Are you a blogging expert? #AtoZChallenge

Answer the following questions and you can find out right now!

Warning: Some of the options have been written in my usual jocular manner. Please ignore any offence that could have been taken from the sentences, and enjoy exploring the blogging expert side of you!

Get a pencil and piece of paper ready, you would need it to write down your MCQ answers!

cat-164426_960_720

A. Have you made new blogging friends?

  1. Not really
  2. Too many
  3. Do I need to?
  4. Are casual acquaintances also friends?

B. Have you learnt new skills?

  1. Pssshh! Naawww!
  2. I’ve learned to swim, cook, dance, read books and listen to music all thanks to blogging.
  3. What? There’s more to blogging than just writing posts?
  4. Does have a faster typing speed count?

C. Do you help fellow bloggers when they need help with blogging issues?

  1. You mean, those frantic tweets/posts/messages asking for help? All promptly ignored.
  2. The moment they need me, I’m by their side.
  3. How do I know when someone needs help? Telepathy?
  4. I read the messages, but don’t really know how to help

D. How many social media accounts do you actively use?

  1. I don’t. My fans will be too eager to talk to me everyday. And, I’m too busy for that.
  2. Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest, GoodReads, Bloglovin’, email subscription marketing (insert any other social media you use daily)
  3. I guess, just Twitter, Instagram and Facebook?
  4. I’ve installed the Shareaholic buttons, and same as 3.

E. Do you track your Alexa Rank regularly?

  1. What? Am I not on the first rank?
  2. Religiously. I have screenshots of every weekly check I do on the Alexa website/toolbar
  3. What’s Alexa? Isn’t it that Amazon thing? What’s it got to do with blogging?
  4. I checked it once, when someone on my timeline shared an update about their Alexa Rank.

F. How often do you blog?

  1. I logged into my account when the last Harry Potter film was released.
  2. Daily. Isn’t that the prescribed recommendation by every blogging guru?
  3. Monthly. Two or three posts a month is the maximum I can manage. And sometimes prompts do the trick.
  4. Weekly. I try to write more than twice a week on the blog.

G. How regularly do you read blog posts by other bloggers?

  1. Who cares? They never read my posts anyway.
  2. Daily. I’ve subscribed via email to all the blogs I read.
  3. If someone mentions/tags/recommends a post to me
  4. I check links only if they pop up on me via tweets/Facebook posts.

H. How often do you update older posts by you?

  1. What? Why would I want to update an old masterpiece?
  2. I update them with new links and content whenever I get the relevant information.
  3. Is it really necessary?
  4. I reread them if some do-gooder has the courtesy to read my old posts.

I. From where do you get the images you post on your blog?

  1. Images? Naah. It’s all text, rare changes in alignment and the perpetual serif font.
  2. I click my own pics. Just like I grow my own vegetables.
  3. I Google Image search them.
  4. I take them via websites which give copyright-free images.

J. Do you have a free or a paid blog? (Not to be counted for final answer)

  1. Yes
  2. No

E for AtoZChallenge 2017 Fabulus1710

That’s it! Now have a leisurely look at your answers:

If you have a lot of 1s, you are certainly NOT an expert blogger. And there are various reasons for that. The prime one being, you’re too arrogant or self-centered or narcissistic to see your own shortcomings and faults. You most likely whine about not having a lot of daily traffic, while ignoring the one or two bloggers who actually take the effort to be nice to you.

If you have a lot of 2s, you most certainly ARE a blogging expert! Congratulations (insert name). You have just won yourself a cash prize and an offer to travel to someplace with no internet connection, because you’ve earned a break! (Just kidding, kindly don’t come knocking on my phone door asking for any prizes. Being an awesome blogger is a prize enough! *nervous grin*). Keep going at whatever you’re doing, and there’s only one thing you can be: better and better everyday!

If you have a lot of 3s, you most certainly need a LOT of pushing to become an expert blogger. Internal and external motivation is a must, fueled with some knowledge about the blogging world around you. Read up about blogging by checking out various Blogger help websites. If possible, join a blogger support group. Figure your way around the blogosphere with the help of Blogbuddies, and set a reminder daily titled ‘Go be a blogger for half an hour’. You’ll pretty much get used to the flow in a pretty short while.

If you have a lot of 4s, you are just one step away from being an expert blogger. Remember, that one step is a gigantic one, and may require you to make drastic changes in your blogging style and schedule. Ascertain whether you really can/want to dedicate a chunk of your time to blogging daily, and then take the leap. If not, then continue the same way, because you are doing pretty much better than 50% of your competition!


E for 2017

Wassup, happy readers! This post is written for the #AtoZChallenge, and this is the third year I’m participating in this challenge. Do keep cheering me on all through this month, as I’m hell-bent on scoring a hat-trick in 2017, at the age of 18!Β My theme for this year is : The Encyclopedia of Blogging Memories, Feelings and Lessons.

You can check out my #AtoZChallenge 2015 (Theme: Harry Potter and Hogwarts) and 2016 (Theme: Weird Words) posts, and support my awesomeness!

Here’s a special question for you to answer today: Share your score on the Blogging Expert quiz!Β If you have scored a lot of 2s, do make sure to give us mortals some useful blogging tips πŸ˜€

~The-Blogging-Curator

34 Comments Add yours

  1. Vinay Leo R. says:

    I have a mix of Bs and Cs, definitely no option A. πŸ™‚ I guess that’d mean I’m between intermediate and expert. πŸ˜€

    5 down, 21 to go for completing the hat-trick. Looking good, MM!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jazzfeathers says:

    Well, looks like I’m an expert… though I certainly don’t feel like one πŸ˜‰

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – 1940s Film Noir

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My Era says:

    That was an awesome quiz, Mithila!
    Though am surely not an expert blogger but your quiz showed me the areas I can certainly work on. Your posts on blogging are turning out to be mighty helpful and I’m loving ’em ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like I’m an expert! 😁 That was fun. Great post, Mithila!

    ~Shweta from
    My Random Ramblings​

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ok so… I’m afraid to say what I earned answering these questions… Other than a good laugh πŸ™‚ and a few thoughts sooooo… Well done πŸ™‚ and Thank You!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. If it wasn’t for the A to Z Challenge, I would definitely not be posting every day. It’s not for lack of wanting to, it’s for lack of inspiration. If something catches my interest, I might post about it. I’ll post reviews of books I’ve read, of course, on my blog, Goodreads, Amazon and Barnes & Noble. I’ve actually posted one review of a game (I believe) that I wasn’t very impressed with, and kind of went on a mini-rant about. There’s a reason my tagline for my blog is “Just a place for me to ramble on about whatever enters my head…” (Apparently not very much, considering the low number of actual posts πŸ˜› ) I did go on about my furry grandbabies one night (six kittens, now a year old) when they were being particular pains in the butt (that happens quite a lot, actually…), but usually my inspiration well is drier than the Sahara… oh well, at least my fan fiction is going well!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Somewhere intermediate (though I didn’t write down all my answers. hah)

    Anna

    Liked by 1 person

  8. No expert here, but learning everyday!
    I love your writing style , MM! * waiting to queue up for that book signing * and your theme is helping me learn so much! Thank you:)
    Mayuri

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Shailaja V says:

    I think I am at level ‘E’: E for Expert blogger πŸ˜› He he, this was fun! I think I mostly fall in the moderation category except when it comes to blogging. I am frankly a bit of a fanatic when it comes to blogging. *Deep breaths* **Goes off to look for Zen**

    Liked by 1 person

  10. RamyaRao says:

    Hahaha. I loved this post the most so far, not because it kinda terms the expert which by the way I am not. This quiz surely was fun and also there are a few things I could certainly improve on and also learn from you. πŸ˜‰
    I love your A-Z posts , like the last year, all set to rock and roll. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  11. swathishenoy says:

    Definitely not an expert!! I have lot of Ds in my answers πŸ˜€ I loved reading the options you have written. That sense of humour, I love it!

    Exams

    Liked by 1 person

  12. More Bs than any of the others which included a C and a D. So yay! NOW WHERE’S MY PRIZE, WOMAN???
    Trophy? garland? Cheque????

    Godyears.net

    Liked by 1 person

  13. deepagandhi says:

    I am somewhere between B and D but wont call myself an expert. Lots to learn and lots to do. Enjoyed reading it Mithila especially the quiz was fun πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. …epic fail… well, mostly. I HAVE made some fabulous blogging friends via doing A-Z and the Na-blah-blah. I have fun and I stay onnected to some great people. That’s enough for me.

    Wendy of the Rock is OFF the Rock

    E = Eyeball entrepreneur

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ok, so I got like a B.5 and C.5 mix. Like, not quite Bs and not quite Cs. I guess I should be happy-ish?

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I am in the moderation category, I have made some very good friends in the blogging community whom I can depend on at any time.
    Launching SIM Organics This April
    *Menaka Bharathi *
    *SimpleIndianMom*

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Nah!! Nowhere near an expert but there is some hope for the future.
    E for Education for all

    Liked by 1 person

  18. B, C and D. Where do i fall? Somwhere in between I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Shilpa Garg says:

    This was a cool fun quiz, Mithila. Loved it. I got a lot of Bs, though I dont think I am expert. LOL πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Expert! Wow, I’d expect no less from the Lioness in me πŸ˜›

    You prepared the quiz all by yourself? You awesome you! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Modern Gypsy says:

    Expert – though I certainly don’t feel like one! And this quiz was super awesome – you’re one fabulous blogger! But I’m sure you know that already πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Vidya Sury says:

    I enjoyed the post too much to grade myself. I think I learn something every day as a blogger and try my best to be nice to others. Yes, I’ve made friends and yes, I try to help people as best as I can. I generally try to be the same way I am offline. I am thrilled with your posts for this AtoZ, Mithila! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. lissa says:

    the answers/choices are in number sequences, where do people get the A’s and B’s? guess I’m not smart enough for this quiz…
    I’m no expert blogger even after 11 years. I may learn new things, I really cannot say I’m an expert.

    have a lovely day.

    Like

    1. Sorry for that mistake! A proofreading error, I have changed it now. Thank you for bringing it to my notice!

      Like

  24. inquisitivegeet says:

    I am a mix of B’s and D’s and this was so much fun! Such a subtle way to learn about the things that I’m lagging behind!
    More power to you, Mithila!

    Cheers
    BoisterousBee

    Liked by 1 person

  25. archana says:

    Newbiw to organised,planned blogging. I usually write when I feel strongly about something. Hence this challenge to get in to the groove of blogging. This is a great set of to-dos and pointers for me!
    Do check out my post for today
    https://archanablogs.wordpress.com/2017/04/06/e-for-exhausted-envious-and-empty-empowering-thoughts-from-eckhart-tolle/

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Out of the 10 questions asked, my answer was 9 times – the number 2 option and does this count for B’s? The answers/choices are in number sequences, where do we get the A’s and B’s, C’s and D’s? Did you check this? Yes I am a blogging expert! Congratulations to myself!! This was a nice quiz.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oops! I had my mind muddled up a bit while I proofread this post πŸ™ˆ Made the necessary changes! Thank you for letting me know πŸ˜€

      Like

  27. Lalita says:

    Just taking the quiz was learning enough. So many insights, much wow.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. That indeed was an interesting quiz. I’m now assured that I’m on my way to being a blogging expert- just one step away πŸ˜›
    I’m loving all of your posts Mithila! You are awesome! πŸ™‚

    Like

  29. dew cool says:

    I’m just learning and this quiz is motivating for me
    Thanks for sharing Enjoy to the core -The Second Trimester of Pregnancy

    Like

  30. SoulMom says:

    What a creative way to highlight the blogging aspects without sounding instructional! Few takeaways for me to get into action. Thank you.

    Like

  31. shalzmojo says:

    Oops – you were serious about noting down the ans?? Oh well, I am lazy or wait I am savnig energy to read more posts πŸ˜‰

    Theme: Peregrination Chronicles (travel)
    G is for Grape Stomping in Bangalore #atozchallenge

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

