Preservatives

Books and dolls
gather dust.
Crayon scrawls,
tiffins rust.

Living proof
of old times:
Joy, bulletproof.
Guiltless crimes.

Never did
they force us
to change, kid.
Yet, the bus

stood waiting.
And we jumped
aboard, forgetting
roads that bumped

The windows give
fresh air and
always forgive
hurried transfunds.

Views thrilling:
sand, beach, waves.
Hearts recalling
childhood faves.

Β© Mithila Menezes, 2016.

Happy Kiddies Day!

I just realised that I had not written a poem to celebrate Children’s Day last year. And of course, I needed a break from studies. So, I picked up a pencil and started jotting down a poem in my notebook.

This poem is dedicated to all the beautiful kiddies, specially the ones who have grown into adults, as a reminder to find bliss in everything that happens in life. Use some preservatives today, capture those beautiful memories in glass jars, and don’t forget to look at it, appreciate it, and spread theΒ happy memories!

Here’s me sharing a picture of a few books I could find in my cupboard. Try and figure out which was my favourite book back then!

 

 

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Vidya Sury says:

    How sweet Mithila! Lovely ring of nostalgia in your words! Happy Children’s Day! You’ve got good taste in books! Love, Vidya

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Vidya maam πŸ˜€β€

      Like

  2. Let me guess! It must be the The Musicians of Bremen – just guessing. You have successfully instilled nostalgic feelings Mithila. Happy children’s day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Musicians of Bremen is a sweet sad story, but unfortunately I never quite understood it when I was younger. πŸ™‚
      Thank you Menaka πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. vinodinii says:

    Aww…this is so sweet! Had me nostalgic too. Hope you enjoyed Children’s Day. πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to hear that, Vinodini! Thank you πŸ˜€β€

      Like

  4. *sniff, sniff*
    so much nostalgia ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *passes along tissues*
      I know right!

      Like

  5. Shilpa Garg says:

    Aww! That’s so sweet, Mithila. I think, 100 ways to make pocket money must be your favorite? Or is it I-Spy Quiz Book?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You guessed right! I have managed to read 100 ways to make pocket money more than a hundred times, and still haven’t managed to earn pocket money by any of those ways πŸ˜›

      Thank you Shilpa πŸ˜€β€

      Like

  6. kalaravi16 says:

    Dum-di-dum, what a lovely poem! Yep miss those enchanting days of childhood. I loved Pinnochio. Is that your fav?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pinocchio seemed too depressing to me when I read it for the first time, but second time, I started understanding the story!

      Thank you Kala πŸ˜€β€

      Like

  7. Me Otherwise says:

    Nostalgia… I remember this Musicians of Bremen!!! Thats your favourite???

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nope, it isn’t 😁
      But it’s an awesome story, better than all the ‘happily ever after’ stories we had as kids!

      Like

  8. Nostalgia galore, little one!
    I-Spy Quiz book! Love!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that I-Spy Quiz book has a lot many followers, eh?
      Thank you Sid! πŸ˜€

      Like

  9. Tarang Sinha says:

    ‘We jumped
    aboard, forgetting
    roads that bumped.’

    I loved these lines. Lovely composition! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Tarang! Coming from you, it means a lot πŸ˜€

      Like

  10. Parul Thakur says:

    That’s such a happy post and look at your collection, Mithila. super cool πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked it, Parul πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

