The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love – Sarvenaz Tash #BookReview

Geeks.

This word will bring to your mind the done-to-death stereotype: Ugly teeth, full-rimmed thick glasses, out-of-fashion clothes and weird hair. And talks a lot about a particular book / series of books.

Or in short, me.

If you believed that all geeks are tech junkies, this definition by the Cambridge Dictionary would surprise you.

meaning-of-geek

Now, lemme see. The first one is perfectly true in my case.

Let me justify the second one: Very interested in Harry Potter, psychology, graphology, and YA fiction.

Now that I have proved to you that I’m a textbook geek, let me introduce you to a book about geeks. A book for geeks. A book that geeks will love.

The story goes like this: Graham Posner is a true blue geek, and so is his best friend, Roxy (you know it’s fiction when that happens. I’m a geek, and still haven’t found a geek best friend who can manage to stay with me all these 18 years)

Both of them happen to be Potterheads (brownie points), and that’s what brings them together as friends (double brownie points, with mint essence!).

Now, Graham has moved on from the best-friend stage, and has fallen in luuuvvvvv with Roxy. Classic story, right?

But here’s how Sarvenaz Tash adds magic to the book: the entire story is set in the backdrop of the New York Comic Con, a geek’s paradise. A few subplots here and there, and a major distraction where both Graham and Roxy find new loves (I’d love to call them summer loves, but that will ruin the suspense of the story for you. Oops!)

How do you think this done-to-death love story will end? Will Graham and Roxy sing love ballads, and start creating matching Patronuses? Or will they start fighting with each other like Won-won and Lav-lav?

Do check out this book, and I assure you this is one YA fiction book you will thoroughly enjoy. It’s a light-hearted read, with powerfully packed messages. It’s also a perfect gift for a teenager, or your Valentine, if you want to give a not-so-subtle hint about your true feelings.
~ An – Amateur -Book- Reviewer

I am writing this post towards #MagicOfLove  contest by Novemberschild. This is one of my favourite romantic novels, the other being ‘All the Bright Places’.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Shilpa Garg says:

    Love the infographic you have created, Mithila. Pretty cool. I enjoy reading YA once in a while, so I might pick up. BTW, this is a fabulus review 🙂

    Like

  2. Me Otherwise says:

    Also a perfect read for the ones young at heart?????

    Like

  3. Rajlakshmi says:

    A geek falling for a geek… Now that doesn’t happen much in geek world fiction. The geek guy always manages to go out with the hottest girl… And vice versa. This sounds interesting enough. Loved the infographics. Beautifully done.

    Like

  4. BellyBytes says:

    I love this review though I’m far from reading YA….

    Like

  5. Totally in love with that infographic. You’re one cool, smart geek – if you are one at all. Now on the review – I loved it. And I have someone in mind who’d love to read this one too. So big thank you.

    Like

  6. shalzmojo says:

    First of all WOW! That graphic is mind blowing and lime green envy is oozing out of every pore of mine, mingling with the passion pink drool and well its sort of making a colourful mess on the floor at present 😉
    I am not sure that I willl read this book, but your review is 5 stars to be sure! Love reading your zany style of writing

    Like

  7. Sreesha Diva says:

    Can non-teens who occasionally read YA pick it up too? 😛
    One geek falling for another is a great concept, especially cos in all other stories that feature geeks, they always fall for the popular, hot character. This should be an interesting change.

    Like

  8. Novemberschild says:

    I would like to express my appreciation for your dedicated participation in the #MagicOfLove contest. Wishing you good health and happiness in the years ahead.

    It had been a long time since I’d read a (reasonably) non-angsty YA book, and this one absolutely hit the spot! Sweet, fun, full of pop culture and sci-fi gems, it reminded me a little bit of Eleanor & Park but it had a charm all its own. If you’re not into the whole Comic Con scene, this might not be the book for you… BUT good news for everyone else: this is easily the best “geek” story I’ve ever read ( as a review) “Being in love is so complicated, I don’t think I ever fully realized how insane and intense it can make you feel – and not necessarily in a good way.”

    Cute and nerdy teenage love story. That’s how I would describe this novel. Fantastic narrative voice, and great characters (both main and secondary). If you’re looking for a geeky, fun, quick YA read that (despite what the blurb says) really isn’t suuuuper romance-centric, I highly recommend this one after reading your post.

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

