Brotherhood (or sisterhood) of the Introverted Netizens #AtoZChallenge

Writing is something you do alone. It’s a profession for introverts who want to tell you a story but don’t want to make eye contact while doing it. ~ John Green

I don’t mean to generalise here, but most of us who blog are introverts. 

And I’ve got some statistical data to back it up. Please don’t slam me for my amateur way of collecting data, but Twitter Polls is the nearest-to-decent thing I have to collect data, unless you want me to stand in the middle of nowhere and scream out loud for some answers. (Which is basically the same thing as Twitter Polls)

screenshot_2017-03-02-10-15-13-180.jpeg

As per this poll, 7 out of 12 bloggers are introverts. But from personal experience, I know that the numbers could be way higher than 7. Who knows, maybe some introverts were too shy to answer? #JustKidding

B for AtoZChallenge 2017 Fabulus1710

Don’t get me wrong: I’m not implying that extroverts write badly, or that they don’t blog, or that introverts are fit for nothing but blogging.

All I’m saying is: expression of thoughts, emotions, words and everything in between comes easy to us introverts in the written format. And we feel highly confident about expressing our thoughts via writing something down, instead of getting all confrontational and physical with it.

Blogging gives us introverts a safe environment to share our innermost feelings, without fearing an immediate ‘keep-your-mouth-shut-you-don’t-know-anything‘ from some loud extrovert who always wants to hog the limelight.

If someone criticizes what we write and does not offer any feedback, we introverts won’t know if the person disagrees with what we have written. Because, no non-verbal cues! I am assuming that the (sensible) person will immediately click the ‘x’ button, go search for something else to read, and not offer to spew venom on us sweet little introverts.  Plus, we don’t have to have an immediate reply for any positive/negative comment. We can reply to comments as we please, taking time to frame up a suitable reply.

More often than not, introverts have a fear of public speaking. But here on the blog, we don’t have to panic. Never. Not even if a post we have published has a typo. We can always go and edit that!

Most importantly, we can make friends without that awkward problem of having ideas to make small talk. *chucks book on ‘How to Make Small Talk’ out of the window*.

Blogging helps us understand so much about other bloggers. Twitter Q&As, Instagram feeds, Facebook statuses can help us know more about someone without asking questions. (I know, some people consider it stalking, but hey, we aren’t creepy 100% of the time. We also come forward to reply to tweets, share some personal info and react to statuses!)

I’ve saved the best for last: Introvert bloggers are more likely to check up on their MIA blogger friends, because they ‘remember‘ that someone is missing in action! Again, I know this from personal experience 😀


Here are three tips for introverts who blog, so that you can enjoy being in your happy space more!

1. How to network: Networking for introverts is a bit of a task. We always need to force a beautiful smile on our face and boast extravagantly about our blogging achievements just to get noticed. But after you read this article by Entrepreneur India, you will have a new action plan to use!

2. How to stay unaffected by trolls on social media: Do you remember the game hide-and-seek? Well, here’s a fun game to play with your phone: hide-and-don’t-seek. Simply speaking, log off from your social media sites while working on a blog post, or when you are not using the social media site. And if you feel this isn’t compatible to your social media strategy, this cool article by Economic Times will convince you more than I ever can.

3. How to make some me-time from the blog: It’s the easiest thing in the world to get sucked into the blogging rigmarole: log on to WordPress with the objective of writing a quick draft, instead get sucked into the Comments section, spend half an hour fretting whether the replies you sent were correct, get distracted with making teeny-weeny changes to your blog theme, then head over to someone else’s blog where you had seen a particularly nice way to arrange widgets, then come back and hunt for the same widget, blah blah blah. The best way to not get sucked into this, is to prepare an editorial calendar. Work on photos on one particular day. Work on drafts on another. Work on publishing the third day. For a quick way to jot down inspiration, try out apps like Evernote, and not Quick Draft on WordPress. To get some detailed info about what an editorial calendar is, read Blogchatter’s Storified version of the Editorial Calendar chat!


B for 2017

Wassup, happy readers! This post is written for the #AtoZChallenge, and this is the third year I’m participating in this challenge. Do keep cheering me on all through this month, as I’m hell-bent on scoring a hat-trick in 2017, at the age of 18! My theme for this year is : The Encyclopedia of Blogging Memories, Feelings and Lessons.

You can check out my #AtoZChallenge 2015 (Theme: Harry Potter and Hogwarts) and 2016 (Theme: Weird Words) posts, and support my awesomeness!

Here’s a special question for you to answer todayDoes being an introvert give you an extra edge in the blogging world? Share any instance where being an introvert acted as an advantage. Feel free to add to the tips I’ve given today!

~The-Blogging-Curator

63 Comments Add yours

  1. Vidya Sury says:

    Excellent tips, Mithila! I think you were supersmart to do the Twitter poll! Blogging gives one a sense of anonymity and as you rightly said, no face to face interaction, making it easier to connect and converse. You know your posts are going to make a useful ebook!
    Now, I am wondering how you manage to accomplish all you do. 🙂 Hugs!

    Like

  2. ridhiik says:

    very well written…i am glad that I stumbled onto your blog when I did

    do visit my blog at randommusing2017.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. Myths abound about us introverts. I am an introvert. I am not shy, nor am I antisocial. I do prefer depth over breadth, when it comes to friendships. For people who think my large network of Facebook friends contradicts this: at SOME point, I’ve had a meaningful conversation with most of my Facebook friends. With ALL of my friends, it’s possible to go a year or more without speaking – then dive into that, or another, meaningful conversation when one or both of us has something new to say. We’re NOT good at small talk. We’re not really little bundles of social energy, even if we can fake it for brief periods. Social media is fun (it’s in WRITING!!) but also exhausting. After a lively Twitter exchange, we introverts need a nap – or some quality time under the covers with a good book (preferably the dead tree variety). We can write circles around most people, but get tongue tied in verbal arguments. We can muster what it takes to be public speakers, but as with that lively Twitter exchange, we need some time afterwards to rest and recharge. We’d prefer to hole up in the hotel room watching Netflix or something to “mingling” at a large convention soiree. But we like people just fine – in smallish doses – where we can have deeper conversations in small, quiet groups, and really achieve a meeting of minds.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I wonder if any YouTube “stars” are introverts. I seriously doubt it.

    Like

  5. Twitter polls are 100% legit and scientific… 😉

    Like

  6. vinodinii says:

    I for once feel that although a good number of bloggers are intoverts, they do have the boldness to come out in the open with their thoughts. Now, is that truly a sign of being an introvert? I do know a few bloggers who conceal their identity to maintain their privacy and also coz they’re shy. Your posts are turning out to be quite interesting. I wonder how you manage all this at 18? 🙂

    Like

  7. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Useful tips, yes. Am an introvert too, so make that 59%. Though blogging is interacting, otherwise I’m quite in my shell. Need to network better for sure, since that’s a big part of blogging too.

    Like

  8. Yes… Blogging is our personal space even when it’s so open out to the world. It’s like this safe cocoon. Good work. 🙂

    Like

  9. SoulMom says:

    Your post makes me question whether I’m an introvert. I do enjoy this blogging space to air my personal thoughts, though not in full anonymity. Yet the social bug in me wants to get heard, noticed and even appreciated. I’m amazed that you are only 18. Great writing Mithila. Another good discovery during #AtoZChallenge.

    Like

  10. Even I am an introvert. While a lot of us find blogging as an avenue for our thoughts, one area where I differ from regular introverts is, most can at least interact with others online. I find it difficult to do even that (well, sometimes!) So your first tip about networking is kind of a nightmare for me. And yet, it is the most important activity for bloggers.
    Well, we work on it, we learn, don’t we 🙂

    Like

  11. swathishenoy says:

    Being an introvert, I was happy when I started blogging. It was like I finally could say what was on my mind. So liberating!

    Brother

    Like

  12. inquisitivegeet says:

    Those are some really great tips Mithila! I am an extrovert but I totally get this post! I agree that writing/blogging gives so much of window to the introverts to vent what they have in their hearts without feeling shy!

    Cheers
    BoisterousBee

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Geetika 😀❤

      Like

  13. Shilpa Garg says:

    Yes, blogging is a perfect outlet for introverts to voice their opinions comfortably without engaging in the physical environment. And those are excellent tips, Mithila. Networking is pretty important in blogging world because that help forge relationships and that is so very needed especially in community based blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still have to put to practical use my theoretical knowledge of networking! I do hope I can do justice to it when I finally have to sell my skills and make everyone go wow, just the way they do on my blog!

      Thank you Shilpa 😀❤

      Like

  14. Suzy Que says:

    I am an extrovert but there are times when I want my own space away from everything and everyone. Whether you are in introvert or extrovert, blogging is a great avenue to unleash creativity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True that! Thank you Suzy 😀

      Like

  15. Lalita says:

    I am an introvert, and have struggled airing my ideas/ opinions in the “standard workplace” situations. But as a blogger, writing and interacting with other bloggers, I find an energy I have not felt before. It just feels like there is less judgment around, so you just end up being a little easier on yourself, and that becomes a great habit. To be able to let go, to say what you want, to write free, to share the most banal moments. George Michael’s Listen Without Prejudice comes to mind. This was so thought provoking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True. Blogging just feels like an extension of your brain, where you can think about thoughts, concoct stories and share them with the world.

      Thank you Lalita for stopping by! 😀

      Like

  16. BellyBytes says:

    Go girl for the hat trick. I don’t think bloggers are particularly introverted. There are many introverts who are just introverts. Self absorbed? Pessimists? Socially inept? GOK but I do know that when you sit back and observe you can really see a lot…. and absorb…. and blog

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess self absorbed people would be more into fanning themselves in public and talking non-stop about the awesome things they do every day 🙈

      Thank you dear 😀❤

      Like

  17. sanchthewriter says:

    I am introverted and I do enjoy conversations with people but meaningful ones. I find sometimes, I can have more of those meaningful conversations online than offline. It’s weird, yes. I think being an introvert has helped me observe things around me, think deeply about it and therefore write about it. I would also have conversations about it if I could but not everyone I know likes to have deep and meaningfuls.

    Sanch @ Sanch Writes

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so so true! Every time I try to share my deep thoughts with someone face to face, I just think this one thought: what if they don’t understand why I’m expressing this opinion? Speaking online is much relaxed, because one can run away whenever one wants to, and reply whenever one feels confident enough to do so!

      Thank you Sanch 😀❤

      Like

  18. Yea, maybe the ratio is turned towards the introverts and the reason you have stated is quite correct too. getting lost in the world of words and not having to interact socially could be a blessing if one is an introvert.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Shubhangi for your lovely comment 😀❤

      Like

  19. deepagandhi says:

    I missed this poll but my answer is yes, I am an introvert. And agree that it gives an extra edge and it is easier for us to share our views and thoughts than actually talking to some one. Great tips 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Deepa 😀❤

      Like

  20. Ann says:

    That’s a great idea about doing an editorial calendar! Happy I found your blog via the A to Z Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Ann 😀

      Like

  21. My Era says:

    No prizes for guessing that I’m an introvert and the extent of which can be gauged by the fact that I write a personal blog and am anonymous not only on the blog but everywhere on the Internet. Wow! after reading your insightful post, I have come to see my blogging journey in a new light.
    Though I do not think being an introvert gives me or any introvert an edge in writing. I’d rather credit that to someone’s observation skills if they’re really fabulous writers. But yes, being an introvert would definitely add to the list of topics you could blog about because of a larger number of topics you’ve never spoken about.
    Loving your posts on blogging this A to Z ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A true blue introvert, eh? 😁

      When I was planning for my blog in 2014 (nothing path breaking), I had played around with the idea of making a fake identity with a cool name, and then I realised I could do that with fabulus1710, and still be known by the name I have!

      Most introverts do have awesome observation skills. And a powerful memory. Like, people who know me often wonder why I take the time and brain space to remember crazy things like what colour clothes they wore, and how often they repeat them, but it’s just something that happens unconsciously. Plus, I feel that I can understand non-verbal cues faster than most mortals, but that’s just my fabulousness talking too much. 😛

      Thank you for stopping by! ❤ Tomorrow’s post is something that has been my pet project since last April. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Not as many extroverts gravitate toward writing because they like more direct and immediate forms of interaction with people. Writing requires a lot of alone time and introspection, which is great for introverts but not so much for someone who thrives in more immediate forms of communications.

    And many, many performers are introverts. Being on stage or in front of a camera is a great way for introverts to communicate because they are playing a character, and are communicating to others through an imaginary wall. It’s actually very similar to how and why introverts write.

    B is for Battle of Beaumont Hamel

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is a perfect analysis for why introverts and extroverts choose different methods of communicating with the world! Thank you for adding your thoughts to this post 🙂

      Like

  23. Shailaja V says:

    Extremely valuable tips, Mithila. As an introvert, I also highly recommend the book ‘Quiet’ by Susan Cain. It’s an eye opener on the kinds of things introverts are capable of and written in such an empowering manner. Regarding social media, it’s true. Introverts tend to be more affected by angst online so it helps to take frequent breaks. Point 3 is equally valid.Blogging is not my be-all of existence and I like it that way.

    Can I say you are doing a great job with the challenge already?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Susan Cain is my goddess! I read the book when you had recommended it to me, and I felt so happy to be an introvert ( still feel that way!) There was a recent article she wrote about why recruiters need to focus on hiring followers, and not leaders always. It made me feel relieved that maybe one day, there will come a time when introverts are as sought after as adrenaline-pumped extroverts! Thank you for sharing ‘Quiet’ here! I’ll tag you in that article I read, on Twitter 🙂

      Thank you Shailaja for your lovely encouragement! ❤😘

      Liked by 1 person

  24. Are you sure you are only 18? So much maturity and understanding is hard to find at that age 🙂

    You might be right when you say most bloggers are introverts. But I am not. There are so many times that I wished I was one because just because I’m an extrovert people expect me to speak up all the times. Most of the times it is not even for me! Being blunt and an extrovert is not a good combination for social media. The blog maybe yes, but definitely not on social media. If I express what I feel to everyone on Twitter or Facebook I’d have zero friends. So I just stalk them and reply in my mind only.

    No matter how much of an extrovert I am and how many events I have hosted, standing up on a stage in front of people gives me the creeps till date. No matter how many times I do it, the lump in the throat remains.

    This is such a brilliant post that I could reply to every paragraph, but I’ll stop here.

    You might be the little one, but your thoughts are mighty huge my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am 18 (or at least it says so on my ID card 😀 )

      So basically you’re saying that, inspite of being an extrovert, you behave like an introvert on social media. And here I am, an introvert, tweeting away to glory about every song I’m listening to and sharing my deepest thoughts with the world. Ultimate role-reversal! 😀

      A fear of public speaking is something that could happen to anyone, not only introverts. In fact, I have read that some introverts are super good orators, and no one would even guess that they are introverts by listening to their speeches!

      And it’s true about the social media unfollowing / unfriending thing. That’s why I included it in these three tips. So that everyone, even non-introverts could read and get some weaponry against trolls!

      Thank you Soumya for sharing your thoughts and feedback! 😀❤

      Like

  25. upasna1987 says:

    I am not an Introvert, at least not according to me. Yet, I love writing my thoughts because I can re-read them to myself. I can speak about what I believe in a crowd too. You see I am a true Scorpion. An interesting read Mithila.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I find it easier to talk about topics that I know a lot about, than engaging in chit-chat. If you ask me to give a discourse about Luna Lovegood and why she should have married Harry Potter instead, I can talk without feeling shy even for a minute 😀

      I’m just one sun sign behind you #Libran 🙂

      Thank you Upasna 😀❤

      Like

  26. Having an editorial calendar works wonders, especially for someone like me who easily gets distracted! Great post again!
    Thailand Travel Stories at Kohl Eyed Me
    26 Indian Dishes at Something’s Cooking

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m planning to work on my own editorial calendar once exams are done and I’m free to actually blog properly!

      Thank you Shalini 😀❤

      Like

  27. Rajlakshmi says:

    I was an introvert when I started blogging. But over the time things have changed. Although I still write much more than I talk. But yes, we need to take a break once in a while and not get too engrossed in this online world. Well written girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Rajlakshmi 😀❤

      Like

  28. psharmarao says:

    I am an ambivert and frankly just blog because its soul work for me, loved you detailed analysis though

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s an angle I didn’t consider! I should do a revised poll, including ambiverts too!

      Thank you Pooja 😀

      Like

  29. dew cool says:

    I’m not so liberal in expressing thoughts, these tips can help to get engage with the outer world easily
    thanks for sharing 🙂 Bloom up Your Motherhood – What to expect during the First trimester of Pregnancy

    Like

  30. Modern Gypsy says:

    Excellent tips, Mithila! I hadn’t seen your Twitter poll, so you have one more response for Introvert. And it’s true what you say – it’s so much easier to write down my thoughts than to try and speak them out loud when all them extroverts are busy talking over me! 😉

    Like

  31. I used to be an introvert in real life. Having a voice as a blogger kinda made me more open to talking openly in real life too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope that happens to me too. Not that I’m upset about being an introvert. It’s just that it gets a bit irritating when people label me as a quiet person, just because I don’t speak everything I think!

      Thank you doc! 😀

      Like

  32. Obsessivemom says:

    My goodness Mithila your posts are like a wonderful blogging tutorial. Checking out the resources you’ve mentioned.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do check them out! I personally loved the Economic Times one, and just had to share it here 🙂

      Thank you Tulika 😀❤

      Like

  33. I love your tips! I’m definitely not an introvert but yes I loved reading this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Reema 😀❤

      Like

  34. If you’re an introvert, you can attest to the fact that we’re not all social butterflies. For some, it’s a difficult task to talk face-to-face with strangers and a nightmare to be stuck in a crowd. Many introverts still have a lot to say and great ideas that come from listening and learning in social situations. While you may not feel comfortable speaking out loud about your thoughts, feelings, and ideas in person, you do have the opportunity to speak your mind online. Behind the computer screen, you can be a voice with an authoritative blog. You can express your creativity or your humorous side. It may even instill a confidence in you as people begin to give you feedback about your character. To get your word out there in the blogging world, take note from the various authoritative blogging sites that exist. A personal blog may just open up your world to new ideas and views, allowing you to express all the great ideas that you have tucked away in your head. As an introvert, you can safely network and communicate online to others with your blog. This allows you to build confidence to put your personality out there. The support and feedback you receive online is going to allow you to see that you do have something important to say and people are listening. It could even assist you when you’re dealing with real-world situations because you know you really are interesting, captivating, and entertaining. Perhaps this newfound confidence can eventually lead you to feel more comfortable in groups of people in the real world.

    Like

  35. Ishithaa says:

    How much work you’ve put into this post! And I think it was cool of you to have done a poll survey on Twitter 😁

    Like

  36. Ramya says:

    I could totally relate with every word you wrote. Loved the way you presented it all.
    Here’s my post for the day Brain vs Heart , read it when free

    Like

  37. Eva says:

    This is an interesting post, despite that odd method of collecting data. But I don’t think that most bloggers are introvert. Introvert people… do you need to communicate so much with the whole world?

    —–
    EvaMail Adventures
    B is for: Bank.

    Like

  38. UpwardSpiral says:

    Great post! I do feel like introverts make good writers, because like you said, it helps to express in a medium where you’re most comfortable expressing yourself.

    Like

  39. I never really thought about it before, but being an introvert does have its advantages when blogging! I don’t have to worry about reading the other person’s expressions or body language to tell me whether they love or hate what I’m saying, and I can go blithely on my way writing more posts and not worrying about what anyone else thinks of them! I had to take a speech class in business college, and I absolutely hated it, because I hate talking in front of groups. If It’s just me and a few friends, that’s one thing, then you’ll never get me to shut up (just ask said friends :P). But talking in front of a group, no matter the size? Nope, not for me, thanks.

    I always have Facebook open on my computer, but it is just one of several windows I keep open. If I’m writing a blog entry, I stay on WordPress till it’s published, then I’ll go back to Facebook to see what I’ve missed, get caught up on my emails, and whatever else I feel like wasting my time on. 😛

    Like

  40. RamyaRao says:

    I know for sure that many Bloggers are introverts. The blogger meets, they tell you who is an introvert but they also help you improve your networking skills.
    Plus I am an ambivert, if you know what it means. Rare breed. 😛

    Like

  41. I am not an introvert:))) But your tips make a lot of sense, MM:)
    Mayuri

    Like

  42. I’m no introvert. In fact, I only wish that I write as much as I talk (I’d never ever have to face writer’s block in that case!) But your post made sense to me. Most writers find it better to speak their minds through their pen. Also, that’s some great tips.
    It’s​ amazing how detailed your posts are! So helpful and inspiring. You’ve got a great blog. A great achievement at just 18. Good job. Keep writing! 🙂

    ~Shweta from
    My Random Ramblings​

    Like

  43. Wow ! Very inciteful! I need to grow my blogging site!

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

