Bye-bye, 2016!

2016. A leap year. A horrible year. A perfect year.

Can you tell me which is the odd one out?

Obviously, the last option.

2016 has become synonymous with all things dark. (“Except dark chocolate,” butts in fabulus)

Too many disastrous news articles. Too many earth-shattering decisions. Too many instances of people showing lack of basic humanity.

Entire Sensex earnings wiped out. Layoffs at top companies. A Flipkart delivery boy murdered.

It was a strange year, and yet I turned 18 and live to tell the tale.

A handful of beautiful things happened to me this year. But the joke is, almost all of them are directly related to some sad incidents in my life.

You could say that I finally learnt to put my blue-tinted glasses away, and started to see the world for what it really is.

Or you could say that I finally learnt to accept myself the way I am, with all my limitations and weird features.

landscape-1160264_960_720

Here’s a roundup of all the lessons I’ve learnt in 2016.

  1. Things happen in cycles, and every thing has a cycle, and hence things that were bad will somersault back into their happy positionI know, this sounds very similar to that metaphor of ‘life is like seasons of the year’. But I want to attach the word ‘somersault’ to this philosophy. Why?
    Have you ever noticed a gymnast perform a somersault? The entire act is done with grace, beauty, and not even for one second does their face show anything but a smile.
    I hope you’ve got my point.
  2. Just when you think that the year can’t get worse, it gets worst.  Amen.
  3. Never depend on people for your happiness. Depend, instead, on books, yourself, chocolate cake.  Maybe this is an introverted way of looking at life. Maybe this statement will not strike a chord with extroverts. But I personally feel that people NEED to stop hanging onto others for every damn thing. Like, really. It’s friendship dude, not a symbiotic relationship. (“Yes, After three years of commerce, I still remember science basics. Whoopie.”)
    I understand the need for friendship (having experienced nothing like that in my 18 years of life), the need to feel validated (thank you Twitter polls), the need to have a group of friends to hang out with (’nuff said). All I’m saying, is that don’t be the earth to someone else’s sun. Who knows, that sun could probably grow up to be a supernova.
  4. There are some problems that have to be solved alone, and taking symptahy from others won’t solve those problems. These problems are related to the ones that revolve around you: why you feel sad, what triggers you, what sets you off, why you feel inferior/superior, why you need to grow up.
    Of course, there are some problems that cannot be solved alone, and you MUST talk to near and dear ones about them. The problem that arises here, is that sometimes we forget how to distinguish between problems that are real problems, and problems that are created due to our own hyperactive imagination. The former can be solved through discussion, 3am talks, but the latter cannot be solved unless you take it up as your own responsibility and be your own best friend. (“However much I hate that cliched sentence, ‘be your own best friend’ is actually a good policy.”)
  5. You can cry for the silliest reason ever. And still cry about it 47 days later.  Give me a Hallelujah if you agree with me on this one.
  6. There comes an enormous freedom when you realise that you don’t have to fit in.  You don’t have to rock straight hair every day. Curly, messy hair is just fine. You don’t need to wear girly tops and ripped jeans every day. Wearing a polo t-shirt and blue jeans is just fine. You don’t need to sit with a gang of ‘cool’ friends in the canteen, sharing one plate of Manchurian Rice with everyone. Sitting alone and gorging on that Manchurian Rice alone is just fine. (“Just a passing note, but I LOVE the Manchurian Rice I get in the college canteen. Thank goodness that I can still eat it, even with my braces and everything.”)
  7. I am a writer, and my words have power. Hence, I must use them judiciously.  Ranting online about some stupid book I read, needlessly adding fuel to existing fires by replying to negative comments or trolls, wondering aloud if the world is gone crazy, doesn’t do anything but make me misuse my talent. I’d rather write something useful and better the lives of people who follow me, than post negative statuses about things no one cares about.
  8. I have made many mistakes, and I dare say that I have learnt from them. I can only say that I am too scared to make the same mistakes again.  Case in point: I recently posted a fiction post that sounded pretty good in my head, but didn’t come out very fluently in writing. I am a bit nervous about writing another story like that again, as I have realised that writing emotionally charged stories is not my cup of Iced Tea.
    I guess I’m more of a humorous person. Or someone who likes to draw analogies among things that are miles apart from each other.
    (Dropping a bomb here: I will NOT be publishing my debut novel ‘The Blue Crises’. I would request you to not needle me about the reason why I have taken this decision, but just accept me as I am, a blubbering teenager with a humorous opinion about anything and everything in this world.) I will be focusing on the blog 100%, and maybe when I feel ready to write something fiction, I’ll give it a go.
  9.  Not everyone is your cheerleader. 
  10. There’s a good side in everyone, even in the so-called villains.  You need to have exceptionally good observational skills and a tolerant behaviour to understand what that good side is.
  11. A good movie can help you forget everything, and drown you into a pool that’s shock wave free, clean from any germs of worry and anxiety, and full of warm happiness and smiles.  The best movie I watched this year? Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.
  12. Adulting is a joke. We never grow up. We only have to start taking responsibility for the same actions that once earned claps and laughter from a mesmerized audience.
  13. You have got to take responsibility for your actions. Whether you’ve decided to cut ties of friendship with someone, or decided to do something for yourself for the first time, you’ve got to stand by it. Vacillating in indecision is only going to ruin your health, and cause you to lose focus.  All in all, don’t be a drama queen / king about doing something that you feel like doing. It may be the best / worst thing you’ll ever do, but life is nothing but an experiment.
  14. It’s not always easy, trying to transform your pain into a work of art, without revealing anything about the feelings you are feeling. But it is necessary to be a bit opaque sometimes, because not everything can or must be shared with everyone.

rose-1915441_960_720

On the humorous side of it, I learnt that one crore has seven zeroes in it. I never could remember this earlier. Once I entered grad school and had to work with crores of imaginary money, I couldn’t afford to miss even one zero! A tip for anyone else suffering from the same problem: One crore= hundred lakh.

I also learnt an awesome #Mumbaikar lesson : Never sit on the ‘window seat’ of a Virar local, lest you want people to give you gaalis  in their mind (or aloud). The Mumbaiyah people know what I’m talking about.

flower-garden-250016_960_720

2016 has managed to break me, glue me back up, break me again, mould me in a better way, changed my outlook towards things I used to believe were important.

And though the process was horrible, I like what 2016 has done to me. I’ve achieved the things I hoped for, in ways I couldn’t even imagine.

And for that, I’m grateful.

At the risk of repeating myself, 2016 has been horrible.  But I would like to invite you to focus on at least three things that happened in your life, that made you smile. Moments that made you happy. I’m sure there was some goodness in the villain of 2016.

Let’s usher in the new year with positivity, knowing that some events of 2016 may continue to bother us in 2017.

Be brave, be strong, keep the negativity where it belongs:

In 2016.

Happy New Year 2017!

P.S.: Don’t forget to note down who your qualtagh is 🙂 #AtoZChallenge16 #Throwback

This post is linked to @blogchatter’s prompt for a New Year Themed post. Since I do not make resolutions (never have, never will), I decided to do a round up post. Go check out the awesome posts on the same theme at this place.

This post is also linked to Friday Reflections over at Sanch’s blog. It’s the last Friday Reflections for 2016! 
 

41 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s my favourite year round up post so far .. You’ve captured so much of you . Turning 18 is definitely a big deal and you’ve handled the transition so well . 2016 was one crazy year but I guess we need one of those to really come of age .. I wish you find your cheerleader , your 3 am friends and your time in the limelight that you deserve . I also wish you finally publish that novel coz a lot of us have our heart set on it . Have a fabulous 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally agree with you on that one. I might as well learn these life lessons now, early on in the game, than be content with a rosy present and a worrisome future!

      Thank you so much for those lovely wishes, and I didn’t even know what I needed till you put it all down in one awesome line. The novel may not come to fruition any time in the future (notice the absence of the word ‘near future’), but I sure will think about getting back to fiction maybe some years down the line. I guess I need to be more comfortable with blogging, and then once I’m a bit more stronger and confident, maybe then you will see that fabulus novel 🙂

      Wishing you and all at home a happy new year 2017! ❤😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. shalzmojo says:

    I concur with Chandni – what a fantastic round up of a “horrible” year! It made me smile all the while I read it and yes humour n wit are your strong points. This post is wise beyond the year and really lifted my spirit!
    Cheers and a very happy new year!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *starts dancing on cloud nine* yes, I knew I was not the only person who believed that I’m a humourous person! Whoopee! 😀

      I’m happy that you liked this post, Shalini. Cheers to you too, and a happy new year 2017!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. shalzmojo says:

        keep smiling n writing and dancing! cheers

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Vishal says:

    I wish I was as wise as you when I was 18, Mithila (congratulations, by the way). Heck, I wish I was as wise as you when I was 25.

    Loved the lessons you have learned. #1 resonated the most with me. Yes, life is a journey of recurring cycles. Some good, some bad, but they even out.

    Here’s wishing you a prosperous 2017.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m honoured to know this, Vishal. The posts you write are so well-researched, and have this touch of perfection. And this comment coming from you, means a lot.

      Thank you so much, and wishing you a happy and prosperous 2017! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Obsessivemom says:

    Fabulous post there. So many of your lessons resonated with me – No3 yessss! I still struggle with No 6 somedays. No 10 and 12 – wonderful lessons all of them. You are a fantastic writer and I love how you’ve summed up the year. 2016 was crazy but I’d like to believe it was perhaps laying the foundation for something nicer in 2017.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, the storm before the calm. Let’s hope and make 2017 beautiful, peaceful and happier 🙂

      No 10 was a lesson that I learnt with deep introspection (which means I wasn’t holding my phone when I thought about it). Jokes apart, it’s important to even understand people who are mean to us, because they too have dreams, hopes and a family to belong to.

      Thank you so much dear for stopping by ❤

      Like

  5. saumynagayach says:

    Wonderful round-up post, Mithila! There are some great lessons to learn from you thru this post. Experience always counts and hopefully you have got enough taste of some core realities of life. And on third point, I couldn’t agree more! Our happiness lies in our hands only. As we can’t blame others for our failures, same goes with happiness also. It’s kind of a circle which we often ignore to understand and believe, whereas in heart we always know that the path have hurdles but they can be crossed with a sweet smile on face.

    Loved the post! Wishing you a very Happy New Year! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to know that you liked the post, Saumy. Wishing you a happy new year 2017 🎆😀

      Like

  6. Maliny Mohan says:

    Turning 18 and such a wise post seem like an awe inspiring combination, Mithila! Wonderful lessons each and every one of them and I could relate to a few of them too. I hope you have a better, beautiful year in 2017!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Maliny , and happy new year 2017! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Kaddu says:

    No. 14. Still haven’t got the hang of it. Of being opaque, you know. Sigghhhh.
    Happy New Year, girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s never too late to learn something new!

      Long time since I got a comment from you, dear. Do take care, and get back to posting all those awesome posts 🙂
      Happy New Year 2017 ❤

      Like

  8. deepagandhi says:

    Mithila..You are wise beyond years and such a sweet and sensible girl. I wish my girls grow up to be like you. I am sure your parents must be very proud of you. You are a great writer at this age and I am sure you will be a great novelist or author too pretty soon. We all have good and bad moments in our life but the trick is to keep going. Just be your own light and look forward and go on. Wish you a wonderful 2017. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no! *runs away* *starts posting all weird posts*
      Just kidding, Deepa. It really isn’t easy being this way, but I would never know any other way of sharing my experiences and thoughts with all you supportive readers. I hope to continue being wise and funny always 🙂

      Thank you for your lovely comment, and happy 2017 😀❤

      Like

  9. Rachna says:

    Your life lessons make so much sense and I can never cease to be amazed at your maturity and wisdom, Mithila. Hope 2017 is a much better year for you, my dear. And 2016 was special because you turned 18!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 2016 will always stay fresh in my memory. Even though I haven’t done (most) of the things that 18 year olds can (and hence) do, it still feels pretty amazing being considered as an adult with an opinion (even though I’m still considered as a child in most cases)

      Thank you so much for your wishes, Rachna. Sending happiness and prosperity your way ❤😀

      Like

  10. I love your round-up post. Yes, 2016 was crap but you managed to take the lessons out of it. And as you said, you survived! At 18! 😀 Adulting is over-rated.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Might I say that I loved the roundup post you did, month by month, in detail? ❤

      Honestly, if I had to it indepth, the whole post would have been littered with references to exams, accountancy, and academics 😀

      Thank you Sanch for your comment 😀❤

      Like

  11. Mayuri6 says:

    You wise, wise child! *please don’t hate me for calling you that*
    This is undoubtedly the best post i’ve read recapping 2016! So much wisdom, skilfully wrapped in your awesome sense of humor, MM!
    I think it could easily be a handbook, for life. I’m serious!
    Wishing you a supercalifragilisticexpialidocious 2017 and beyond. Hoping to see your name on a book cover someday soon and i’ll have a goofy smile on my face as I yell, ‘I know this fabulous writer!’
    P:S: Hallelujah! :)))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A handbook for teenagers by a teenager? I like the sound of that 😉
      I’ll add this post to my Teenagers category, hoping that some teenager somewhere will read this, and be inspired by my wisdom (your own words, ha. I’m not praising myself 😛 )

      Reading this comment, I actually have a huge goofy smile on my face, Mayuri. Thank you for taking that extra time to post this lovely comment ❤😘

      Like

  12. Neha Jain says:

    Loved this post. You said serious things in a humorous way! Happy New Year. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Neha for visiting my blog for the first time! Hope you enjoyed this post, and did run around the blog to find some more fabulous posts 🙂

      Happy New Year to you too 😀

      Like

  13. umanigith says:

    I feel like saying something but I don’t know you so well but what the hell, I am just going to say it. I am so proud of you girl! I mean who has this kind of understanding at this age. As you said you don’t adult* and I know kw many adults who don’t have even 10% of the maturity I see in your words. Bless you loads and loads! Hope you achieve whatever you set your mind and heart to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m feeling very touched by your words, Uma! Indeed, this post has been the crowning glory of 2016. I do hope I can manage to stay consistent, and keep delivering awesome content to you. The faith and belief you have in me (as you said, even though we hardly know each other) spurs me on ❤

      Wishing you a happy and prosperous new year 😀🎊

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Lata Sunil says:

    Mithila, you have a good round up post there. Tell me, who gave you gaalis on the Virar Local. How dare they 4th seat and standing folks give gaalis?

    Wish you a happy new year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I won’t say anything here, lest those Virar local people be following me here 😛

      Wishing you a happy new year too, Lata ❤😘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lata Sunil says:

        Hehe..mee too Virar local

        Liked by 1 person

  15. Wow Wow Wow Mithila
    It’s the best roundabout post that I read , it made me smile a little, then more and then more.
    Isn’t that a Happy new year should be all about.
    Love and Hugs
    Pooja

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Always, a new year has to be started on a positive note. Keep smiling dear 😀

      Thank you for the comment 💙

      Like

  16. upasna1987 says:

    All these learning coming from a Teenager.. Applauding and Surprising too. I wish I had such wisdom at your age but then, everyone’s journey is different. I too learned how blaming someone for our reactions creates uneasiness. 5th point is so valid for me. 9th point is a good way of telling- You cannot and should not please everyone. Loved the start with Somersault and the end with leaving the worst where it belongs- I loved it. Happy to visit your Blog Mithila- a wise Teenager, I must say 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I agree. Everyone’s journey has been different, and that’s why it’s our imperative as bloggers to share our life lessons 🙂

      The somersault is my favourite part too, as I realised that lesson on my birthday. I had written a detailed post on that lesson, but decided to put the shorter version here for the roundup post.

      Thank you so much, Upasna! I hope you enjoyed your experience here at my humble a-blog 💙

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Modern Gypsy says:

    I absolutely loved each and every word that flowed out of your keyboard here. I’m still so in love with hoe beautifully you’ve rounded off the year that I’m sitting here rather speechless. Ditch the blue crisis and just keep giving us brilliant blog posts, please!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Mahn, I love you for saying those sweet words! I really feel that I’m better at delivering posts like these, and I feel happier when working on brilliant blog posts for you readers! 💙

      Thank you so much for stopping by, dear. I really appreciate the comment 😀

      Like

  18. Shilpa Garg says:

    That’s a fantastic yearly round-up. I can relate to almost all the learnings that you have gained from your experiences.
    Here’s wishing you a fabulous 2017. May this be your year!! Cheers ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Shilpa, and wishing you a happy 2017 too ❤😘

      Like

  19. Sreesha Diva says:

    OMG, Mithila, have I told you before that you amaze me? You at 18 and me at 30 are the same person! In fact, you may be wiser than I am.
    2016, don’t even get me started on it. But for me it’s been that way since the end of 2014, and only now am I seriously considering gluing myself back together. I’m gonna keep all your lessons in mind!
    We should meet up. I’m considering a move to Mumbai – I may, then again, I may not; I’m waiting to see how things pan out (am I jinxing it by speaking about it too soon?) If I do, we should plan something!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *sends you glue, map to Mumbai, more glue, and infinite hugs* Do take care, Sreesha. Stay strong, and yes, do keep all my lessons in your mind (just as I’m doing the same, all the wisdom from your comeback post ❤)

      Don’t worry about jinxing things by saying them out loud. Things that are meant to be, will always be. 💙

      Thank you so much for hunting down this post and reading it, dear. Much love and hugs once again 😀😘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sreesha Diva says:

        I’ll take all the hugs I can get 😀

        That’s what I tell myself to convince myself – if things are moving too slow or if I get impatient – I say what’s meant to be will be. Fingers crossed!
        Hugs to you too xoxo

        Like

And now, it's time for you to share your thoughts! Go on, your thoughts and feedback are valuable to me.

