The Autumn Plot – Part 7 #WriteTribe

Read Part 6 here

He woke up exactly at 7 a.m even though it was a Sunday. Picking up the mobile phone from his bedside table, he casually flicked through the Economic Times app. His thoughts were elsewhere.

He thought, “Was my wife right in saying what she said yesterday? Maybe I’m just a one day wonder. Maybe that book was just a fluke. Maybe I should call up the publisher and tell him I’m done..”

Getting up from the bed, he decided he’d cook breakfast today as a peace offering. Then he would call up the publisher. And text the girl that he wouldn’t be able to come today, or any other day for that matter. His library days were over.


She looked at the perfectly toasted bread, and bowl of steaming baked beans in tomato sauce. And the strips of bacon.

“Honey, I’m sorry for what I said yesterday.. I really..”

“It’s okay, love. I’m calling the publisher after breakfast and telling him that..” He seemed unable to continue.

“Do you really want to do this?” Her voice held a slight uncertainty, and apprehension.

“I have no other choice,” his voice seemed full of conviction, but she knew it was only a façade.


“Hello, can I speak to the publisher.”

The secretary on the other end said, “Is it urgent?”

“The hell it is.”

“Excuse me?”

“Yes, could you connect me to his residence?”

“Sure, just a second.”

The man cleared his throat, and his wife placed her hand on his shoulder. It seemed all wrong. He wanted to write a novel, so why wasn’t the idea coming to his brain?

“If only I could help him,” she thought to herself.

“Hello!” boomed a loud voice on the other side.

The author’s voice seemed like a squeak now. “Hello, I hope you remember me..”

“How can I not? I’m awaiting a second novel by you! Is it ready already? Not a problem. We can send it to the editors right away, and they’ll schedule a session for you to sit with the graphic designers and prepare the cover..”

“No actually it’s not about that. I wondered if the deadline could be extended.”

His wife looked at him, surprised.

“Extended? But haven’t you started writing already? Eight months have passed by, good gracious!”

“I just need one more month.”

“I’m afraid I can’t give you a month, unless you’re willing to adjust that one month with the months I have allotted to you for the next book?”

“That’s fine.”

“Okay. Could you come to our office tomorrow and get the legal work done, then?”

“Sure, I’ll meet you by six p.m.”

He kept the receiver down. The wife couldn’t hold herself any longer.

“Did you get a new idea? What is it? Is it a sequel to the first book?”


7

Hello! If you are wondering what this fiction post is about, head over to Write Tribe‘s blog and join the Fifth Edition of the Festival Of Words!

I have selected the theme Fiction (though there really isn’t need for any). The story revolves around an author, who is trying to rework his debutante magic into his second novel.

The story ends today, and so does the challenge. But over here at my blog, it doesn’t. You can still participate in a challenge I have on my blog, exclusively for today. All you need to do is: 

COMPLETE THE STORY!

Each of you have an unwritten novel in your head, something that you aren’t able to write down right now. But what you can surely do now, is to simply post a comment below about a story you’ve always wanted to write, or a plot that seems really interesting to you. That’s exactly the plot that will give the hero of my short story his perfect second novel!

Before you start thinking about the plot idea, read up the previous posts once again!

Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 | Part 5 | Part 6 |

11 Comments Add yours

  1. kalaravi16 says:

    That is a fabulous idea Mithila and what a brilliant and interactive to end the series! I’ll drop over again with some good ideas for Mr Author.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That would be great! Mr. Author is still waiting for your idea 😀
      I hope you liked the story and enjoyed it😀

      Like

  2. Rajlakshmi says:

    Wow the wifey is a real jealous women … to put off her husband like that. But then I didn’t like his chicken idea as well 😛 I would like to read more of the story. Let me see what others come up with 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I don’t think she is jealous in nature. Maybe the situation just got her heated up and she said something that she would later regret!

      I too didn’t like the chicken idea 🙈 But that was the reason why I added it to the plot 😀

      Thank you Rajlakshmi, and I hope you liked the story 😀

      Like

  3. Very interesting to see how you bring in an interactive element in the story! I wish I had a ready idea to share right away but would love to, once I do! Thaks for putting up this series for us all to read and enjoy! I’m glad I’ve discovered your blog and would love to drop by from time to time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Esha, and I’m glad you appreciate the interactive element!
      The pleasure is mine too! 😀

      Like

  4. Dashy says:

    What a bombshell Mithila ! Surely didn’t expect this! This seems like a great idea, but everyone wont recall immediately the idea they had in mind. I think each of us at some point had an idea of plot of our own stories. Let’s see, I had in mind the tale of teenage transition ..the time when life gets toppled over in so many ways in our mind. Never started though, maybe I should 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s great! Thank goodness I inspired someone to pick up a pen and start writing *hides face* *opens one eye to see if you’ve started writing something*

      Thank you Darshana 😀

      Like

  5. Aww…..this is a surprise…..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Vinay Leo R. says:

    A story with the author writing a story based on the life of his wife? 😉 Her cute jealous tantrums and all that. That might be what has sprung into his head after all that. Or maybe the girl from the library is the publisher’s daughter :mrgreen:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Oh my gosh. I liked the plot twist of the girl being the publisher’s daughter! Then she must have been very good at keeping secrets, isn’t it?

      Thank you for sharing your ideas, Vinay! Hope you enjoyed this fiction series 😀

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

