And it’s a brand new day!

First day of college approaches soon. For any introvert, this can be a daunting experience. Meeting new people in a completely new setting and being forced to have conversations with people who may or may not turn out to be friends.

Here are a few tips for introverts to rock that first day of college. Or at least survive it.

things to do the night before

  • Get your clothes ready
    You need to look good on your first day. Clothes are the main reason why people will start talking to you (“in a world which values physical appearances more than mental morality“). There are many ways you could play this game of fashion. Go for a simple jeans and t-shirt approach. And add some funk with bracelets and earrings. Wearing unique accessories can help in others initiating conversations with you. Make sure you keep these things ready and within reach, so you don’t end up fumbling about searching for something and get late for your first day.
    Another point you must note: Carefully select the shoes you are going to wear. I do not recommend high-heeled shoes at all on the first day. It is very tempting to wear the sexiest pair of heels in your wardrobe on the first day. But the pain in the ankles will spoil your day horribly. A pair of sneakers would be cool. Flip-flops are frowned upon by some colleges, so make sure you have all the info of your college’s dress code before you wear them.

 

  • Pack your bag
    Make sure you have a notebook and a pencil pouch in your bag. It may seem uncool to look like a nerd on the first day, but there are reasons why you need to do so. First, you can end up lending some stationery to someone and thus strike up a conversation with them. Second, you need stationery to write down any important notices and numbers. You could also use it to make a quick note of the classrooms on each floor. The projects that you are required to submit. Tentative dates of examinations. Or to play a simple game of X and O with yourself.

 

  • Set an alarm
    This point is not necessary if you attend college in the afternoon. But if you have to attend lectures in the morning, it’s best to set an alarm the night before. Include travelling time, time needed to get ready, time needed for breakfast and time needed for pressing the snooze button.

 

  • Revise something
    No, I’m not asking you to read the entire course book, or get ready for a surprise test. I am asking you to revise a few facts about your favourite hobbies. Be it playing or watching sports, reading books, listening to music, you can just memorise four-five fun facts. It makes for interesting conversation, and thus you can find friends who share similar interests like you.
    Like, do you know that the #Maroon5Day was inaugurated as an annual campaign to celebrate the universal messages of music and philanthropy and help raise awareness about UNICEF’s work for children around the world? And that it coincided with the 14th anniversary of the band’s first album, ‘Songs about Jane’? #NerdAlert

 

  • Charge your phone
    To 100%. Make sure you have the telephone number of the college office saved in your contacts. And any Map app downloaded. And a functional data connection. And make sure you click a picture of the class timetable. You can also use your phone as an excuse to not talk to people (if you don’t feel like it).Phubbing is a god-sent gift for introverts, I tell you.

 

  • Prepare an introduction
    You may be asked to introduce yourself, and it’s a brilliant way to get friends. As an introvert, you may or may not be scared of public speaking. Either way, preparing yourself is a good idea to let go of this fear. You should prepare an introduction the night before, and not just after the teacher asks you to prepare one. This gives you time to listen to the others speak (and thus hunt for #Maroon5 fans), and also helps you calm your nerves. If you wish to go one step further, practice your introduction in front of a mirror the night before.
    Feel free to mention any specific skill that you have, like rapping or dancing.  Just don’t mention any nerdy skills like coin-collecting or stamp-collecting. And DON’T say you are a numismatist or a philatelist. There’s a time and place for every skill and showing it off, and first days are not one of them.

things to do in college

 

  • Wear your earphones
    No, this is not to be done with the intention of ignoring people. It’s just a trick to help you stay calm. First days are usually noisy affairs, and this may make you scared, sad, irritated or moody (as is common with most introverts). To beat this eventuality, load up your phone with a happy playlist and listen to music for a while. And puh-lease, don’t shake your head or start doing a groovy tap dance while you’re listening to the beats

 

  • Find your class
    Check out for a map of the college layout in the ground floor, or read those handy signs put up on each floor which tell you what’s on that floor. Don’t ignore people who ask you for directions to their classroom, only because A. you don’t know it yourself B. you don’t want to remove the earphones. Tell them that you don’t know the directions with a smile. And if someone happens to be asking for the same classroom that you need to go to, join them in the quest!

 

  • Select a bench to sit on
    Now this is the most trickiest parts. If you are early to class, you have a choice of where you can sit. But if you arrive late, or after everyone has already captured their kingdoms, you won’t have a choice. You would end up squeezing in with someone, or hiking it to the last bench. Or worse, you’ll end up sitting alone on the first bench (“Guess where she was seated“). It’s best to reach your classroom early and check out the number of fans, lights and windows. Most colleges start in the rainy season here, so it’s best to steer clear from the windows and towards the lights. Also, make sure you have an unobstructed view of the teacher and the black board (“Or white board or green board or projector screen or whatever fancy terms you kids use these days“).

 

  • Smile to your classmates
    No, don’t creep them out by casting too-wide grins. Neither should you scare them off by flashing your braces. Just remember to smile back at anyone who does smile at you, or seems interested in being friends with you. The only downside of this is that you may end up smiling at them, and they’ll turn away looking revolted. Because they were actually staring at some dirt that had found its way on your chin. Hence, use your smile judiciously.

 

  • Join a WhatsApp group
    The group may or may not be created on the first day itself. But make sure you ask the right people and find out soon enough who is the admin of the group. The reason for joining a class WhatsApp group is so that you can get updates about any important exams or project submissions or anything that needs to be known.

 

After surviving (or enjoying) your first day, you could go home and sleep off the bad dream.

First days are bound to be weird days, so don’t make wild assumptions about your future college life on the basis of just one day spent in its vicinity. Go through the entire first week with a positive attitude, and don’t worry about what lies ahead. You surely will enjoy these days to the fullest.

For some more tips about what you should do in college after settling down, read this guest post.

All the best, and let the College Games begin!

~A-Wise-Collegian

Fun fact sourced at UNICEF USA

31 Comments Add yours

  1. radhika17 says:

    I wish I had read this before I went to college. Very useful indeed! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Radhika 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lata Sunil says:

    Very useful suggestions there.. can be used not just in college.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I didn’t think of that! Yes, first days at any place can be daunting. A little prep is always good! 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Rajlakshmi says:

    I really wish someone had given me all the list… My first few days in college were quite interesting… Since it was compulsory for the freshers to wear traditional dress and apply copious amount of oil on hair for the first few days, I had a hard time getting ready 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Whoa! I wouldn’t have gone to college at all if the oil situation existed today 🙈
      Thank you Rajlakshmi 😃

      Like

  4. Dashy says:

    Haha, I wonder which college you go to? I hadn’t been thinking about my first day much, this post has made me nervous now. 😛 Anyways great tips…will keep them in mind 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Not nervous about your first day? Must be an extrovert, eh? 😁
      Thank you Darshana 😃

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dashy says:

        Haha I wish! It’s probably because there are two of my friends going to the same place with me. 😛 Besides, I have a whole month left to start worrying.

        Like

  5. This girl..she amazes me hamesha ..
    You have written everything that a newbie to college should keep in mind. Enjoyed reading the post 💃💃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Dixita! I’m glad you liked it 😃

      Like

  6. I so wish if I had planned like this 😂😂 before college joining .
    Now I miss my college life

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I can give regular updates and make you more nostalgic 😉😂

      Like

  7. Haha! Damn! I feel old now 😛
    And you using the ‘whatever you kids call it nowadays’ usage – hilarious 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      What to do, fabulus likes to think that she’s more mature than me. 😛
      Thank you Sid 😃

      Like

  8. nabanita says:

    Ahh I feel so old after reading this! Good tips though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Nabanita 😃

      Like

  9. Shailaja V says:

    Wow it’s been ages since I went to college! 15 years, to be exact. As an introvert, I did pretty much none of the above. Just kept to myself and took my time to warm up to people. Oh and of course, no mobiles and whatsapp back in the day. Good luck for the year ahead, Mithila. Trust me, you’ll need nothing but your lovely smile and your charm to make a rock solid impression. Don’t stress ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s a good solution for introverts too, but then sometimes this behaviour gets labeled as ‘anti-social’. Very few people understand that introverts need time to make friends, and are not overly friendly with everyone they meet.
      These tips were like a method to reduce those jitters of the first day, we introverts tend to clam up in new situations!

      Thank you Shailaja! I guess I’ll have to rely on the charm alone, the lovely smile has been robbed off me by my braces 😁

      Like

  10. I wish you were there to suggest me what to do on the first day of my college. I was so lame

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahaha, happens to the best. Thank you Avinash 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Lucky you introvert for having phone-shone to fiidle with on the first day in case of finding yourself alone or lonely. The ‘me’ introvert did not have that option on my first day of college. Did cell phones even exist at that time? They did but with exorbitant incoming and outgoing call rates to Papaji ne dilwaya nahin 😀 So I went to college, spoke to nobody, finished the day, rushed back home in the overcrowded DTC bus and took a deep breath on reaching home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s why I said that phones are a blessing to introverts! 😁
      Yes that’s true. I’ve only heard about the call rates, and trust me, if I had a phone like that, I’d just pretend I’m talking to someone, when in fact no number had been dialled 😛

      Maybe some first days are best forgotten?

      Thank you dear 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Parul Thakur says:

    Oh man! Reading this makes me think of the year I was in college. There was no whatsapp, no smart phones, even phone was a luxury. You know what? In my batch of 60, during the first year of college – just two students had a phone. Imagine! I am that old 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      But you managed very well without a phone, I am sure! It’s just that we newbies with our phones have an added advantage. Anyways, if I didn’t have a phone to fiddle around with, I would have held a book open and hid my face behind it 😛

      Thank you Parul 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  13. RamyaRao says:

    Reminds me of my first day in college. I am not an introvert but I almost did the same things that you mentioned. Very useful! 😋

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Maybe then, if an introvert follows these tricks, they’ll end up looking like extroverts?
      Thank you Ramya 😃

      Like

  14. My Era says:

    You sound so very sorted for the first day in college. I loved the confidence and logic oozing from each point. I’m sure I can use many pointers in your list for a first day to any place other than college too.
    Hope your first week at college went well 🙂
    Best wishes for another glorious phase of your life. Go rock it fab!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Things always look well planned and sorted on paper, or in this case, on the screen. But catch me on my first day, and you’ll find me hiding somewhere under a staircase not wanting to be looked at or spoken to 😛

      Yes, preparation is the key to being a hit at your first day anywhere! 😃

      Thank you dear for stopping by, and always sharing such lovely comments 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Maliny Mohan says:

    This list is so good. I do a few of the things on the list when I need to be prepared for the next day. Nice to know someone else agrees too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Maliny! I’m glad you agree 😃

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

