52 Week High

Oh so today is the day,
I turn eighteen.
If I could find a way,
to not be mean.

I’m not really mean
Just a bit more self-aware.
And so totally keen
On not being a baby bear.

I’m not a baby bear
With a classical naivete
I’m a sturdy mare
Put your money on this bet.

It would be a safe bet
With a guaranteed profit
Never will you have met
A cool mind, a sharper wit

Coolness and wit
In daily convo isn’t enough.
Know when to shut it,
or you’ll learnt it tough.

landscape-1160264_960_720

Learning lessons is tough
Remembering them even worse.
But when the journey is rough,
You’ll need more than just your purse.

Keep aside those purses
till you learnt to refill them.
Endure those painful curses.
Never forget, you are a gem.

Never mind, I’m a tiny gem,
But the cornerstone indeed.
Creme de la creme;
A flower among the weeds.

Flowers don’t grow among weeds.
But when they do, voila!
Would you forget your needs
Of perfume and beauty, la-la-la?

Beauty, perfume and ooh-la-la;
Glamour and glitz burn bright.
Eyes get shut tight, na-na-na.
What can you see then, tiny mite?

You can’t see anything, tiny mite,
except the folly of your ways.
So find a way to sit tight,
and selfishly enjoy the days.

sunset-1081739_960_720

Surf them high, the shiny days.
Or jump into the water.
Slide down to the deepest cave,
But walk right up, no matter.

Stupid things don’t matter.
The ones you forget next morning,
are certainly not worth a bother.
Keep slaying, keep grinning.

Slaying and loving and grinning.
Eighteen years of this blessed life.
Thank you for being
In eighteen years of my life!

child-817373_960_720

Eighteen years of my life
And so many more to come.
Will I be a super cool wife
Or live in a billion dollar home?

Dreams of a billion dollar home,
and a smart job to match.
The graph of a day is a dome;
Ups and downs, a barren patch.

Remove the ups, the downs, the patch
Look at what is within me.
Will I be the best catch?
Or will I screw things up, hee-hee?

Things are going to change soon, whoopie.
There’s no longer the safe cocoon
Of ignorance and bliss, sir ji.
Now it’s all sun, stars and moon.

photo-montage-488177_960_720

The sun, the stars, the moon
Don’t get days or nights off.
Neither will I, later or soon.
Growing up is super tough.

Being young, and growing old is tough.
Maintaining the balance is necessary.
But when the going gets rough,
You can be two people, don’t worry.

One and the second, don’t worry.
It’s not as difficult as it seems.
Shrug off one, wear the next in a hurry.
See how the world beams.

The world cheers, hoots and beams.
You smile, waiting to change back
into the old; your silent screams
above the wavelength crack.

Trying to be audible, my voice will crack,
I wonder whether I’ll always be happy.
will I always choose from the stack
of good and bad, the not-so-crappy?

Good or bad, not-so-crappy
I think I’m smart enough to make a choice.
But will I get addicted to being unhappy,
all because of the wrong inner voice?

silhouette-1695960_960_720

Right and wrong inner voice
sit like two innocent devils.
Looking at my decisions rejoice.
Both missions accomplished, the rebels.

Missions unaccomplished, because of rebels.
Will I make my parents proud?
I hope to meet their standards and levels,
And not lose my identity amid the crowd

Lost money and lost identity in the crowd.
I feel like aeons have passed.
The farm has just been once plowed,
but the forgotten memories have amassed.

jam-1168054_960_720

A box full of forgotten memories amassed
Stuck in a jar of marmalade orange
Sticky, sweet, sour, special, stressed
Known to everybody, yet for me, strange.

Strangers feel strange.
And known ones seem so too.
Lessons learnt never change,
and will stay with me all through

Eighteen candles today I blew.
Music, happiness, bliss, the entire fanfare.
I do hope that I do more than just do.
I promise to write more than castles in the air.

© Mithila Menezes, 2016.

Photo credits: Pixabay


Okay, this is the first poem I’m publishing on the blog that has copyright and all that jazz.

Okay, so this is ‘supposedly’ my first post as a mature, independent, smart-thinking adult.

But who am I kidding. I’m still the same old stupid fabulus who uses emojis in her blog posts. 😀

Join me as I embark on this beautiful journey to infinity and beyond. In these few weeks of being incommunicado, I have been hatching plans on how to stay true to myself and my blog. I have been trying to solve the universal question: Where should I take my blog next?

Of course, the answer to this question is forever evolving, just like I am. But I have a few pointers and hints and tips, to take me along safely to blogging bliss. Stay tuned for some really cool blog posts, which will get you thinking: “How does she even think of stuff like this?” 😛

And yes, Happy Birthday to Me! 🙂

 

 

23 Comments Add yours

  1. Shailaja V says:

    What a lovely entry into the new year for you. There’s so much wisdom in one so young. I’ve days this before and I’ll say it again. There’s a beautiful maturity to your writing. It only gets better with time. Happy birthday dear Mithila. May the odds be ever in your favor.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! First comment on my first post as an adult by none other than you! ❤

      I feel like I have grown up the most this year. Growing everyday, figuring life out, making decisions on my own, it's all difficult, yet it's easy. Specially when you have the right people by your side! Thank you Shailaja for all the support you've given me right from 16 to 18 and onwards. Words just aren't enough to express my gratitude ❤😍😘

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lata Sunil says:

    Happy birthday Mithila.. welcome to adulthood.. never let go of the child in your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will always be a child! 😁

      Thank you Lata 😀❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Rian Durant says:

    Happy Birthday, Mithila! The poem is lovely and let me tell you that for some of us smart adulthood is just a myth (believe me, I’m almost twice your age). ^^ Keep dreaming and being fabulus. Good luck with your blog and everything else! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Smart adulthood is a myth, wow. Seeing bits and pieces of it here and there, and I hope I don’t succumb to being the opposite of smart 😦

      Thank you Rian for stopping by! 😀❤

      Like

  4. Wishing you a very very happy dear Mithila. This was such a “grown up” poem and it felt so nice reading it.

    Have a wonderful year and life ahead and stay 18 forever! Lots of love!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Soumya 😀❤

      Like

  5. Rachna says:

    This is such a beautiful post, Mithila. And I second Shailaja in saying that your writing is so mature and lovely. May you be blessed each day of the rest of your life. I can’t believe that you are about 3.5 years older than my elder son and I can relate to you just like a friend. 🙂 Here’s wishing you a fantastic birthday. Fly high!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s an honour to be like a friend to you, Rachna 😀❤

      Thank you for the warm wishes 💙😘

      Like

  6. nabanita says:

    First of all, many many happy returns of the day. Welcome to adult life. I loved your poem and smiled all the way to the end. Know what, I couldn’t help but wonder you looking back at this post when you are, say, 28. How lovely, isn’t it? Lots of love and all the best. Remember, the world is yours to conquer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I wonder how I would feel about this poem, when I look back at it after 10 years. I guess I’ll just laugh at my naivete then. 🙈

      Thank you Nabanita for your warm wishes ❤😘

      Like

  7. Happy Birthday, little one! And welcome to the big club (it sorta sucks at times – so be sure to retain those teenage spirits) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Surely will, Sid! Thank you so much 😁

      Like

  8. WritefullyYours says:

    Wow! Are you sure that you are only 18? Because you writing sure is far mature than that :).
    What a beautiful way to enter adulthood ! Very well written.
    Happy Birthday and have a fabulous year ahead 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Prateek 😀🙌

      Like

  9. Shalzzz says:

    Happy birthday, dear Mithila! And that’s a brilliant poem to write today as you step into adulthood. But I would ask you to always have and cherish that child in you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *stores inner child in airtight jar* See, now it will never go away 😉

      Thank you Shalini 😀❤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Just when I thought you couldn’t get better, you write this!! Wow!!
    Welcome to the supposedly adult life, you’ll soon realise none of us ever grow up!;-D
    I loved this ;
    Never will you have met
    A cool mind, a sharper wit
    Agree 100%
    Wishing you awesome years ahead, MM!:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Being with all the blogger peeps online I kinda figured out that no one even grows up 😛

      Thank you so much Mayuri for your warm wishes ❤😘

      Like

  11. Happy Birthday Miss. Harry Potter !!

    Oops..Got it wrong this time again !! 😀
    And a wonderful write and I must say you are doing great..
    Welcome to adulthood and beware; its crazy at times..
    But yes; that’s the thrill ..
    Live your life to the fullest..
    Smile lots 🙂
    Help others smile 🙂
    Be kind and yes; take care too..
    & always keep a eenie meenie bit of a child in you ..
    The innocence is essential too 🙂

    Stay blessed !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha that’s cool 😁

      Thank you for the poem-comment 🙌 I really appreciate it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. he he 🙂 lots welcome 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

