What you don’t know | Day 2 #BarAThon

Tuesday, 2nd August 2016

Dear Diary,

Here’s a list of things that I don’t know about spectacles. Told to me by dad. 

  1. I have to clean my specs regularly, or else I’ll have trouble looking at things. It would feel like looking through a dirty window.
  2. Spectacles are easier to scratch than mobile phone screens. When I asked dad why we don’t put scratch-guard’s on them, I got no answer.
  3. I can’t change the colour of my spectacle frames everyday. I was so hoping that I could get rid of the golden frames!

    reading-glasses-452543_960_720

  4. When I asked dad whether lenses were a viable option, he said that I don’t really want lenses at such a young age. I wonder why!
  5. I should keep my specs in one particular place every night before going to sleep. Or else I’ll never be able to find it in the morning when I wake up.
  6. I tried performing the Impervius spell on my specs while having a bath. (For those of you who don’t know what this Harry Potter spell is, it’s a spell that makes anything waterproof.) It didn’t work at all!
  7. The glasses on the specs fog up every time you exit a air-conditioned room. Just experienced this when I was leaving the classroom in the break. Trust me, dear diary, I didn’t even know what happened. I started feeling my way to the washroom, much to the delightful laughter of my classmates 😦
  8. Dad also reminded me that i’ll have to be careful while playing games in the recess or in the PE period.

That’s all for today. I’ll keep adding to this list when I experience more ‘important lessons for spectacled geeks’.

Good night!

2

Hola! In case you’re wondering whether this post is a throwback to one of my diary entries, let me correct you.

I’m participating in Blog-A-Rhythm’s Bar-A-Thon! This entire week, I will be posting daily, based on the prompts given at BAR’s blog. Each post will be presented in a diary entry format. I have selected a theme to base my posts on, and the theme is “The Spectacled Journey”.

Many of us may or may not remember those weird days when we were diagnosed as myopics and given glasses to wear. This theme celebrates those fearsome days, which now serve as fodder for jokes and nostalgic memories.

I do hope you enjoy these posts! Do follow my blog to stay in touch with the recent posts in this series, and don’t forget to share the comment love!

If you missed yesterday’s post, check it out here.

31 Comments Add yours

  1. You dad seems ‘spec-wise’ 🙂
    The scratch point is so on point!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, no? There are a few anti-scratch glasses available, but I doubt any of them would have something in common, or something better than a Gorilla glass. Let’s hope and pray someone thinks of making scratch guards for specs soon 😀
      Thank you Sid! 🙂

      Like

  2. RamyaRao says:

    Hahaha! I was told the exact same things when I got my spectacles. You seriously tried that spell? Which wand did you use? I am curious. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I have my Hazel and Phoenix feather wand 😀
      Thank you Ramya 🙂

      Like

  3. Shalzzz says:

    Haha. Oh, dear God! You tried the charm? And scratch guard? Too funny. Loved it.💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s the whole point of being a Potterhead. We have wands, we know spells and we can use magic 😉

      Thank you Shalini 💟

      Like

  4. Ha ha this is cute. You didn’t realise your specs fogged over when you came out of the AC.. that’s funny.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      In reality, I didn’t realise it till I attended a competition that was held in an AC room. That was three-four years after I got my specs 😀

      Thank you dear 🙂

      Like

  5. Mayuri6 says:

    Scratch guard on specs! Now THAT would be a fab idea!
    This was such a fun read, MM!;))))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I know right! I think all of us spectacle people should sign a petition or something and email a scientist. Or whoever makes this technology. 😀

      Thank you so much, Mayuri! 🙂

      Like

  6. pythoroshan says:

    Ya. I have broken my specs in games period during school. I have also studied under the shower with specs on during school exam time and ended up with wet glasses 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I can hold neither of the above to my credit! *hides face* 😀

      Thank you doc! 🙂

      Like

  7. Jaibala Rao says:

    Haha.These are lessons I learned the hard way. I wish I had a list that my dad had given me. I still lose my Spec one every day, and I have been using them for over 20 years now.

    Like

  8. inquisitivegeet says:

    So many lessons for the little girl! Lenses are way too complicated, maybe that’s why he refuses them to you! But he won’t be able to do it for long 😛

    Enjoyed reading your post 🙂

    Cheers
    Geets

    Like

  9. 😂😂😂😂 the spell which one was that ? Enjoyed reading …
    Yes why can’t we get lenses at young age, change frames everyday or why isn’t the specs have a number so that we can call it when it is misplaced 😯😯

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Impervius. Remember Hermione had used that spell? In Prisoner of Azkaban? 😀

      These are things to wonder about, no? Lenses are not good at a young age (I don’t know why). But changing frames everyday? That seems possible, no!

      The last one is too good! We should do that for all the products we own instead 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Inderpreet says:

    I liked the info about the glasses and since I have been using them for 25 odd years I heart you! I had switched to contact lenses quite early and have used them since 1999 or so. Now I use Acuve daily disposable and life is great as I hate that fogging thing that happens. You should try them, keeps the power stable.
    Imagine that happening as I exit my car for some work!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s a really long time Indy! Even for specs and for wearing lenses! You must be a total pro at wearing them in a hurry, I can safely assume! 😀

      Daily disposable lenses do seem cool, but I’m not really sure if I’ll be able to manage them. Maybe a few more years needed?

      Thank you for stopping by, dear! I do hope you enjoy the entire series 🙂

      Like

  11. Important points when you are wearing specs right? And wish you could make specs waterproof, stain proof and unbreakable? No, no, no.. not unbreakable.. How then would you manage to get a new, stylish frame? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, unbreakable would be totally not allowed. That’s the only excuse we can use to get new specs 😀

      But this little eleven year old hasn’t reached our level of experience, no? She still thinks that she doesn’t want to go back to that optician again! 😀

      Thank you Reema! 🙂

      Like

  12. kalaravi16 says:

    Good tips here Mithila. My daughter wears them at home but prefers contacts while going out. In fact she is so comfy with them she forgets to remove them altogether even after hours of wear! Sigh!! Like your theme, its as unique as you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      If I had lenses, I’d do the exact opposite *hides face*
      Yes, lenses get too comfortable some times. But make sure she doesn’t wear them and fall asleep! It hurts too much the next morning!

      Thank you so much, Kala! I hope to pull off this theme and bring more beautiful posts your way 🙂

      Like

  13. pins & ashes says:

    I’ll keep all of these in mind. Now my love for specs is decreasing so much of work to maintain one! Mm scratch guard 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Don’t worry, by the end of this theme you’ll run away screaming from specs 😀

      Thank you dear 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Vidya Sury says:

    🙂 There is a scratch proof coating, Mithila, and it really helps both in terms of clarity of vision and keeping the lens scratch-free longer. I wear progressive lens and when I started wearing specs, I wondered about some of these points! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      But that is added to the lens itself, right? Something like the Gorilla Glass added to the phone?
      My little eleven year old heroine was thinking on the lines of something like a plastic scratch guard. Will notify her about this new development! 😉

      So my points are valid for all varieties of specs, I can safely conclude! 😀

      Thank you Vidya maam! 🙂

      Like

  15. If not for Vidya’s comment, I would have laughed at the scratch guards. I have never read Harry potter and I am quite old now but I think it would be a sin to die without reading all the books in the series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a sin that will cause Satan to punish you to the worst hell!!!
      Just kidding 😛
      It’s never too late to read the books, and I’m sure the little one will also enjoy the stories in a few years time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. M sure when D will come of age to read Harry Potter, we will read the series together.

        Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

