A Birthday Letter

Dear Mr. Potter,

Wishing you a very Happy 36th Birthday, Harry! Isn’t this the year when Albus Severus joins Hogwarts? You do know that you are supposed to tell him about the reason why he was named that way? And what about your conversation with the Sorting Hat! Don’t forget to tell him about that!

Anyway, that’s irrelevant chatter. I write this birthday letter to you today for two purposes. Firstly, to ask for a favour. Secondly, to ask for another favour.

Get your Firebolt out and ready, it may serve a dual purpose right now. 

I wonder if the Daily Prophet covers terrorist incidents in the Muggle world. The year that passed since your last birthday has been pockmarked with horribly hopeless tragedies. The Magical World may be safe from another Lord Voldemort, but his minions do rise in the Muggle World.

Now, I don’t expect you to come and help Muggles wage a war or anything of that sort. Just one request: can you teach us, the Wizards and Witches of the Muggle World, the Patronus charm? When these horrible things occur, we could then cast the charm on our Muggle friends and keep alight in them the courage to believe in the goodness of humanity. This will empower them to not cower beneath broken rubble, screaming and cursing at a destiny they rarely think about except in times of need.

I’m sure you of all people know what it’s like: being alive in a state of terror, for no fault of your own. Being born in the wrong cradle. Or being the scapegoat of a prophecy half-heard.

Help us then, no?

And while you’re at it, could you get us some chocolate from Honeydukes? A million tonnes of it, perhaps? They say the cocoa reserves are getting depleted soon here in the Muggle world. Is it the same there too?

But I digress. Coming to the second part of my letter.

Now, I know it’s not in your power to grant me this wish. (“He can use a Confundus Charm, you know.“) But I really (x 7) want to watch ‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child’! They say the script-book (“What’s it called? Is it called that?“)  is going to be released today. I’ll get my hands on that for sure, but watching the play… Now that would be a really bewitching experience!

Can I use a Portkey to get there? I don’t mind using Floo Powder also, but I don’t have a fireplace at home. Or maybe you could ask Mr. Weasley to lend me his Flying Car? Or even Sirius’s motorcycle (if that’s fine by you). I don’t mind flying with Ginny on her Hollyhead Harpies broomstick too.

Just get me to London!

Both of these requests may take a lot of time to be fulfilled, but I’m ready to wait. The first request is of paramount importance. A little hope, a little understanding, a little peace. That’s all I’m asking for, on behalf of entire humanity. Maybe Mr. Shacklebolt can start an Auror Training Programme for us? I can’t vouch for the International Statute of Secrecy being maintained if that happens, though. Because everyone will start sharing status updates about being a Auror-in-training on social media!

Can you at least try? You are the Boy Who Lived, right?

I do hope you have a great birthday celebration. Did Ginny and Hermione bake a Hogwarts-castle-shaped cake today? It would fit the theme and mood at home, wouldn’t it?

Please do guzzle down a glass of ButterBeer on my behalf. I am of age, and can drink Firewhisky too, but I’ll save that for after I get my N.E.W.T. results.  Or, if Professor Longbottom could spill the beans and … *hint* *hint*

I’ll sign off with a swish and flick of the wand. Imagine that Dr. Filibuster’s Fabulous Wet-Start, No-Heat Fireworks are exploding all over the room, in crazy dragon patterns (no, not the Hungarian Horntail) and cute pet shapes (no no, not Hedwig). Close your eyes for a second and enjoy the view.

.

.

.

And open them now.

Untitled design

 

Here are some Muggle treats: Waffles, Cookies and Gummy bears. That’s all I have to give you for now. My Apparition skills aren’t really good, or I would have been there to feed them myself to you. I hope you like the sweets 🙂

Have a great day, and until next 31st July.

Yours sincerely,

Head Girl (and fan-girl)

Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. sanchthewriter says:

    Naw…such a cute letter! I’ll admit Harry was not my favourite character but I so loved the books. It’s interesting we are having our true version of Voldermort — except he wears a red toupee. 😛 I just bought the screenplay of Cursed child today…hope to read it soon. Finally, on a very interesting coincidental note, I wrote something about Potter too in my cherished blogfest post 🙂 Great going Head girl! 😀

    Like

  2. Rajlakshmi says:

    Yes we need a patronus charm to get rid of all the evil that’s surrounding us… so much destruction and deaths.
    I hope I get to watch the new movie soon, the Fantastic beasts one 😀 Happy Birthday to Harry. Absolutely enjoyed reading the letter.

    Like

  3. Sulekha says:

    This is the second post on Harry Potter I have read today, maybe it is a sign that I need to read the Harry Potter series 🙂 Lovely letter.

    Like

  4. Parul Thakur says:

    Ah! You Potterheads are all celebrating 😉 Just read Sanch’s post and now yours. 🙂

    Like

  5. Dashy says:

    Nodding my head to the patrons charm! Loved this letter! (Harry you better read this) it’s lovely to see the celebration everywhere, just saw photos of a mall decorated with floating snitches 😀 If only I was of age to apparate!

    Like

  6. 😙 loved it, i wish it reaches harry 😉

    Liked by 1 person

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

