The Bare Necessities

 

He looks at your rosy eyes, a secret smile playing on his mind. You have caught him once or twice in the act, but he never seems to shy away. Always open to any tiny shred of love that you give him. And when you abandon him for the night, driving into the land of dreams, he still looks at your rosy eyes, wondering about the dreams he has helped you see.

What more can you expect from your humble spectacles?

 


 

She is always around, tracking your every move. She’ll remind you about that important meeting, book a flight for you, even shop for a gift for your child. After all, she is the secretary of the home.

She doesn’t shy away from the limelight, and is always a word away, as you take on those insurmountable challenges of day to day life.
Ok Google, let’s show these people what Google NowΒ is all about.


 

It always brings life to the world you see. It helps you distinguish between shirt and skirt, poison and antidote, love and hate.

It makes you laugh or cry. It makes you nostalgic or forgetful.Β It makes you racist or tolerant.

A life without colours, and you would be devoid of emotion, always.

colored-pencils-168391_960_720

First post of 2017, and I’m already excited with my plans for the blog.

Even more exciting is the news that Blog-A-Rhythm (a blogging community very close to my heart) has restarted the Wordy Wednesday prompts! Under the hashtag #BarWoWe , you will find all the awesome posts posted by participants. All these posts will be inspired by prompts given on the blog every Wednesday morning.

This Wednesday’s prompt is available here. Hurry up, get that post ready and join the weekly fun πŸ™‚

bar_ww_badege

27 Comments Add yours

  1. I read the excerpt in my mail and I was so sure that the three things that you couldn’t live without were – Books, Ice Tea and Donuts!!
    But you’ve come of age my girl . Those 3 quick wit tales almost got me fooled. I am happy to see you so excited .. 2017 has certainly started off with a bang for you with this post. hopping across to the link to read more about the Wednesday prompt – I am planning to write too and this is just what I need today

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! I mean, you totally nailed the three things in one go. Like, I myself didn’t think about the three things in this way πŸ˜‰

      Do write today on the prompt. It’s an awesome place to get the ideas flowing! Cheers for #BARWoWe πŸ™Œ

      Thank you for stopping by, Chandni β€πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Shalzzz says:

    That was fun and you totally rocked the prompts!
    P.S: Yippee, I am so excited for you as well. Please write more, Mithila. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Shalini, will surely surely write more this year ❀

      Like

  3. Obsessivemom says:

    The title of your post reminded me of Baloos song from Jungle book. I like your excitement, it’s so very infectious. And I loved those short takes. So Google Now is a she… hmmm.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed, it’s so infectious, no? Thank goodness there’s no medicine for my kind of illness πŸ˜‰

      Obviously Google Now is a she! #GirlPower πŸ™Œβ€

      Like

  4. kalaravi16 says:

    This was smart and quirky! Wonderful way to start the new year! And my, my! So you’ve already plotted and planned for the year ahead! Cool, looking forward to some fun times ahead Mithila.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Learning from the pros themselves, the art of plotting and planning πŸ˜‰

      Thank you Kala πŸ˜€β€

      Like

  5. shalzmojo says:

    Loved your wordplay- I read your blogs primarily for this quality in your writing. Participating in the prompt – do drop by! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my, that’s a sweet thing to say, and honey to my ears ❀😘

      Thank you Shalini, going right over to your blog πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Mithila, this was so cleverly woven into a single thread of necessities. I cannot do without Google. I like that she is a “she” πŸ˜€ Have a fabulous year of writing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We always need our bare necessities, no? The new age has changed the definition of necessities πŸ™‚

      Thank you Uma, and wishing you a happy new year too ❀

      Like

  7. Him looking into my rosy eyes! Uff! I never realised my spectacles could be having a romantic relationship with me and since how long – for 22 years consistently πŸ˜€ I loved the other 2 parts also but my clear favourite is the humble specs one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right! This one dedicated lover that we spectacled people have πŸ˜›

      Thank you so much Anamika for your feedback ❀

      Like

  8. Rajlakshmi says:

    Loved the witty endings of all three πŸ˜€ You sure can twist a tale πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Rajlakshmi πŸ˜€β€

      Like

  9. Loved the tiny little tales. Necessities personified. Let the incitement flow!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Arpita πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Shilpa Gupte says:

    I think I am going to look at my spectacles in a new light now! They might be madly in love with my eyes!
    And, Google HAS to be a she, for aren’t we women Ms. Know-alls? We do have all the answers, don’t we? πŸ˜›
    You are one smart cookie, Mithila!
    Wish you the very best for your 2017 blogging goals!
    Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m betting the spectacles are going to be super happy now πŸ˜‰

      Thank you Shilpa for your lovely comment ❀😘

      Like

  11. Maliny Mohan says:

    What a fun filled post, Mithila. I am new to wordy wednesday by BAR, but now that I have known about it, I am looking forward to contributing to the same next week πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, do participate in the #BarWoWe challenges! They’re really interesting, and the posts that are inspired by the prompts will often teach you new things about your own abilities πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  12. And I thought you were referring to Siri! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Till I finally own an iPhone, I guess I’ll always be devoted to Google πŸ˜ŽπŸ™ˆ

      Like

  13. Shilpa Garg says:

    Those were smart and interesting twists in the tale. Didnt see them coming!
    Must try Google Now!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. shanayatales says:

    Loved your take on the prompts. All three of them were lovely. I did not see any of them coming. πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. shwetadave09 says:

    Really liked all the flash fiction..i smiled at the Google one..i would want google to be male hehe!

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

