assign some time in your daily schedule towards your ‘blogging famous’ dream, if you haven’t already. Don’t substitute that time with any other activity, blogging or otherwise. Focus specifically on what exactly you want to achieve. For example, if you want to be proficient in writing short stories, read blogs which provide short stories. Search for and buy books which provide creative writing exercises. Practice writing short stories. Review old short stories that you’ve written, and edit them. Read interviews by authors who have written short stories. Search for and participate in contests for short stories. Basically, look out for opportunities which could take you one step closer to your goal.
  3. Look at a blogger who is already famous in the same way that you want to be. Find out what he/she is doing or not doing. Interact with him/her, and ask for tips and suggestions. For all you know, this blogger may even help you achieve your ‘Blogging famous’ dream. But puhleez, don’t act like a weirdo and do weird stuff, in a bid to gain the attention of famous bloggers. I’ll tell you a secret: I’d be bowled over by anyone who sends me free books and a carton full of Iced Tea bottles. #JustSaying

These tips may not be much. It may seem like something you already should be doing. Or, something that you’re already doing.

Maybe then it’s time for an additional fourth tip? Here you go: ‘Blogging famous’ won’t happen in one day. Or one month. Or one year.

So, how will you know when you are ‘Blogging famous’? But when it does, you’ll know. You’ll feel the star-dust flowing through your veins, the lightning spike in your stats, the yellow positivity in your blogging life, the cheery happiness when you log onto your blog, the willingness to give up anything for the blog, the honest responses you get from your readers, the rush of happy chemicals when you think about your blog. Moreover, the writer’s block, looming deadlines, pressure for good content and reading depressing comments won’t break you down like they used to before. You’ll take negative things as they come, face them and emerge a stronger writer. You’ll feel proud about telling people that you own a blog, and you’ll be confident about your writing skills like never before.

You’ll look at that big piece of chart paper on your wall, smile at it, take it down with tears of gratitude and memories, and replace it confidently with a new blogging goal.

That’s when you’ll know you are ‘Blogging famous’.


F for 2017

Wassup, happy readers! This post is written for the #AtoZChallenge, and this is the third year I’m participating in this challenge. Do keep cheering me on all through this month, as I’m hell-bent on scoring a hat-trick in 2017, at the age of 18! My theme for this year is : The Encyclopedia of Blogging Memories, Feelings and Lessons.

You can check out my #AtoZChallenge 2015 (Theme: Harry Potter and Hogwarts) and 2016 (Theme: Weird Words) posts, and support my awesomeness!

Here’s a special question for you to answer today: At what stage of your blogging career would you consider yourself to be ‘blogging famous’? Do share your ideas and reasons about this unique form of famousness 😀

~The-Blogging-Curator

19 Comments Add yours

  1. shalzmojo says:

    I am always so bowled over when I read your blog as I cannot get my head around the fact that you are a teenager.
    You write kickass stuff Mithila – more power to your pen 😊

    Flower power

    Like

  2. When I was thinking to take up writing full time, I had a simple option – either optimize my blog to get more traffic or look for other ways. But optimizing the blog would have meant giving up the freedom to write whatever you want.

    Most of the ‘famous’ blogs are niches who follow a certain protocol, and I don’t think I could do that

    Like

  3. Ramya says:

    You nailed it Mithila. The aspirations of all bloggers is to one hit that big button of fame. BUt the way we work towards is generally in an unplanned and haphhazard manner. Loved the chart paper idea to constantly remind you of the goals!

    Like

  4. Great post! You’ve explained everything in such a detailed manner. It’s hard to believe that you’re a teenager! 🙂 The sheer joy and confidence that you get while reading comments or seeing the traffic shoot each time you publish a new post is undescribable. Yes, it really makes all that effort that goes into the making of a post well worth bearing! Beautifully written. 🙂

    Like

  5. Sigh. I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I will never be blogging famous, even if I follow these tips. I mean, of course I’d like to be (who wouldn’t!) and see my name all over town, but I’m just not the kind that gets there, the *relatable* kind IYKWIM

    Like

  6. inquisitivegeet says:

    This is so far the best post of yours, Mithila! And tripple security… that’s hilarious!! I’m sure gonna try these!

    Cheers
    BoisterousBee

    Like

  7. Does a bloggers have to be “blogging famous”? I just write because I want to write. I know of bloggers competing with each other to get high up the ladder, but I cannot be one of them. I cannot falsify facts and sugarcoat words to make things look good. Maybe that’s why I’m happy being where I am and don’t want to get anywhere else. No, don’t count it as lack of ambition. I will only write about what I feel is right. And what I feel. This is not something I do to get comments or followers. While I love my regular readers and their comments, I don’t keep a count of who visited/commented on my blog. I’m very unlike a lot of other bloggers I know. And I like to be like that.

    Like

  8. Modern Gypsy says:

    Waking up with your fave plastered on billboards – that’s wonderland for sure! 😃 I mean, I would love to be blogging famous, but I don’t know if I’m “relatable” enough to ever get there. Sigh!

    Like

  9. dew cool says:

    Wow Fantasy world for me to be famous as a blogger and so many fans that I’m unable to reply. tips are amazing
    Thanks for sharing
    Dr bushra
    Do visit mine
    F-Feasible Quinoa – Switch to Good Health with Quinoa

    Like

  10. I’m old enough in the blogosphere to have seen it from its infancy more than 12 years ago 🙂
    And I think I stand out as an oddity because in all these years, I never went genre-niche as most did, which is considered almost a requirement for being famous. And its okay. I guess it comes down to persisting and evolving for me…

    Like

  11. I wish I was blogging famous! And the scenario you mentioned is my current scenario for A to Z. I comment on others blogs but I fail to find time to respond to the comments on my own blog! So much to do! And I love your tips!

    Like

  12. An@m! says:

    Haha!! Triple security..great idea to remind ourselves. You really are 18?? It is so nice to know you.

    Like

  13. Vidya Sury says:

    Such a fun post with some solid points worked in, Mithila! I am in a happy place as far as my blogging is concerned. I do plenty of other things, besides blogging, so no pressure here at all! Of course I feel great when I get feedback from readers saying I made a difference in their day.

    Like

  14. Am just a newbie to blogging and your words are very Usefoul. Blogging famous is a faraway dream ,first aim is to atleast some traffic to my blog. Thanks for the great advise

    Like

  15. Wow Mithila! This is my first time on your blog and what a wise head on those pretty lil´shoulders. Oh my! You are an old soul, darling! And Im happy to have stumbled upon your blog. Loved the handy tips and words of wisdom in there. On that note, I would like to invite you to my blog and the day´s challenge https://pensense.blogspot.in/2017/04/f-is-for-fuck-mantra-atozchallenge.html. Keep writing …you are fabulous at it already. Will surely be coming back for more.

    Like

  16. I come to your blog to read your posts to literally time travel Mithila . I like looking at really really complex things – life , relationships , the blogosphere and its inhabitants and their relationships -/ through your eyes and it doesn’t look complex anymore . I’ve been down that path . Of being competitive , being ambitious and I think in the third dimension that didn’t work for me . So am now back to the sidelines and enjoying the show and loving the view 🙂

    Like

  17. I’ve been blogging for 10 years and am not close to being famous! 😛 It used to bother me but not anymore. I enjoy writing and I’ll keep at it. Great post!

    Like

  18. deepagandhi says:

    Blogging famous is a dream which I do hope to achieve. For now, it is all about learning learning and learning. Thank you again for great tip sMithila. 🙂

    Like

  19. Rajlakshmi says:

    I don’t think I will ever be famous… I am never focused 😛 My biggest regret is not being able to reply to the comment section. I am amazed by those who can do all the things you mentioned 😀

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

