What’s so Fantastic about this movie? #MovieReview

First things first. I’m sorry I didn’t publish a review about the Cursed Child.

That was because of two reasons:

1. I didn’t like the script.

2. I wouldn’t be able to do justice to the review, without watching the breathtakingly awesome screenplay. (So I heard)

But ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them’ is a magical movie. It’s something I never expected, in a mind blowing and fabulous way.

There’s the trademark J.K. Rowling humour, well-thought-of characters and brilliant plot.

And the beasts. The suitcase. The Beasts. Newt Scamander. The BEASTS!

And not to forget, the awesome Demiguise shaped desserts in Kowalski’s bakery. #SpoilerNo1

I won’t do this review like a traditional review (because I don’t know how to do a traditional review), but I’ll take you through some of the thoughts I felt while I watched the movie. And after.


fantastic_beasts_and_where_to_find_them_poster

By Source, Fair use.

The character I loved the most, was obviously, Newt Scamander. What strikes me about his personality, is his ability to think spontaneously. It comes from deep knowledge, and not only that, but also learning that knowledge from experience.

As a student, I find it really important to have knowledge. But having experience, like Newt, is what counts when your skills are put to the test.

That’s the reason I had solved ten model papers to prepare for my HSC exams. #JustKidding

Coming back to Newt, I find it interesting that he has a Muggle animal name, and is in love with all magical beasts. The suitcase scenes were gorgeous, brilliantly designed, and so alive. And the Imax 3D effect made it seem like the animals were just popping out of the screen, waiting to welcome you into their magical world.

I almost started looking around for twitchy green sticks when I left the theatre. #PickettIsBae #GoBowtruckles

Speaking about Pickett, the Niffler is another brilliant character. And I crown him the best beast of the movie. No doubt, the Niffler had the greatest screen time compared to all the other animals, and for all the right reasons. He looked so cute! That scene in the bank locker, when Newt shakes all the gold out of the Niffler, was too hilarious.

And this is not only my opinion. Almost everyone cooed and aahed when the Niffler came on the movie screen for the first time. He’s just super cute!

Cuteness aside, let’s get some siriusness into the blog post.

The award for most Superb Acting goes to Credence.

I kid you not, I’ve never seen someone drool-cry in a movie before. That’s the way they should depict crying scenes. Those fake, sliding tears, that slip past the cheek oh so beautifully must be done away with.

But not everyone can do it like Ezra Miller. His vulnerability and fear seeped right through the screen and into the hearts of the viewers.

Credence’s role in the movie was not clear at all from the beginning and till the interval. I started getting a few hints after that. I originally thought that his sister was unleashing the Obscurus. Credence being the one doing that, that was the most amazing twist ever. #SpoilerNo2

Queenie was super charming. Tina and her work ethic, very commendable, yet frowned upon (she got them all in prison, just so that she could get a post in the Investigating team!)

But that’s just me being cynical. Tina Goldstein is a charming character, and I look forward to the sequel when Newt comes back to New York to give her the book. (That’s a no-brainer, right? The sequel is going to be that, right??)

Oh I give up.  I love Queenie more than Tina. Not everyone can read minds, and I’d love to have her read my mind. I’d also love to have a conversation with her. The Kowalski-Queenie-first-meeting type. #JustKidding

The cliffhangers were amazing, and the mention of Leta Lestrange made my jaw drop right down to the floor, along with the empty popcorn tub. #MajorSpoiler

Personal theory: Leta Lestrange could be Andromeda Tonks, Nymphadora Tonks’ mother. Views?

 


Ending this post with a few lessons that I learnt from this movie.

1. Biases exist, because of lack of knowledge, and the resulting lack of tolerance. The Second Salemers are a case in point. Ma hardly knew why she whipped the death out of Credence everyday, nor did she understand the true power hidden inside the wand she snapped so unceremoniously. I wonder whether she would have accepted Credence’s weirdness, if she knew that that very wand could get her and the kids a warm place to stay, and good food to eat.

2. Your knowledge should be at your fingertips, not stored in a dusty suitcase in your head. It could save your life, and the lives of many others. I salute thee, Newt Scamander.

3. Sometimes, the things you yearn the most could be the death of you. The only thing that will save you from falling right into the depth of your supposed happiness, is the remembrance of the slightly sad memories that accompanied the happy ones. And then you’ll know which way to go. (The scene where Tina and Newt were sentenced to death, and were taken to that ghastly pool-cum-death-chamber.)

4. It’s better to give someone a chance to share what they feel, instead of making a decision you’ll regret later. Madam President of MACUSA, thank you for nothing.

5. Some things just have to be done. Some people you have to let go. But when you let go of someone, do it in a way that will not only benefit you, but also benefit them. (The scene where Newt drops off a suitcase of silver occamy eggs in front of Kowalski, to fund his bakery dream).


So, how do you feel about ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them’? Apart from the amazing animations and the brilliant new world that JK Rowling has opened up to us, what did you appreciate?

This awesome Potterhead is all ears 🙂

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Interesting little review there, with some important takeaways.
    I do want to discuss further, but I’m too bunged up with a cold to be able to do it justice.
    I enjoyed the movie, but I only thought it was a few yards short of being fantastic. Of course my ‘old-age’ cynicism could have something to do with it too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *tries to contact Professor Snape in the afterlife, and asks him for a potion to cure the cold* Do get well soon, Sid!

      ‘A few yards short of being fantastic?’ Maybe my youthful exuberance made me see it as super fantastic 😀 #JustKidding

      Do come back and share your thoughts once Prof Snape sends you your potion via owl mail! Thank you for the feedback too 😀

      Like

  2. I liked your nontraditional review Mithila! I actually liked what you have learnt from the movie part of the post I would love my son to read this and learn from your review about those things. Yes you need to have your knowledge at your finger tips and for that you need to have an in-depth knowledge of the same.
    I haven’t watched the movie yet, now since you seem to have liked it I would put it in the list for this week.
    Menaka Bharathi has recently published http://simpleindianmom.in/diet-thyroid-imbalance-dos-donts/

    Like

  3. Rajlakshmi says:

    I have got to watch this… After reading your review I am going to think only about beasts at my workplace rather than work. The trailer itself was so amazing… I can’t wait to see and read this one.

    Like

  4. Absolutely adored the movie. After The Cursed Child, I was truly skeptical but JKR has proven yet again that anything she has control over turns magical ❤ I could go on and on and on. And Pickett is truly bae ❤ OMG I love that Bowtruckle. Especially the conversation Newt has with him nearing the end 😀 Agree about Credence. I thought it was his sister but as always, JKR, the master storyteller strikes. Queenie only made me wish for the millionth time that I were a Legilimens :/ Kowalski was adorable as well. OMG I could go on and on and on 😀

    P.S: You might want to put up *SPOILERS AHEAD* in the title. You're giving the entire plot away 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OH OH I forgot the part where my heart broke, he kept screaming “don’t hurt those beasts, they are not dangerous, please!!” </3

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have a very sensible logic why JKR decided to let Cursed Child be the way it is. Maybe she didn’t want fans to pursue that part of the story, and instead wanted us to focus on the Fantastic Series? Just a thought, what do you think?

        I agree with you, the beasts were truly fabulous. And Queenie is goals 😍

        Your Potterhead vibe made me feel this bubble of happiness, the happiness I feel when I meet a Potterhead who completely knows, loves and lives the HP life ❤

        Hehehe, spoilers are the punishment for all the people who didn’t watch the movie in the first week 😛

        Thank you dear for your awesome comment 😘

        Like

  5. Dashy says:

    Mithila, you’ve just written every damn reason why one should watch this movie and reading this has made me fall in love with it all over again. JKR is beyond words … I repeat like you said…the BEASTS!! Loved Newt and Tina, and I was so mad when Madam President said Kowalski had to be obliviated. The movie made me miss Hogwarts and the wizarding world so much, I wish they’d brought in more familiar ground in there. But all in all … it sure was super amazing ❤ #potterlove

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kowalski getting obliviated was the saddest part, but the fact that he remembers all the animals and makes those desserts, and he remembers Queenie was the best magical loophole ever 😁

      Like

  6. I had tears in my eyes when he screamed that out. *sniffles* *hunts for tissues*

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

