Of naps and examinations

I wake up from my 5-minute nap, a much-deserved one. A nap I would have happily extended to the last day of my examination. A nap that researchers say is a necessary way to waste time, for the worthy cause of memorising formulae. A nap that will help me score 112% in tomorrow’s exam. #PotterheadReference

Ideally, I would have happily accepted a teeny-weeny five minute nap. I have too much to revise, and too little time to waste. 

Realistically, I only got a 4 minute and 33 second nap. All thanks to that irksome noise of ‘caw-caw’, from the “supposedly” most intelligent bird: the crow. 

I think that crows, of all animals, should understand the perils of being intelligent. Shouldn’t the crow just keep his beak shut when I’m asleep? His way of intruding on my 5-minute-siesta-cum-mini-movie-dream is super irritating. It does invite me to mix in some FewiKwik into the little wheat dough balls I feed him. 

I know, that he’s only fulfilling his duty of being an annoying little smarty-bird. So, should I join my hand with his claw, and make a truce with him? What if I hang a pocket watch around his neck, and then request him to ‘caw-caw’ at exactly the time I tell him? 

It would be a win-win for both of us. More so for me, because I would always wake up on time, never wanting to hit the snooze button on this alarm. 

I fantasize further about teaching the crow to carry my pencil pouch to the examination hall for me, so that I could float along the passageway and into the classroom, smelling of geekiness, beauty and whatever hair product I’m using to keep my hair well-behaved. 

My fantasy is interrupted when I hear the buzzing of the comments behind my back: I will never be able to shed my reputation of being a geek/nerd/topper/’padhaku’/’isko sab aata hai’ and so on. 

Mood slightly deflated, I pick up a pencil to doodle on my open textbook. As my pencil scratches on the pristine white paper, I hear another ‘caw-caw’. 

Infuriated, I growl. I feel a little bit of drool sticking to my lips, and realise with a panic: I never drool when I nap. 

And right enough, I finally wake up, realising that my teeny-weeny 5 minute nap had metamorphosed into a 20-minute crazy crow dream. 


Howdy folks! I’m back with a bang (or with a caw, should I say?) after two weeks of being missing from the blog. Today’s Wordy Wednesday prompt over at Blog-A-Rhythm inspired me to mix in all the prompts into one crazy story. A story, that is somewhat based in reality too. This one is dedicated to my exam-giving #FabFollowers. I hope you enjoyed the post! All the best for your exams 🙂

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Haha you and the crow caw caw a lot.
    And believe me often people dont like listening to the crow but reading the caw caw of your crow made me feel good.
    When I read your blog
    I am like taking keasons from your writing everytime .

    Like

  2. Natasha says:

    You took me back to my college/school days when I tried indulging in those “5 min” naps and the dreamer I was always ended oversleeping. Keep those words coming! You wordsmith.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those beautiful days indeed! Thank you Natasha for stopping by 😀💙

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Natasha says:

        Hey Mithila great to hear from you. How did the egg-jams go? Chillin’ now?

        Like

  3. This week for me has been a quite drag with humour missing from the blogging scene. None of the blogs I read this week could make tickle my funny bone. None, until I came to read the caw-caw tale 😀 Enjoyable read. I loved the fact that as I began admiring the importance of the crow, everything turned out to be a dream sequence hahah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The dream sequence wasn’t my intention in the beginning, but then this post wouldn’t have been half as entertaining without the twist in the end, no? 😁

      Glad I could bring a little humour through my posts to you, Anamika ❤😘

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You got all that from a caw-caw. Your imagination is running wild, little one. [And I’m so happy about that!]

    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My imagination is running wild, just like I’m running away from my blogging responsibilities *smirks* 😁😂

      Thank you Sid 😀🙌

      Like

  5. Me Otherwise says:

    Hmm imagination running wild after a two week blogging hiatus!!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The spurned muse does act out in unique ways, indeed 😁
      Thank you 😀❤

      Like

  6. Kaddu says:

    Hahaha! I have a pigeon on my my bedroom windowsill. Pigeons are worse. They don’t even sleep through the night. At least the on my bedroom window doesn’t. I liked your idea of mixing FeviKwik in some dough balls and feeding that to him! 😀 [wink]

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s surprising that I haven’t had many pigeons around the house for quite some time. They don’t irritate me much, except when they act like weirdos and enter my room through the window, and hide and sleep in some corner!

      Hey, don’t mix the Fewikwik in. It all happened in my dream 😁

      Thank you Chicky ❤😘

      Like

  7. Suzy Que says:

    He he enjoyed your post. Reminded me of those pesky crows that had the knack of cawing just as my baby would fall asleep.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s too bad! These crows have no sense of timing, inspite of their intelligence.

      Thank you Suzy 😀❤

      Like

  8. inquisitivegeet says:

    Such a cute post, Mithila! And I too sometimes drool during my nap. Naps are always good. But yours one was epic! The imagination has truly gone wild!

    Good work done here. Good luck to you 🙂

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Naps are the best! I sometimes wish I could nap 24×7! 😁😎

      Thank you Geetika ❤😘

      Like

  9. Dashy says:

    Haha, how true is that. Five minute naps during exam preps are a myth! I wish I had such a caw-ing crow alarm too! Good luck with your exams. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right! They never turn out to be five minute naps 😁

      Thank you Darshana, and good luck with your exams too (I’m assuming you have some exam, because that’s all we students have: exams!) 😁

      Like

  10. Maliny Mohan says:

    I am surprised that you could come up with such an interesting tale surrounding a crow! Well -written 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Maliny 😀

      Like

  11. Shailaja V says:

    Super adorable tale from the one and only Mithila 🙂 Never guessed that it was fantasy so well done on that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Coming from the master at flash fiction, this is equivalent to winning an award 😍

      Thank you Shailaja ❤😘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Shailaja V says:

        I’ve not written flash fiction in ages. Must get back to it.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes yes and yes! Eagerly waiting for it 😍

          Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

