Fragile lives | Day 3 #BarAThon

Wednesday, 3rd August 2016

Dear Diary,

Our eyes are super fragile. I used to get headaches before I got my ‘Golden Frames’. But now, they’ve disappeared.

But what’s also disappeared, is my dream of being a pilot.

I’ll also never be able to become a soldier, but then I never fulfilled the height requirements anyway.

The joke is, I always took my eyesight for granted. I never imagined that it could be such a fragile thing. That’s till I started seeing things blurry.

I could only distinguish colours on the TV screen. If I focused really hard, I could read the words in my textbook. I couldn’t even write a lot in you, unless I actually wrote with my nose stuck to the book. And you remember the worms on the blackboard, no?

I wonder if I will ever be able to see without specs again. Even Harry kept wearing specs after he learned magic, no? Maybe there are some things that even magic can’t solve.

But then, there’s also another problem, a much more major problem. Of having fragile eyes.

Being blind.

busan-1113822_960_720

I’m half-blind in that sense. I wouldn’t equate myself to being like them, but I’ll say this: If I were given an option of being blind or being half-blind, I’d rather be completely blind.

Why?

Because then I wouldn’t miss what I had already experienced. And lost.

Don’t worry, dear diary, I’m feeling okay.

Good night!


3

Hola! In case you’re wondering whether this post is a throwback to one of my diary entries, let me correct you.

I’m participating in Blog-A-Rhythm’s Bar-A-Thon! This entire week, I will be posting daily, based on the prompts given at BAR’s blog. Each post will be presented in a diary entry format. I have selected a theme to base my posts on, and the theme is “The Spectacled Journey”.

Many of us may or may not remember those weird days when we were diagnosed as myopics and given glasses to wear. This theme celebrates those fearsome days, which now serve as fodder for jokes and nostalgic memories.

I do hope you enjoy these posts! Do follow my blog to stay in touch with the recent posts in this series, and don’t forget to share the comment love!

If you missed yesterday’s post on “What You Don’t Know about Specs till you Wear Them”, click here.

19 Comments Add yours

  1. But then again, with glasses you can experience them again. So why not half-blind over full-blind? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Think of it from the point of view of someone who’s just got specs. My eleven year old protagonist wears specs that she doesn’t like, and she’s not used to them right now. For her, not wearing specs would be better than wearing them and seeing the world, however immaturish that would sound. It’s that stage of transition that receives the most friction, doesn’t it? It’s only when we get older that we resign ourselves to a spectacled fate. (Or maybe wear lenses).
      Hope that answers your question (and shows that I’m not as crazy as that eleven year old 😛 )

      Liked by 1 person

  2. inquisitivegeet says:

    Don’t worry, you! You’ll be fine and so will your eyes be! Once you grow up or whenever your dad allows, you can get laser done! Sure eyes are such precious little things and so fragile they are!

    Well written Mithila 🙂

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      My eleven year old heroine is reading your comment, and feeling a little better now. After all, she’s finally seeing the silver lining 😀

      Thank you Geets! 🙂

      Like

  3. Shilpa Garg says:

    The prospect of worsening sight scares me. I shudder to think about the life of a legally blind or half blind person.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True. It’s a sad story either way. Even if you lose your sight completely after spending most of your life with your eyes, it’s as painful as not having sight from birth.

      These instances make us grateful for the little things, don’t they?

      Thank you Shilpa 🙂

      Like

  4. Beat About The Book says:

    Aw sending hugs to the little one. But who knows geeks with golden glasses might be the new cool? Fashions are unpredictable.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Might be, no? I think she hopes and prays for the exact same thing every day 😀

      Like

  5. Parul Thakur says:

    Guess what, when i wore lenses for the first time I cried out of joy. I could see the world without glasses.
    And do you know, myopia gets better with age? Mine is. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Myopia gets better with age? Little eleven year old girl doesn’t know this! 😀

      Thank you Parul! I hope the posts are really nice and nostalgic 🙂

      Like

  6. Suchitra says:

    The fragility of eyesight…I like the take on the prompt. I always associate fragility with life as most people do but I like how you present a more myopic (haha no pun intended – I mean it in the focused sense) view of a larger concept. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Damn, I liked the pun! Because it actually shows that my eleven year old protagonist is immature, and doesn’t know much about anything! And hence her view points could get myopic!

      Thank you Suchitra! Do catch up with all the posts of the #BarAThon 🙂

      Like

  7. kalaravi16 says:

    Tough deal girl! A unique take on today’s prompt! Never realized having glasses could be that bad!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Kala 💟😀

      Like

  8. Those worms on the blackboard, for me those were Sanskrit words which the teacher wrote in a long train without the roof over the words, the danda over the shabd, coaxed me to ask my parents to take me to the doctor to get me glasses. Over the last 23 years, my myopia has only worsened and I have had my share of half-blind, full-blind thoughts. Now I don’t care. Jaane wale ko kaun rok saka hai aakhir 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally! Sanskrit script must have been so hard to decipher, specially as you had to get specs at an age when you had just started learning the language (am I right?)
      I wish I could say that my myopia hasn’t worsened. But when it magnifies up to 4-5x times, one can’t really deny it!
      And yes, it feels good that my eleven year old girl is not alone in her philosophical thoughts 😀
      Thank you dear 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am curious to know who is your eleven year old girl.

        Like

  9. Rajlakshmi says:

    Lasek will solve everything … don’t worry … your dreams are still intact 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve gotten too attached to my specs to let go of them. My eleven year old heroine doesn’t know about LASIK yet! 😀

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

