Tiny feet | Day 5 #BarAThon

Friday, 5th August 2016

Dear Diary,

Have you ever played this trick with your specs? Just remove them for a minute, and keep them at a 15 cm distance from your eyes. Focus the glass on your shoes, and voilà! You’ve got tiny shoes!

shoes-505471_960_720Oh wait. Silly me. You don’t have specs!

My friend taught me this trick today in school. She had been wearing glasses since the fourth grade. She knows so many tricks. And she promisedthat she will teach me a few every day!

But who actually wants tiny shoes? I want heel shoes! But dad says I’ll trip over them and break my glasses along with my nose. So maybe I’ll just have to wait till I get my lenses.

Coming to the topic of lenses, here’s what the same friend warned me about:

1. You can’t sleep with your lenses.
2. You can’t have a bath with lenses.
3. Your lens could shift from where it is actually supposed to be. And then you need to start searching for it immediately, which is really painful. She gave me the example of searching for a needle that has fallen in the slushy mud. EEEWWW!!!
4. If you lose it, you won’t be able to find it. Coz you are blind. And you won’t be able to search for your glasses either.

Ugh! If wearing lenses is such a pain, I’d rather relax and wear my specs only.

After all, it’s not rocket science to figure out how to wear specs.

Good night!


5

Hola! In case you’re wondering whether this post is a throwback to one of my diary entries, let me correct you.

I’m participating in Blog-A-Rhythm’s Bar-A-Thon! This entire week, I will be posting daily, based on the prompts given at BAR’s blog. Each post will be presented in a diary entry format. I have selected a theme to base my posts on, and the theme is “The Spectacled Journey”.

Many of us may or may not remember those weird days when we were diagnosed as myopics and given glasses to wear. This theme celebrates those fearsome days, which now serve as fodder for jokes and nostalgic memories.

I do hope you enjoy these posts! Do follow my blog to stay in touch with the recent posts in this series, and don’t forget to share the comment love!

Missed yesterday’s post? Here’s the link.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Beat About The Book says:

    Lenses are a pain. When my friend would drop hers we were all supposed to freeze lest someone step on them, and then be down on our knees looking for them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Been there done that! Honestly, there should be some kind of tracking device attached to these lenses. Maybe something magnetic or which reflects a particular colour of light. Both of these tech might affect the lenses, that’s true. But wouldn’t it be good and easier if we had such lenses 😀
      Thank you dear 😀

      Like

  2. Jaibala Rao says:

    I have been wearing lenses for twenty years now. Yes you cannot sleep with them on, unless you are extremely tired and just doze off unintentionally, and I have manged to have a bath with them on and even swim with my lenses.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! Sleeping and bathing with lenses is almost equivalent to eating chips with braces. Though they are prohibited, we somehow find a way to do these things anyway!

      Thank you Jaibala for your feedback 😀

      Like

  3. I still remember those days clearly when I was diagnosed with Myopia. I was 9 and hated to read the alphabets in the mirror in the doctor’s room. Let me add two more disadvantages of lenses to your list –
    1. Do not wear them while driving on expressways. On expressways, you drive relatively fast and if you lose the lens from one eye on the way, it might become the last drive. It happened to me once. With the left and right eyes working on 2 different focal lengths, I had a hell of a time that day.
    2. Wear your specs on your wedding day otherwise with all the harsh light falling into your lenses, your eyelids will find themselves fluttering with the speed at which Humming bird flutters its wings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Whoa! My eleven year old girl’s classmate surely would love to know about these new facts too!

      I didn’t even think about the expressway possibility. That’s surely crazy and scary at the same time! But do make sure you keep a set of specs in the car too!

      The wedding lights situation could also be applicable to any stage event, right? No doubt the events don’t need us to be there for a really long time, it makes sense to be careful.

      Thank you for sharing these tips here, dear! 👍😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. kalaravi16 says:

    That is the plain and simple truth! Specs are better any day, so long as you are comfortable and can see perfectly well, why should anything else matter!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True that! Isn’t it great that my eleven year old heroine figures this out at an early age, instead of worrying about what others think about her? 🙂
      She’ll grow up to have good self image issues, I hope!

      Thank you Kala 😀❤

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

