I Love My Blog, and other truths I tell on the Internet #Blogchatter

Taking the baton from Ramya over atΒ Words and Me, and holding it high here!


How can you love a sheet of paper whose ink mirrors the thoughts in your mind?

How can you love a story that is told to everyone, but strikes an intimate chord only with you?

How can you love a character who is merely fictional and removable at the hands of its literary God, and yet feel an overwhelming sadness when luck doesn’t favour him?

It’s a simple answer: it’s love.

You don’t need to understand love, you just have to feel it.

I remember reading a quote about love somewhere. I don’t remember the exact words, but the gist of it stays in my mind all the time: ‘If you want to know if someone loves you, ask them why they love you. Someone who really loves you, will never have a grammatically perfect sentence or a straightforward way to describe why they love you.’

So basically, the sleazy, “user” types will write pages and pages about why they love you, and will never mean a single ink spot of it in their mind of minds. (Of course, not ‘heart of hearts’. They are “user” types, remember?)

I know, it’s grossly judgmental to categorise lovers like that. Maybe your lover of more than many years tells you daily why he /she loves you, and still hasn’t left your side in all the adverse times. Hey, I get it. Exceptions to the “love rules” happen all the time.

Ugh, this is so not straightforward.

I’m hoping you’ve understood from all this ‘beating around the red bush” that I’m trying to avoid saying what I really feel about my blog, because I’m scared I’ll jinx it.

Maybe I’ll scream from the highest hills that I love writing and I’ll never ever be away from it, and the next day, I’ll have no internet connectivity. “Because,” my blog will sweetly say, “if you love me, you’ll love me for better or for worse. Now come home soon, and share some supercalifragilisticexpialidocious story on me.”

Maybe I’ll write a love ballad dedicated to my blog, and the next day all the stats will wipe away. “Because,” my blog will lovingly say, “If you love me, you’ll love me for richer or for poorer. The stats never mattered, did they?”

Maybe I’ll be down with a bad case of writer’s cramps, and my blog will start reminding me that I haven’t posted in seven days. “Because,” my blog will say, with a sweet eucalypty voice, “you did say you’d love me through sickness and through health. Now go wear an ice pack and start writing!”

Maybe I’ll be sitting all alone, with a book to read and hot chocolate to drink, and my blog will start bleeping notifications like as if it’s on a WhatsApp group spree. “Because,” my blog will say, almost sounding like a demanding spouse, “you said you’ll be home early tonight, honey. I’ve already kept the rough draft, titles and keywords ready for you! Come home soon, or the food for your thought will get cold.”

Alas, maybe when I’m on my deathbed, a comfortable sixty years later, my blog will start showing me memories of all the wonderful thoughts I’ve written about. Maybe it will make me cringe with all my stupid thoughts I’ve shared with the world. Maybe it will make me laugh, cry, weep all through my way to the writers heaven. Maybe it will beg and plead for me to never leave.

And maybe, just maybe, my blog will stay on forever, a memory of my happy life. A life with the most devoted love ever.

I love my blog, my dear blog.


Passing the baton on to G., over atΒ Chai Aur Biscuit!Β 

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Inderpreet says:

    Such an interesting way to show love. πŸ™‚ Happy Valentine’s Day.

    Like

  2. kalaravi16 says:

    What can I say, my dear? You are a master of words and my words shall fall short to express my love for them….I guess I am a genuine user then, with my imperfect and inadequate compliments? Really Mithila, this was such an amazing post expressing the inexpressible! Loads of love to broken blue bubbles and you! BTW where’s Fabulus…looks like I haven’t visited you in a while now!!

    Like

  3. Novemberschild says:

    You deserve high praise for the way you handled the prompt – Blog Love. May you enjoy this type of success in all your blogging endeavors.

    Like

  4. How can someone as young as you are have so much wisdom and foresight?
    How can someone who needs to pore over study books make me want to learn from her?
    How can someone as adorable as you are write words that make the best of us think about our own?
    This is possibly the best post I have read in todays #BlogLove series, and believe me I have read a lot of them since morning!
    More power to your Blog and you, MM!
    * patiently waiting for you to finish that book so I can get it signed *

    Like

  5. Speechless… your words touched heart. Love this write up.

    Like

  6. I typed this and read the comment right above me , but went ahead anyway–

    For some one who has just stepped into adulthood officially , very recently, you certainly talk like an expert on a lot of things. Like marriage and like old age πŸ˜‰ But I love your writing and your command over your thoughts and how you are wise and interesting and fun beyond your years. You are just my type of girl and I wish you loads of blog love this year .

    PS: We have to write that book in AtoZ this year . please set a notification or alarm or something like that on your blog as reminder darling πŸ˜‰

    Like

  7. mahekg says:

    beautiful words and you have shared wonderfully what we all feel for our blogs…

    Like

  8. deepagandhi says:

    Wow..I have no words..seriously. You are too good with words and agree with Mayuri’s comment. You are much younger than all of us but your writing is much better than what we all write. I am so glad I met you through blogbuddy and like the previous post..I am going to make my teenager read this one too. Sending love to you and your blog πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. shwetadave09 says:

    So rightly said Mithila true love is indescribable….and love for something that stays so loyal like our blog is just beyond words…really liked your post!

    Like

  10. Aw I loved this blog love. And the analogy is so cute. Although, do I tell the Husband and Kids I love them all the time – with a different reason each time and I do it from my heart of hearts. That idea of the blog as a demanding spouse cracked me up.. the cutest ever. I can see ‘him’ waiting up for you when you get home after a late-night party.

    Like

  11. shanayatales says:

    Such a clever use of prompts, but still done in your trademark style. Loved reading this. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Shantala ❀😘

      Like

  12. G. says:

    Hey Mithila, I have learnt a super fuzzy big word today! “supercalifragilisticexpialidocious”

    Thanks a bunch! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right! Saying this word just makes people feel warm, happy and fuzzy inside 😁

      My pleasure, G. ❀😘

      Like

  13. Rachna says:

    Your blog as your significant other. Now that’s mighty interesting. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. At least till I find a corporeal significant other, the blog will have to do. (This sounded way better in my head) πŸ˜πŸ™ˆ

      Thank you Rachna ❀😘

      Like

  14. Tina Basu says:

    Love it is. Brilliant Mithila. I wish when I was a teenager i had so much wisdom!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha, thank you Tina β€πŸ˜€

      Like

  15. upasna1987 says:

    Loved the analogy part Mithila. I too feel my Blog waiting for me when I don’t really feel like waking up late to write. Loved reading the post from top-to-bottom; every single word.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That was my favourite part of the post too! It sounded so saas-bahu dramatic, and exactly the way our blogs would think about us owners πŸ˜€

      Thank you so much Upasna for your encouraging feedback ❀😘

      Liked by 1 person

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

