Half Time 2016 #WizWords

Half a year has gone by, bringing with it the highest and lowest points of life. Blogchatter has asked us to do a round-up post about these first six months of 2016.

I created a list of all the topics I could use as a theme for this post. The first one that featured was – my own blog posts. But I had been on a blog hiatus for almost three months out of six. So I chucked that idea out. The next was academics, but then my devoted readers wouldn’t appreciate the rantings of a study-o-holic teenager, would they? So this topic too got crossed out of the shortlist.

‘Books I’ve read’ featured at the third spot. I’ve been mostly rereading the Harry Potter series and the Percy Jackson series. And I read the Hunger Games series for the first time. And caught up with a few YA fiction novels. I haven’t wandered out of my favourite genre, nor have I managed to complete reading any classics. No doubt, this would have made for a rather drab round-up post.

But a certain hobby has occupied my mind more than it used to earlier. I’ve started getting more adventurous in my taste for this elixir of life. And I’m confident that I have managed to stay on top of all the recent developments in this field.

Be it listening to each and every song from my favourite band, or checking out Buzzfeed for all the juicy gossip, my forays into the different genres in the world of music have been an amazing experience. And what’s more, I’ve discovered new music each and every day of #HalfTime2016.

2016-min-300x300

Before I begin, I’d like to tell you what my music taste usually comprises of- all the songs I like from the American Top 40 lists. Also, I get bored of listening to the same songs within a month. And I rarely listen to Bollywood music. When I log on to a radio station, I’ll stay there only if there is a hit song playing. That’s all you need to know about my music preferences.

The first three months of 2016 passed by, with me preparing earnestly for my HSC examinations. I didn’t have time to download new songs, so I kept on adding songs from my old playlists into my mp3 player. And I recognized a few old beats, songs I had sworn I would never stop listening to, songs I had disliked at that time and now loved to death. And of course, I added a few Bollywood favourites to my playlists.

Now before you get puzzled about this, let me explain. I have noticed that when I have an important examination coming up, I tend to listen to Hindi music a lot more often. I do not completely give up Hollywood music, though. I just love listening to desi beats a little more than any other of my favourite song.

Post-March, I discovered a few more artists and bands: Troye Sivan, Demi Lovato, Justin Timberlake, Ellie Goulding, Lana Del Ray, Owl City, The Wanted. I had heard a few songs by these artists before. Hence, by discovering, I mean: I went on a mission to listen to each and every song they had ever sung. Here are a few of my favourites by each of these awesome artists.

SONGS YOU MUST LISTEN TO

My best discovery is the band: Panic! At the Disco. They had only one song on the AT40 list in April (Victorious), but I personally feel that all their songs are a work of genius. Here’s my list of their best ever songs.

PANIC! AT THE DISCO

Another artist I used to love and kind of forgot about is Taylor Swift. No, I didn’t start listening to her songs after she broke up with Calvin Harris! I had read this article on Buzzfeed, and my awe for this country-girl-turned-pop-star increased multifold. I just had to get all the songs from her latest album (1989). Here are the less-heard-of songs by this stunning beauty.

TAYLOR SWIFT

Maroon5 will always stay my number one love (“That’s exactly what she had said about Eminem in December.”) Here’s another list of my favourite songs by them.

MAROON5

To wrap this post up, I’m sharing a special playlist. I hope you listen to these songs, and find some new favourites, or enjoy the ones you’ve already heard before!

half time playlist


This post is written for Blogchatter’s initiative #HalfTime2016. This campaign is exclusively for the members of the Blogbuddy programme by Blogchatter. I’m proud to be part of the Blogbuddy Group #BlogWiz along with @inGeniousty, @samantha_rjsdr, @rohank01, @simardeep and @sin_ruby.

If you liked this post, do share it, and mention the hashtag #WizWords in your tweet, FB status or Instagram caption!

~The-Too-Loud-Earphones

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Music and reading are my two favourite companions too.

    I read harry potter every now and then and enjoy it’s magnificence.

    All the best for results now 😉
    Nice summation post !
    Enjoyed reading .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      We bibliophiles seem to have similar hobbies, apart from reading books!
      Thank you Dixita 😃

      Like

  2. My Era says:

    That’s quite an exhaustive list of your favorite numbers that I am totally going to listen and see what kind of music works for you (yes, I haven’t heard more than half of those mentioned here).
    Best wishes for your exam results. You’ve done fantastically on the blogging front despite having to study quite a lot. Keep up the fab work 🙂
    P.S.- Loved the pictures in the post & the fantastic way you’ve edited them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m glad you liked it the list and the edits! Do try out Canva.com, it’s a superb online app to get some amazing edits done 😃
      I’m pretty sure you’ll love Maroon5! There are many more songs by them, and they’re just brilliant. Not forgetting their handsomeness (Hint Hint Adam Levine 😉)

      Thank you dear 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Superb way of writing the post… with music! I’ve noted the names of some artists meself. And Taylor Swift is now with Tom Hiddleston! This just gives me the jeepers-creepers. Ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you dear! You should check out DNCE, their latest Toothbrush is just too peppy!
      There’s this theory that Taylor and Tom are just together to make a music video. I do hope that’s true! 🙈

      Like

      1. I’ve heard Toothbrush, but I still like Cake by the Ocean more. I know, conspiracy theories are rife. Tom is doing it so he can get traction for the next Bond film… but still. They’re nauseating as a couple.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. fabulus1710 says:

          True, that song is just 👍.
          Exactly, the pics on social media are just so irritating and distracting!

          Like

  4. Dude! I am bookmarking this post right away ! This is such a cool way to document a year 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Bookmark, share, scream from the top of a mountain about it. Everything will be appreciated 😛
      Thank you so much Richa 😃

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

