Caught red-handed | Day 4 #BarAThon

Thursday, 4th August 2016

Dear Diary,

Today mom caught me red-handed reading a book under the blanket.

I had a torch, I said in defense.

But you didn’t have your specs on, my mom replied.

berry-197078_960_720

The thing is, it’s too heavy to wear these specs. I’m tired of my friends laughing at me. I’m tired of being called a ‘chashmish’ every time. My eyes have started looking like Dobby’s eyes.

Before you start berating me, let me tell you the reasons why I did it
1. I was supposed to take my afternoon nap and then complete my homework.
2. I didn’t want to complete my homework or sleep.
3. My eyes were paining too badly. Actually, they were just too dry because I was feeling sleepy.

Did I mention that the book was ‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child’?

Now, dear diary, tell me what’s wrong in this sort of behaviour?

But mom yelled her lungs out at me, confiscated my book and told me she would return it only after a week.

What do I do now? All my friends are going to be discussing the book by tomorrow. And I had just got the book today!

Should I sneak in to mom and dad’s room tonight and get the book out? She must have kept it in the same place where she had hidden the box of Dairy Milk chocolates last month. Is it worth a try?

I’m too angry to write anything right now or to think clearly. So,

Good night!

4

Hola! In case you’re wondering whether this post is a throwback to one of my diary entries, let me correct you.

I’m participating in Blog-A-Rhythm’s Bar-A-Thon! This entire week, I will be posting daily, based on the prompts given at BAR’s blog. Each post will be presented in a diary entry format. I have selected a theme to base my posts on, and the theme is “The Spectacled Journey”.

Many of us may or may not remember those weird days when we were diagnosed as myopics and given glasses to wear. This theme celebrates those fearsome days, which now serve as fodder for jokes and nostalgic memories.

I do hope you enjoy these posts! Do follow my blog to stay in touch with the recent posts in this series, and don’t forget to share the comment love!

In case you missed reading the previous post because you weren’t wearing your glasses, go back and read it here now!

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Jaibala Rao says:

    Girl you are bringing back so many memories, and right now I am having a laugh at all the antics I pulled then. We must meet someday to talk about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Really, no? For all of you oldies this age is like a million years ago πŸ˜› #JustKidding

      Thank you Jaibala πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Been there, done that! Well there were so many times when I used to put on my blanket and keep reading all the time πŸ˜€
    I love this series of yours Mithila!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      So even the people without spectacles do it, right? Hmm. 😁

      Thank you Reema for the feedback πŸ’Ÿ

      Like

  3. Yep girl! haven’t we all been there! Actually till you are caught by mom reading under the blanket you don’t qualify as a die hard reader! so there!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True! It’s like one of the tests every bibliophile has to go through: ‘Do you have the guts to read under the blanket under the threat of a possible angry mom snatching away your book?’
      The only acceptable answer is YES! πŸ˜€
      Thank you Shubhangi πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. inquisitivegeet says:

    Haha.. My friend is too occupied reading The Cursed Child.. again! And you my dear.. I just hope you find it where your mom hid Daily Milk πŸ˜›
    All the best!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I totally envy my eleven year old girl. She’s got her hands on the book before me. πŸ˜›

      Thank you Geets πŸ˜€β€

      Like

  5. RamyaRao says:

    I am doing exactly that right now and gotta stop doing before my lady hops in to check in me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Woah! So some thing never change even if we grow up, eh? πŸ˜›

      Thank you Ramya πŸ˜€β€

      Like

  6. Shilpa Garg says:

    I still read under the comforter on phone or Kindle. And that’s when KG wants me to sleep and not ‘phodo’ my eyes at night! πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I wonder why reading a Kindle in the night is acceptable, and not reading a book under the blanket with a torch. It adds up to the same thing, no? πŸ˜€

      But the Kindle is a complete saviour, specially with the adjustable brightness! I can go on reading in the night without disturbing anyone πŸ˜€

      Thank you Shilpa πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  7. pins & ashes says:

    Did you finish reading? I did.. let’s discuss and with Harry we have to have a torch under the blanket to read πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Sadly, only my eleven year old got the book to read πŸ˜€
      Will read the book sometime soon. I’m still trying to figure out whether people are liking the book or no πŸ˜›

      Like

  8. Rachna says:

    I hated wearing specs too. I was called chashmish all the time. Now, I don’t mind them at all. And yes, I’ve also read a book by the torch. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      #SpectacledHeroines Unite 😁

      Thank you Rachna πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. 😝😝😝😝
    Good she scolded you πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    Atleast now I am bit relaxed that I am not alone being scolded

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope my eleven year old heroine doesn’t read this, or else she’ll not want to share the Dairy Milk chocos that she found along with the book πŸ˜›
      Thank you Dixita πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. hahah…Children and their ways. Moms and their tantrums. I did not realise you have created a series which revolves around specs. I am reading them all right now. Other bloggers will have to wait for their posts to be read by me. High five from another specky.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It often feels like when we were kids, it just made sense to do exactly the opposite of what we were supposed to do, just to understand what we were missing out on πŸ˜€

      I’m really happy that you liked the series so much, dear. Glad to have such #FabFollowers like you β€πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Rajlakshmi says:

    I have done that so many times … my mom and dad both used to be so furious but I know secretly they were quite relieved that I was reading a book and not chatting on phone with some boyfriend πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One evil better than the other, eh πŸ˜›
      Thank you Rajlakshmi β€πŸ˜€

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

