Why Cooking is a Superpower

No, you cannot build nuclear missiles with bottle gourds. No, you wouldn’t be able to blast through buildings and scale walls only with the help of a plate of spaghetti. No, you can’t turn invisible after eating sago khichdi.

But the things you can do with this superpower are way better than the things you can do with supersonic speed or telekinesis.

Here’s why cooking is the only non-fictional superpower.

cooking 1.2

How many times have you returned home, hungry as an empty pot and chilled to the bone? Didn’t your mom’s warm food and piping hot tea bring back all the happy memories and make you cheerful again?

Every living being needs to eat. There have been instances where people have survived for days on end on just water. But food is something more than just a means to stay alive.

Serving food at parties could have an ulterior motive. Maybe the buffet table brings people from all walks of life together? Maybe you turn out to be more polite than usual when you ask a server for an extra helping? Maybe you start appreciating different methods people use to get food into their stomach? Maybe you start being a little more tolerant about people when you comprehend the reason they eat certain foods and forgo the others?

Isn’t this exactly the thing we need to do to sustain life in the world in the ages to come, and prevent undue deaths just because of hunger and desperation?

cooking 2.2

When a new neighbour arrives, what do you do to make them feel welcome? Carry some eatables and a smile on your face and walk right in through an open door. You ask a few questions, and propose to help them. And they almost never turn down your offer. Maybe the wisps of fragrant aroma from the pulao did the trick. Or the masala chai poisoned their mind.

Anyway, you’ve got a new friend in your neighbour. All thanks to something you cooked.

cooking 3.2

An apple keeps the doctor away. A bowl of spinach makes your muscles strong. A serving of walnuts helps you score an A grade. A tomato keeps your heart ‘hale and hearty’. A bowl of chicken soup drives the flu away. A sprig of basil clears up that upset tummy.

You could give Madam Pomfrey a run for her money with your cooking.

cooking 4.2

Maybe broken cooking utensils can’t be fixed. Maybe that over-excited microwave can’t stop itself from breaking expensive glass bowls. Maybe the ginger crusher likes to keep some ginger for itself as a perk while it works for you.

Maybe cooking cannot overcome these difficulties, but it can heal broken relationships like a magic wand.

You could either prepare a peace-offering for your loved one. Or you could cook one together (if you can stand being in the same room). In the first method, it would be pretty clear that you are willing to sacrifice one, maybe two, hours of your hectic day. Just to make an effort, that may or may not be successful. Maybe your loved one will understand the hidden meaning of your gesture, and give you a second chance.

The second method brings a much more radical change. The only requisite, as I mentioned earlier, is that you two need to be on talking terms. The rest is quite simple: Prepare either a biryani, or a cake together. The procedure to create these complicated yet tasty dishes will bring you both together in a very meaningful way. It could be via a simple delegation of tasks in the kitchen. This helps you understand what the other is scared of doing, or what he/she is great at doing. I don’t need to mention the teamwork part here. Also, you have a ready-made excuse to talk, or not talk to each other. You can act like frying onions isn’t a task that requires 100% attention. Or pretend to be real interested in the way eggs disintegrate when they are whisked.

cooking 5.2

A simple exercise regimen with the result of a tasty treat:

Walk into the kitchen. Pull open the fridge door. Bend down to get the veggies. Walk to the sink. Stand there and wash the veggies properly. Cut the vegetable into fine juliennes, or gigantic dices, or any random shape of your desire (and skill). Toss them into a frying pan. Stir fry the greens. Shake in some masalas. Wait for it to cook. Wash the serving bowl and cutlery. Get out of the kitchen. Get the dining table ready. Invite everyone at home down to the dining table. Go back to the kitchen. Plate the food and make it look attractive. Carry the serving bowl and cutlery out.

And then, finally, enjoy your tasty treat.

It goes without saying that you spend almost every minute in the kitchen standing. You lose 50 calories an hour by just standing. If you manage to cook for at least two hours a day for five days a week you can get 500 calories out of your system. If you allot weekends for exclusive baking sessions, or a heavy home-made lunch, your weekly average could increase to 1000 calories.

Plus, you don’t have to guzzle a protein shake after this workout session.

cooking 6.2

When was the last time you actually sat down and wrote more than a page in a notebook? Think about it.

With almost everything going digital, it only makes sense that our recipes go to Evernote. It’s easy to search for recipes via mobile applications or the Internet. There’s no denying that. But nothing can beat the feel and charm of checking a recipe from handwritten notes, passed down from generation to generation. Maybe you copied a recipe from the library’s copy of a women’s magazine. Maybe you overheard some grannies discussing how to make mango pickle last longer. Maybe you tried out a foodie experiment, and it took you seven hundred and seventeen attempts to get it right. Maybe divine intervention helped you understand the secret ingredient to your mom’s heavenly broth.

Wouldn’t it be better if you just wrote down these strokes of inspiration? You cannot keep your phone anywhere near the stove, oven, sink or fridge. What if an accidental spill ruins that iPhone for life?

Do I need to give you a better excuse to start writing with a pen and paper?

cooking 7.2

Which superpower makes you feel good about yourself? Does superhuman strength really boost your ego? Or does being invisible make you feel safe?

Won’t a slab of chocolate or a bowl of strawberries or a cup of chamomile tea do the trick faster?

Won’t baking a banana bread make you feel happier? Or the fragrance of fresh herbs help you feel refreshed?

And even if you are in such a dark mood that you cannot cook, go to a restaurant and treat yourself with the most appetising, most sexiest dish. If not your own cooking, someone else’s will burst those blues.


Does this theory prove that cooking is a superpower? Say aye or nay in the comments!

~Foodie-For-Life

 

Calorie information sourced at BBC News.

35 Comments Add yours

  1. Lata Sunil says:

    Haha Mithila. cooking is definitely a super power. Being a terrible cook, I know exactly the disadvantages. Now, I go around advising every one who is willing to listen to learn to cook.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True, no? I guess I too should venture beyond Fried Rice and Maggi Noodles and learn some new dishes!

      Thank you Lata 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. RamyaRao says:

    I love cooking. Not listed in bio. Not posting anywhere simply coz I don’t want to. Post is fab! Cooking is a skill that one must and should learn. Survival skills.
    P.S. Don’t tell anyone I told you that I love cooking. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      But you already told the world when you commented on my post 😛
      (provided the world consists of only the 40-50 people who read my posts :D)

      It’s more than a survival skill, it’s a revival skill! #EminemAlert

      Thank you Ramya 😀

      Like

  3. My Era says:

    I enjoy cooking and can cook decent food if the recipe states correct proportions. I loved this post because it reaffirmed my belief that I am good in an art that doesn’t come naturally to the whole world. While I agree to all the points you made, I am still the one who uses every bit of technology to procure and create a recipe but the final recipe gets jotted in ink in my recipe book that I always follow.
    Loved the research that went into creating this fantastic post. You go girl!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      My knowledge of cooking is pretty limited to reading cooking books and gazing at the beautiful pictures in them for hours 🙈
      True, it’s an art that takes a lot of practice to perfect, but the end result just makes everyone go gaga over you!

      That’s good to know! Maybe once the little one grows a little older, she can take up the job of copying recipes down in her own mini-cookbook! (I used to do that a lot in the summer vacs 😀 )

      Thank you dear! 😀

      Like

  4. Archana says:

    Yay!! This was a fun read

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Archana 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Alok Singhal says:

    You have compelling reasons ☺️

    I guess it’s the whiff of Indian food that excites me often, though I never think about the cook behind it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Learning about the various techniques used in Indian cuisines will make you a total diehard foodie!
      Thank you Alok 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Alok Singhal says:

        I can imagine 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Zerida says:

    AYE! Without a doubt.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thanks Zerida 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Dashy says:

    I like food, and yeah chocolate does make me feel better. But not cooking, since most of my experiments end up with inedible dishes 😛 . But you’re right, if not mine, somebody else’s cooking will surely do the trick! 😉 Love your reasonings 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Chocolate! Don’t remind me of that cursed word 😀

      Do check out these awesome YouTube tutorials. They’ll surely give you a minute by minute guide on how to make perfectly edible dishes 🙂

      Thank you Darshana 😀

      Like

  8. Obsessivemom says:

    Cooking is truly a super power and I’m not superwoman perhaps that’s why I never took to it. I do manage to befriend neighbours and mend relationships by gifting bought out stuff and I get exercise at the gym and I need to take medicine when I’m all. To think I could have avoided all of that if only I could cook!! Still not too late to pick this skill. You inspired me Mithila :-).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s true. But then if you notice, you’ll find that you’re doing different things to achieve different objectives. But with a single power of cooking, you can do so many things!
      I’m glad this post inspired you, dear! Next goal: cook a fab dish and share on Instagram 😁

      Like

  9. Carol Graham says:

    Love to cook. Love to eat. Love to entertain. When people tell me they wish they were a good cook – I ask them, “Can you read?” Everyone who can read can learn to be an awesome cook. Great post — loved it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Wow! I guess I should have mentioned that point: it’s the only superpower that can be learned via reading, it’s not something that has to be an inborn talent!

      Thank you Carol! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Cooking and food make me happy. I think that’s what matters the most. Now, you’re speaking my language, little one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahahaha, I was almost expecting that last line from you, Sid 😀

      I hope this post made you happier! 🙂

      Like

  11. Parul Thakur says:

    ha ha! that was a fun one. No one has ever convinced me this much about cooking and just yesterday I burnt some rice pudding. So not a good place to be in but I try 😉 for the sake of those 50 calories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Rice pudding? No no. Maybe it got burnt because I don’t like pudding. (even though it’s on the list of one of the few things I can safely eat 😛 )

      Just kidding! I’m glad I could convince you to be more of a Superwoman than you already are! Now the only thing that’s left is to get some really easy and fab recipes, which won’t be difficult coz we’re bloggers!

      Thank you Parul 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Rajlakshmi says:

    Cooking definitely is a superpower… Prepare a cake and you will have everyone come running to you… in my case my cooking can actually lead to a nuclear disaster 😛 Awesome ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Be careful, or else the good guys will keep a close eye on you! 😛

      Thank you Rajlakshmi 😀

      Like

  13. akaushiva says:

    Fab post, especially lover the accompanying pictures! Agree with all the points…I’m a believer that good food can solve everything 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I edited the pics myself! Yes, that’s true. And the opposite holds true too. 😀

      Thank you so much, Aditi!

      Like

  14. Shilpa Garg says:

    Oh yes, cooking is certainly a super power. And I glad that my husband shares this super power with me. Let me tell that his power in the kitchen is much more than me. And I love it! Standing in the kitchen burns that many calories??!! Wow! This info will add more zing in my cooking time now. Enjoyed reading this post, Mithila! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Wow! That should make you the Super Team! 😁

      Even I didn’t know much about the actual statistical data, and felt that I must share that tidbit of info. At least the ones who needed a little more motivation to get into the kitchen could feel a little more happy! 😀

      Thank you Shilpa 😀

      Like

  15. 9recipes says:

    I am very interested in your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Oh, yes I am a foodie for life. And while for the better part of my years on earth I was ignorant about cooking, I’m slowly trying to rectify this.

    Like

  17. Vishal K says:

    Superb post Mithila. It changes the way I look at cooking. Indeed, even when Bruce Wayne and Clark Kent come home after saving the world and they’re hungry, they turn to the person with the most awesome non-fictional superpower – the one who can cook good food.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a good way of looking at this superpower: the superpower which superheroes rely on!

      Thank you Vishal for your feedback 😀

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

