Frozen

What if you could freeze time for an hour, for everyone but yourself?

What would you use that one hour for?

You could probably use it to bathroom-sing, in your living room. Or you could use this precious one hour to say a lot of precious words to the ones you love, without waiting for that awkward acknowledgement or reciprocation of love.

You could use this one hour to even do something that you really want to do, but don’t end up doing because you are afraid of people judging you.

You could use this one hour to graffiti your sibling’s cupboard with the name of the band he/she hates the most.

You could use this one hour to eat up all the cakes available in a bakery. (I’m hoping you’ll be as honest as Hermione Granger and leave the necessary money at the till. In new currency, please)
Here’s what I would do with this one hour of frozen time. It’s not a long list, just three things I would love to do in this one hour. (Each task allowed twenty minute slots.)

1. Go shopping 

In the first twenty minutes, I’d like to go shop for a nice dress.

As you all may know (and if you don’t, remember it for the further posts), I’m a true blue introvert. That means I hate shopping. Because I dislike crowded areas. That mad rush of searching for something nice to wear is not my cup of tea.

I also hate shopping for another reason: I can’t make decisions spontaneously. And hence, choosing between a blue dress with a white border and pink lace versus a pink dress with a blue border and white lace versus a white dress with pink border and blue lace can stress me out like nothing else. Even permutations and combinations aren’t so stressful. (“Math nerds, hi-fi if you understood the lame joke.”)

So I’d love to shop when there’s no one else moving around. Granted, there will be people in the shop, frozen like statues. But that won’t freak me out as much as the real shopping scene does.


2. Read a book

While sitting on the Bandra Worli Sea Link.

Seems weird, ain’t it? But I’ve had this wish for a really long time. If I could, I would have fulfilled it during the Mumbai Marathon day. But the dodo that I am, I am scared of people wondering that I’m a complete nutcase.

I would like to read this book ‘We Are Still Tornadoes’ by Michael Kun and Susan Mullen again, while at BWSL.

This book is the most fuzziest, cutest YA book I’ve ever read, in a format that I crave to communicate in: letters. The book is based in 1982, and the protagonists communicate via handwritten letters. Imagine the beauty of it! Combined with cool winds and a mind-numbing view.

3. Be a rock star

I don’t know how to play a guitar. But listening to a lot of rock music has made me fantasise about standing on a huge stage, groupies calling out my name (wait, are there boy groupies?), while I sing/scream/shout/yell lyrics and strum my guitar like a pro.

Of course, if I do this when people are not-frozen, I will get a shower of shoes (heels, sandals, flats, formals) on my awesome head and shoulders.

And if I do this when no one is listening or watching me… Let me say that I will have ticked off one thing from my bucket list.


Well, that’s it folks! A post after a long break from blogging. I’m linking this post to the Friday Reflections linky at Sanch’s blog.

I’m promising to write regularly (I don’t know how it’s defined in your dictionary, but in mine, regular means: once a week). I’ve also planned a schedule for the type of posts I will be writing every month. I will mostly start implementing it in 2017, and I hope to not waver from my top-secret plan.

Oops, did I mention my top secret #GearUp2017 plan here?

Now that you do know about it, I would really appreciate that you spread the word across that I would be writing at least one fiction post and one poem every month!

Oops.

What’s it with me giving spoilers at every possible moment?

My lips are sealed now, but I hope yours are not. Do comment, share and like this post!

Till next week,

Wannabe Rockstar

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Interesting thought this.

    I would probably gather all the books I can in that one hour and eat as many macarons as I can without having to share them.

    You know what, the wannabe rockstar would look pretty awesome in a nice dress 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Macarons. Mmm. I think I’ll join you in that expedition of hunting books down. And then enjoying a well deserved treat 😀

      Really? I wore a pretty nice dress this Christmas, and yes, the wannabe rockstar did look a little more pretty than she intended to 😉

      Thank you Soumya for dropping by! ❤

      Like

  2. I hate shopping too and the reading a book on the BWSL would be fab. The closest I’ve come is at Band Stand – but that’s kind of normal, no? Actually with the speeds people travel on the sea link, they might not notice someone doing this!
    Good luck with your plans for 2017, Mithila.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gimme a hi-fi! I haven’t read a book anywhere near the sea, because the sun usually shines so bright and it’s hard to do so without the eyes watering. Maybe I should take my Kindle for a midnight walk and do some reading, eh?

      Exactly! But it would be too risky to sit and be engrossed in a book when the traffic’s passing by. Especially today!

      Thank you Corinne for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  3. Shopping and reading – any day 😀 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Does everyone vanish for an hour or are we just walking around them frozen in time like a hour-long Mannequin Challenge? I guess it really doesn’t matter all that much. Is it strange that I cannot think of anything that I do not do because of people?

    Like

    1. I guess it would be something like the Mannequin Challenge. But the thought of it makes me feel creepy-ish.

      That’s a good sign. It either proves that you are super confident, or that you don’t care about what other people think about you!

      Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  5. Hmm…seems to be there have been a number of science fiction stories on this topic. It’s an interesting thought exercise. Maybe I would read a trashy magazine; something I wouldn’t want anyone to catch me at.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, that’s a good one.

      Like

  6. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Interesting wishes, Mithila! I would like to express my feelings to people I love…that’s it. Nothing more.
    And, yes, I would love to read the book you mentioned. I loved the idea of communicating through letters…the whole idea leaves me feeling nostalgic…No one writes letters these days! 😦
    Will surely pick up that book, M!
    All the very best for your blogging plans for 2017!

    Like

  7. Dashy says:

    Haha that’s a fun list! I guess what I’d want the most is go drive on the roads, and preferably the hour’s at night…’cause I can’t imagine it possible to do that any time soon. With all the frozen people driving would be a lot more easier… I’d ride and explore as many cities or places I can in an hour. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. But what if the cars are frozen in one place too? #IDontEvenKnowHowToDrive so I guess I’ll join you on this roadie adventure!

      Thank you Darshana for stopping by 😀

      Like

  8. Eli Ert says:

    Happy to see you back:-) And what a funny post to read- and think about as well—- an hour lasting forever …thrilling idea…. I wuld proably be outdoors in the nature somewhere – just enjoying and not wanting to let go….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Being with nature for sometime without having to attend to anyone’s calls or messages of incessant demands for that one hour would be truly bliss. An amazing choice, Eli!

      Like

  9. shanayatales says:

    I hate shopping, so much so that I wouldn’t want to shop all by myself either. In fact that I dread above all else. I just wish someone can stock my wardrobe for me to appear half decent. Sigh.

    The reading, oh yes, that I am in for. Always. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Say hello to personal shoppers! If I could, I would have hired one back a long time ago. It would be so cool to wake up to a new-clothes-everyday look with shoes to match it with.

      Totally guessed you’d be in for the reading part! Did I mention before that I love your book reviews? They are just so amazing 🙂

      Thank you for stopping by, dear ❤

      Like

  10. sanchthewriter says:

    Haha…love these ideas! The rockstar one is pretty cool. I reckon if I could, I’d go to the local bookstore and read all the books even if it takes days! Nice plans for 2017! Good luck with them 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, then maybe we could use Hermione’s time turner to get that frozen one hour back every day of the week 😀

      Thank you Sanch, and wishing you all the very best too ❤

      Like

  11. deepagandhi says:

    I love shopping, reading and eating 😀 So at least 2 match with u. Enjoyed reading it Mithila:)

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

