Wishful thinking | Day 6 #BarAThon

Saturday, 6th August 2016

Dear Diary,

Our science teacher taught us that eating carrots is good for our eyesight as it is strong in Vitamin A. I wish I had learnt this info a little earlier.

Our gym instructor told us that some seven exercises are good for making eyesight strong. Why didn’t I spend more time doing them instead of reading books under blankets?

Maybe I could have spent a little less time on the TV. And spent more in the garden, watering plants. Or more time cooking with mom. Or even gone for a walk with Grandma. Or just spent a little less time with the TV.

Anyhow, it doesn’t make any difference to reality now, does it? I have to wear my specs anyway.

flowers-728811_960_720

I wonder why Popeye never wore specs. Or for that matter, none of the superheroes wear specs. At least they don’t wear them when they’re in their avatar. None of the actors in Avatar also had specs.

Even Taylor Swift wears specs only to look geeky.

Why then, do they always look beautiful with specs? And why do I end up looking like a buck-toothed beauty with over-large eyes?

But there’s one thing I’ve always wondered about: Harry never got a chance to watch much TV, nor did he get any books to read or video games to play. How did he get specs then?!?!?!?!

Oh wait, his dad had specs.

Danggit, I can’t think no more.

Good night!


6

Hola! In case you’re wondering whether this post is a throwback to one of my diary entries, let me correct you.

I’m participating in Blog-A-Rhythm’s Bar-A-Thon! This entire week, I will be posting daily, based on the prompts given at BAR’s blog. Each post will be presented in a diary entry format. I have selected a theme to base my posts on, and the theme is “The Spectacled Journey”.

Many of us may or may not remember those weird days when we were diagnosed as myopics and given glasses to wear. This theme celebrates those fearsome days, which now serve as fodder for jokes and nostalgic memories.

I do hope you enjoy these posts! Do follow my blog to stay in touch with the recent posts in this series, and don’t forget to share the comment love!

Here’s a link to yesterday’s post, in case you forgot to wear your lenses to read them!

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. 😀 harry and TS specs 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Liked the logic of the HP specs? 😀

      Like

  2. Parul Thakur says:

    Ha ha! I like carrot in the form of halwa 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t we all 😁
      Thank you Parul ❤😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beat About The Book says:

    That last bit made me laugh out loud. I love this girl. And her dad too. I love how he talks to her and how she talks of him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She’s cool, no? I’ll surely show her this comment 😁
      Thank you dear ❤😀

      Like

  4. Jaibala Rao says:

    Well I ate a lot of carrots and still got Specs. Maybe it was the TV. I guess it is always the TV.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too! But in my case, the culprit was books 😀

      Thank you Jaibala 😀❤

      Like

  5. I am not much of a carrot fan and work a lot on laptop and still no specs… so how is that?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm. That’s something to wonder about. Maybe it’s hereditary? I’ve heard people say so. Will surely do some research on this and get back to you 👍
      Thank you Shilpa 😀❤

      Like

  6. Rajlakshmi says:

    I am sure you look like a smarty with specs on. How can one not look worldly wise!! Wearing specs was like my ultimate dream to look all smart and intelligent 😀 Keep eating your carrots and spinach 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. But at a young age, the only thing your classmates can think about is that you are a ‘chashmish’! Once we grow older, our perceptions change, and wearing specs seems like a cool thing 😀

      Like

  7. I know what is to be called chashmish. My classmates were brutal, they called it 4 eyes. Love your specs and they will love you back. They are teaching one of the valuable lessons of life – to disregard what others say because they will have something or the other to say anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True that. And then there’s nothing stopping kids from actually saying all these things, and this affects both: the kids who have to bear this ‘torture’, and the kids meting it out.

      Of course, the lesson you have mentioned is truly valuable, something that takes people ages to realise!

      Thank you dear 😀

      Liked by 1 person

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

