Hyde and Sick

She picked up the phone, tentatively.

“Hello?”

“Hello ma’am. Would you be interested in booking a home loan with Free Money Bank?”

She slammed the phone down, partly disgusted and partly scared.

‘Should I call mom up? She always calls me on Saturdays at 8 am sharp.. It’s two hours late already!’ Nina thought to herself.

She picked up her chocolate croissant and bit into it. The cocoa sprung her into action. She picked up the receiver and started dialling.

tring, tring… tring, tring…

“Hello.”

“Mom! Who’s this? Is it you? What happened?”

“Hahahahaha. Is this cute elderly lady your mom? Then I must give you some news. I’m Mr. Sick. And your mom is under my custody.”Β 

“Why? I mean, remove her from your custody! You don’t have any right to take her like that! She’s my mom!”

“I think I can, sweetie. Ms. Hyde, aren’t you?”

“Look, how much money do you need? I’ll pay you right now!” Nina looked at the list of thing she wanted to ask mom. A cheque for Rs. 25,000 occupied the number one position. That would have to wait, for now.

“Hahahahahaha. I don’t need your money, Ms. Hyde. I’ve already got my reward!”

“What do you mean?”

“I’ve got a cup of blood-tini, a box full of healthy white blood-loops and enough vitamins and minerals to last for a long time!”

“What? Mr. Sick, you’re doing something wrong. I will complain to the police about you.”

“Police? They can’t find me. They never will. The only ones who can find me are the ones who never come to me on their own!”

“Stop speaking in riddles. Tell me, what do you want?”

“I don’t want anything, my dear.”

Nina heard a shriek from behind, “Call the doctor!”

“What was that? Mom? I’ll call the doctor,” Nina’s hands started trembling. She was scared of Mr. Sick now.

“No, no, darling. The doctor would give me a lot of pain, and then I’ll have to learn new ways of earning my livelihood. Please don’t do that!”

Nina was in a fix: She herself was struggling to get a job in the city, and here was a fellow job-hunter, trying to make ends meet. Should she call the doctor?

But her mom was more important than Mr. Sick. Obviously.

“Then go to some retraining session, or take the risk of getting sacked. I don’t care!”

Nina slammed the phone down. Picking up the address book beside the telephone, she searched for Dr. Med. The number was written in bold, and she saw her mom’s neat handwriting printed next to the number – “Call immediately if Mr. Sick comes home.”

Her fingers trembled again, as she dialled the number. Was she too late?

“Dr. Med speaking,”

“Doctor, you’ve got to help me. Mr. Sick is in my mom’s house. Could you please go over to her home? Soon?”

“Calm down, dear. Can you give me your mom’s name?”

“Mrs. Hyde. A-123, Spick and Span Apartments, Infinity Road. Please do hurry up!”

“Really? Spick and Span Apartments? That’s a change. He rarely goes there.”

“Oh no! I mean, yes. He is at my mom’s house. Please do get him out of there!”

“I surely will, ma’am. Please do not enter your mom’s house for a while, till I call you back.”

“Thank you doctor, thank you.”

She placed the receiver in the cradle, relieved.

She picked up her croissant and took a second bite. The cocoa in it made her think, again.

‘What if Dr. Med gets caught by Mr. Sick? I should go and make sure that everything goes okay!’

Throwing her croissant back on the plate, she ran out of the door.

stethoscope-840125_960_720

Nina arrived, panting, outside the door of her mom’s apartment. She could hear raised voices, but they both sounded masculine. ‘At least mom is safe,’ she sighed in relief.’Or was it a bad sign?’

She knocked loudly on the wooden door, too frightened to even speak.

A few seconds later, the door opened.

But the person in front of her wasn’t a human being.

She shrieked and stepped back in fright. A huge black circle floated in front of her, with a hole in the middle. But when the circle spoke, he sounded almost human.

“Hello, Ms. Hyde. Glad to have your acquaintance. I’m Mr. Sick.”

“AAAARRGGHHHHHH!!!” Nina ran down the steps as fast as she could, constantly looking over her back to see if Mr. Sick was following her.

But she couldn’t close her ears tight enough to escape the loud boom of his voice.

“When I find you, I will catch you, and you willΒ regret the day you met Mr. Sick! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!”

 

 

 


 

Pardon me for the childish story, random capitalization and crazy double-entendre-ish names. Being sick plus being thoroughly motivated to write makes you do weird things, indeed.

Stay safe, stay healthy. And eat apples, because that’s what keeps Mr. Sick away! Why would anyone want to keep Dr. Med away, anyway?

 

 

 

27 Comments Add yours

  1. umanigith says:

    That was fun reading πŸ™‚ Not too much of thinking was required but it made me smile at the end of it :))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to hear that! Thank you πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Beat About The Book says:

    That was thoroughly a fun read. I do hope her mum was fine and that she was brave enough to go back in. Meanwhile you keep Dr Med close and get well soon.

    Like

    1. Mr. Sick should set out in search for a new victim. Maybe then there will be a happy reunion between mom and daughter 😁

      Thank you dear, will surely get well soon and write better posts β€πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. Mayuri6 says:

    That was a fun read! Loved the namesπŸ˜€
    Wishing you a speedy recovery !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right! I first thought of the title, and then set about writing the post 😁
      Thank you Mayuri ❀

      Like

  4. pythoroshan says:

    Haha… if this is you writing while you are sick, you need to get sick more often πŸ˜€
    This is brilliant, smart and so so creative! Its Dr Suess without the rhymes as far as imagination goes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no! I’d take dull writing over horrible sickness any day. 😁

      Thank you so much, doc 😎

      Like

  5. Interesting little concept. See, even sickness brings out good writing from you. Easy to read, but as a concept, it is so much more.
    Nice one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *preens feathers* *prances around like Percy Weasley*
      Thank you Sid! The whole post evolved from the title only. There was no pre-planned plot at all πŸ™ˆ

      Like

  6. Rajlakshmi says:

    Now that’s a very innovative story … gripping I have to say… kept me wondering till the end. Hope you get well soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Rajlakshmi! Already feeling better reading your comment πŸ˜€

      Like

  7. Dashy says:

    You rockstar! How do you manage this even when you’re sick? Thoroughly enjoyed this cute story Mithila. πŸ˜€ Get well soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dedication, dedication, dedication. And also, getting shouted at for exerting myself is the reward I get for writing such a nice post πŸ˜›
      Thank you Dashy!

      Like

  8. He he so fun and cute .
    The characters, title and the writing main.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Dixita πŸ˜€

      Like

  9. tejasvimys95 says:

    Hehehe.. Awesome! Interesting till the end.! Get well soon. Eat apples haha!

    Like

  10. inquisitivegeet says:

    It sure was gripping but I was waiting to know what happens in the end! You know how to play with your readers mind Mithila!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a first! Thank you so much, Geetika πŸ˜€

      Like

  11. Haha…Absolutely fun filled this! Especially loved the crazy double-entendre-ish names πŸ˜‰
    Hope you are feeling better now. Take care!
    Aditi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had done something earlier just like this, which involved the crazy names. But that post didn’t take off as good as this one!

      Am surely feeling better now, Aditi. Thank you πŸ˜€

      Like

  12. Rachna says:

    This was actually a fun read, Mithila. A very different way of writing. Hope you are feeling better now. I have the sniffles today and am feeling a bit under the weather. Hope that Mr. Sick goes away soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s really crazy no? This weather. Almost everyone is falling sick. 😯
      Hope Mr. Sick runs away from you too! πŸ˜€

      Like

  13. Me Otherwise says:

    Mithila, your posts do have that bit of humor or satire that i love so much. Hoping I never have to encounter Mr. Sick in my life…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Woah! You should see the real-life me. I can’t crack a decent joke to save my life. #PowerOfWriting 😁
      I hope so too! Thank you dear πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Shailaja V says:

    Well, Mr. Sick certainly inspired a creative story, I see πŸ˜‰ Hope you’re better now, Mithila!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He did, indeed!
      Yes, I’m feeling better, thanks to your Twitter tip πŸ˜€πŸ’™
      Thank you Shailaja πŸ˜ƒ

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

