Chaos and more chaos

There is a part of me that’s always calm. And there’s one part of me, that’s always chaotic.

Welcome to my world, a world in which I live. I live to hide things, or to take care of them, whichever way you prefer to look at it. I take care of things, just so that someone finds them when they need it. When things are needed, you can never find them, because of the chaos within me. The chaos within me is a result of an absence of calmness in my owner’s mind.

I’m just a lowly cupboard. Hiding things. Protecting them. Storing things in a chaos, keeping up the pretends of calmness reigning, both inside and outside.

 

cabinet-575369_960_720

 

I’m a blue cupboard, and I’ve got five shelves. The bottom-most shelf is for all the junk my owner no longer uses. That shelf is in an eternal chaos. She just dumps all her old notebooks, bled-out pens, torn socks, stained mobile covers, out-of-order earphones, empty chocolate wrappers, and of course, drained-out Ice Tea bottles.

The next shelf above this one has all her bags. A school bag (something that rarely sits in here), a sling bag (are there two? I think there are three), a party bag (it rarely goes out), and some old purses.

The middle most shelf is the one she fawns over every day. What else would you call this type of behaviour? She stands parallel to me, pulls out her clothes from my shelf, looks at them for three seconds, and then just dumps them back in. This continues four more times (an average figure). And then she walks away, without even folding the neglected quadruplets. I take them in without a question, adding to the chaos within.

The second shelf from top is full of her books. This shelf is clearly divided into two sections- books she’s never going to read, and books she needs to read (but never reads until it’s exam time). I really want to tell her that the books in the former section are getting agitated, and are staging an uprising. They are planning to switch places with the books in front, and also shred those books into neat long strips. Alas, the chaos in this second shelf is too much for me to handle. Every night, I try to calm them down, and that’s what makes them sleep peacefully. But the next morning? They’re all pumped up on book-adrenaline, all ready to show the world where they belong!

Talk about waging a war to keep things calm. Phew!

The topmost shelf. It’s the shelf she loves the most. It has all her memories in them. I can’t share specifics, because of cupboard-owner confidentiality. But yes, she does visit that shelf every once in a while, cleans it nicely, rearranges the things within them, and that’s what makes her calm.

Now you see? I can be calm in some places, and chaos in the others.

cupboard-349935_960_720
Source for both images: Pixabay

Linking this post to Write Tribe’s Friday Reflections over at Sanch’s blog. Have a great Friday! 

27 Comments Add yours

  1. Aadhira says:

    I could hear my cupboard whining the same.. 😉

    Very interesting read! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Aadhira 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Debbie D. says:

    A metaphor for life. 🙂 Nicely done, Mithila.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Debbie 😊

      Like

  3. Dashy says:

    Nice read Mithila, I like how you segregated everything into calm and chaos so neatly. Awesome idea. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what cupboard’s are for, isn’t it?
      Oops, did I just call myself a cupboard 😛

      Thank you Dashy! 😊

      Like

  4. This post read to me like a poem…Who knew a cupboard would speak….I especially liked the shelf of memory…..I am a guilty owner of a similar cupboard…..:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If I might take a minute to get philosophical, I will say that each and every thing speaks to us. It’s just that we bloggers have the incentive to actually listen to them speak, and get some cool blog post ideas 😀

      Hahaha, the weekend should help getting some calmness into the chaos! Thank you Sunaina 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. mackenzieglanville says:

    such a beautifully written and clever piece. I believe so many can relate to this #Fridayreflections

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mackenzie! 😊

      Like

  6. RamyaRao says:

    Like life itself. The thoughts are such a chaos and then at times at peace. I loved the way you framed it all. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish our brains had cupboards. So we could neatly keep our thoughts in the appropriate cupboards. And when we wanted to think of something, we could just go and sit in that cupboard, and not flit from one thought to another!

      Thank you Ramya 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. RamyaRao says:

        Haha! Just that life ain’t that easy. The more you grow up, the more messier the thoughts are but I think at a certain point we know what to do but live in denial. Sometimes.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m learning some amazing wisdom from you! I would do well to keep this in mind, as I grow older every day! ❤

          Like

  7. When i read, i can related to every line. Because it is you who is posting ! :*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Woah! Thank you Dixita! Your comment made my day 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Lata Sunil says:

    That was great take on the word Chaos.. beautiful writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lata! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  9. sanchthewriter says:

    I love your take on the prompt! It may be just a cupboard but sometimes, life’s like that too! Both my cupboard and life will testify to that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Analogies in life are so easy to find, but when they strike us, they just seem so enormous and breathtaking!
      Glad you could identify with this post, Sanch! Thank you ❤😊

      Like

  10. Shailaja V says:

    I’m almost scared to come over and look into your cupboard now for fear that I may faint out of shock looking at the lowest shelf. 😉 But what a beautiful piece of writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha, I’ll just have to use the Vanishing Spell on the contents of the last shelf and save you 😁

      Thank you so much Shailaja ❤😀

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Nice take on calm n chaos. well done.

    Like

  12. aseemrastogi2 says:

    That’s a lovely way to humanize how a cupboard would actually feel considering the way we dump our stuff left, right and center. Our lives are also like that in more ways than one, ain’t it? Beautifully written and expressed :).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You put it perfectly, Aseem. Glad you liked it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Leen says:

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

