Stranger than fiction | Day 1 #BarAThon

Monday, 1st August 2016

Dear Diary,

My favourite spectacled hero is Harry Potter. Spellotaped spectacles and circular  frames made me want to my very own spectacles! But never in my wildest dreams or made-up stories did I imagine actually getting one.

Yes, I was called a myopic person by an optician today.

After all, some things are stranger than fiction.

I finally told mom that I couldn’t see anything written on the blackboard clearly. The alphabets and numbers looked like worms. Worms who had become fat because of eating too much potato chips!

Mom took me to the Shop of Glasses today evening. You remember, no? I go there every day on the way back home from school, and stare at all the different designs of the spectacles? Mom told me that the man sitting inside is called an optician. And he is like a doctor of the eyes.

But I remember studying that a doctor of the eyes is an ophthalmologist! Phew!

display-1313664_960_720

Even though I used to stare lovingly at the specs and shades in the shop, I did not know anything about how glasses were actually sold. Would mom bargain and get the blue specs that I liked, or would she select the boring golden frames?

We went into the shop. Mom explained to the optician that she thought I needed specs. He smiled at me gently, and took me into a room. I never saw this room through the glass pane of the shop!

The optician asked me to sit down on a chair which was too high for me. I had to read alphabets from a screen that was placed on the opposite wall. Easy!

But the optician kept making the alphabets smaller and smaller, the way our class monitor writes the ‘Quote of the Day’ on the blackboard. I couldn’t see anything!

He placed a heavy frame on my nose next, but there were no glasses in it! He started randomly picking circular discs of glass. He placed them in front of each empty eye-hole. Sometimes he placed one, sometimes three.

With one particular combination of two discs for the left and three for the right, I could see the smallest alphabet clearly! Yippee!

After this was done, we went out of the room into the shop. The optician told my mom that I had a ‘number in negative’. What does that mean, dear diary? I have learnt the number line in school, but I really have a hard time understanding integers! Is this ‘number in negative’ related to integers?

I heard mom gasp loudly. Maybe the number is not good? And then she started shouting at me, “You watch TV all the time and look what happened! You’ll have to wear soda-water bottles now!”

I replied, “How can I wear soda water bottles? They’ll be so heavy! And no one wears them nowadays!” At least I hadn’t seen anyone wear huge Duke’s Soda Water bottles on their eyes!

Mom told me to select a nice frame. I pointed out to the blue one, but the optician said that I couldn’t wear rimless specs initially.

But I don’t want to wear rimful specs!

Wait, it’s full-rim specs, no?

SO I now have to wear golden specs for the rest of my life.

GOLDEN SPECS!?!?!?!?!?!

I’d sooner dissolve and become a piece of glass than wear those golden specs.

And now, diary, I’m enjoying my last day of squinting to read and write. I’m enjoying the last day of my life without golden specs.

Good night!

 

1

Hola! In case you’re wondering whether this post is a throwback to one of my diary entries, let me correct you.

I’m participating in Blog-A-Rhythm’s Bar-A-Thon! This entire week, I will be posting daily, based on the prompts given at BAR’s blog. Each post will be presented in a diary entry format. I have selected a theme to base my posts on, and the theme is “The Spectacled Journey”.

Many of us may or may not remember those weird days when we were diagnosed as myopics and given glasses to wear. This theme celebrates those fearsome days, which now serve as fodder for jokes and nostalgic memories.

I do hope you enjoy these posts! Do follow my blog to stay in touch with the recent posts in this series, and don’t forget to share the comment love!

40 Comments Add yours

  1. Ishithaa says:

    Hahaha… I used to wear specs and I hated it. Thankfully now I don’t need them anymore 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Then maybe you’ll love these posts. Thank you Ishitha 🙂

      Like

  2. Beat About The Book says:

    Oh it’s a big big day isn’t it? I got my glasses when I was doing my graduation but my son got it when he was 3. What a trial it was getting his eyes tested. You brought back some crazy memories.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      When you were doing grad? Then it must be a reading glass, no?
      But as young as 3 is also too soon.

      Like

    2. fabulus1710 says:

      Do stay tuned till the end, there are a few tips coming up for spectacled people soon 🙂

      Like

  3. Enjoyed reading …
    My favourite you are :*
    The way you began with Harry potter like specs that is my fantasy too and I have oneposy in draft related to specs ..will blog it once completed.

    My experience at the specs shop is same

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      See, every beginning is auspicious when you take the name of Harry Potter 😀

      I’m glad you could relate to the post, Dixita :*

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes HP is Preciouscest gem

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Parul Thakur says:

    Fabulous theme and I loved your story. Mine was similar when I was 10. yes – just 10 when i started having headaches and was diagnosed myopic. Well, it started with those plastic frames and many in between. 🙂 You made me think of those days, kid. Good one for the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Then you and I share this: even I got my specs at the age of 10 😀 Though the story is way different from the story I’m writing for the challenge, the hilarity level is almost similar!

      I’m happy you liked the idea for the theme. Do make sure to catch up with all the posts! Thank you Parul 🙂

      Like

  5. I dont wear specs but the more I blog and more I write daily, I am sure it will be need of hour soon for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Then you need to be sure of practising eye exercises and eating more carrots! More info in the posts to come 😀
      Thank you dear! 🙂

      Like

  6. Jaibala Rao says:

    I remember my days of being diagnosed with the dreaded negative number. your post brought back memeories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I hope the humour in the posts makes the nostalgia a little more enjoyable 😉
      Thank you Jaibala 🙂

      Like

  7. pythoroshan says:

    I was astigmatic for more than 30 years and thus dependent on specs all my life. Finally got around to getting LASIK done in 2012. Was such a major change after being used to specs breaking and change in powers over the years.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Woah! I think my protagonist would learn to appreciate her golden frames once she reads this comment!

      True, LASIK is something I’ve forgotten to cover in the posts. Will add that view point. Thank you doc! 🙂

      Like

  8. Worms who had eaten too many potato chips! LOL!
    Well you took me back to the day when I first got my specs Mithila. That heavy frame and the ophthalmologist placing the various combination of lenses and asking me to read those tiny alphabets! I love your theme. Looking forward to your others posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      This entire series is going to bring back memories of that one week you spent after being given specs. I do hope you enjoy all the posts, Reema. Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  9. inquisitivegeet says:

    And I am so looking forward to move along with you on this journey. Interesting theme and wonderfully written article!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Geet, and I will surely not disappoint 🙂

      Like

  10. RamyaRao says:

    Wow,Mithila. I still remember my visit in Vasan Eye Care. I have a better specs now and the opening with Harry potter was fabulous. Just like you. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It’s one of those memories that will stay with us forever, isn’t it?
      Thank you Ramya for your comment love 🙂

      Like

  11. Nibha says:

    This is a very interesting theme! I would like to know the stories behind those glasses!

    Even I had chosen ‘Dear Diary’ theme two years back for AtoZ! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It’s a cute little story from the view of a tiny little eleven year old. Not much of a challenge, coz I was eleven six years ago 😀

      Woah! 26 posts as diary entries! That I wouldn’t have been able to achieve, Nibha 🙂
      Thank you so much!

      Like

      1. Nibha says:

        It was my first challenge… had so much fun!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Vinay Leo R. says:

    I wear glasses, but only while I’m in front of the PC at work. 🙂 Have you shifted to the blue frame you really loved?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, I did have them two years back. But now (as is visible from the display) it’s back to rimfuls 😀

      Thank you Vinay 🙂

      Like

  13. pins & ashes says:

    I always wanted to have specs, thought I’ll loom more serious in them, so I borrow and take pictures 😁😂 rimful really I have no clue.. Will be back for today’s ..try writing a sentence in your hand, for the look or the bar logo in hand if you want to bring in that handwriting bit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That was the popular pastime of our childhood! Taking the nerds specs and wearing them! Once I got specs, I finally understood how scared the nerd gets, thinking that maybe we idiots will break her glasses 😛

      Thank you dear! I do hope you like the posts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. pins & ashes says:

        Of course and loved the elephant too trying out

        Liked by 1 person

  14. the little princess says:

    I wore specs for a long time before I graduated to contact lenses…I realised I might need specs when I saw the moon one day and I could see three or four overlapping cresents, that took me to the opthalmologist! loved your humour in the post!
    Shubhangi @ The Little Princess

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Wow! That’s a nice way to find out that you need specs! At least better than looking at fat worms, no? 😀

      Thank you Shubhangi. Do stay tuned, there’s more humour coming up in the week 🙂

      Like

  15. Shilpa Garg says:

    Wow! You are doing a theme during this fest, Mithila. That’s so cool! Enjoyed reading this fun first post in the series!
    Specs… I always wanted to wear them, but till my last visit to a opthal for dry eyes, my vision is 6/6. SIGH… you know that’s a happy sigh 😉
    My son and husband have been wearing specs since they were kids. And my son is a master in breaking specs. So right from the plastic frames to elegant metallic ones, he has demolished them all and we are now back to plastic ones for him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much, Shilpa! Coming from you, it really means a lot 🙂

      Ooph! Don’t give my eleven year old innocent girl any ideas of breaking her golden frames! 😀

      Do stay tuned to the posts, I would love to get more feedback from you 🙂

      Like

  16. Specs…always wanted them, but never got them.
    When I finally had to wear them, did not want them 😛

    I think you’d look good in HP frames 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Grass always greener on the other side, eh?
      Or other piece of chocolate cake tastier than the one on your plate? 😛

      You do think so?
      *starts fluttering in the sky* *breaks specs* *orders HP frames* 😀

      Like

  17. Shalzzz says:

    Haha. You know, I always wanted to wear specs and I even made excuses that I couldn’t see what the teacher wrote on the blackboard and he likes. I loved going to the optician and reading those letters, but every single time he said I do not have any problem. Then 2yrs before I was down with severe eye infection and was asked to wear plain glasses for a few months. Man, that was hard. 😜 I love diary entries and I ‘ll be back to read more from you. Keep writing, sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Woah! Now that takes it to the extreme! The optician should have given you a zero number specs. Just to wear for fun 😀

      But that’s something serious, the eye infection. 😦

      Thank you Shalini! I do hope you like the posts 🙂

      Like

  18. My parents did the same thing, screaming at the top of their voices about watching too much TV when it was discovered I couldn’t read the tiny insect like letters in the last line at the age of 9. Parents have universal reactions. These days, I also create a fuss around watching TV throwing warnings about D’s eyes getting weak. I tell him go and phodo your eyes by reading instead.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess there’s some kind of rule book that you parents read. And you all follow the same rules, day in day out. 😛

      True. I’d rather get my eyes ruined by reading something informative than watching boring TV shows!

      Thank you dear for catching up on all the posts I’ve written till now! ❤👍

      Liked by 1 person

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

