17 Things You Realize Only After Getting Braces

The weirdest part of your teenage life. Or if you are unlucky enough, of your adult life. Here’s a list of minute observations: observations which are only possible after you get those mediaeval torture devices into your mouth. 


1. Chocolate is really a sinful pleasure.

*musical notes*

So long, farewell, auf Wiedersehen, goodbye
Goodbye, goodbye, goodbye

*maniacal crying and shouting*


2. Your inner Bugs Bunny has to be sent on an indefinite vacation.

eat-547511_960_720

Carrots, no no. Apples, no no. Peas? If you’re up for just swallowing them down whole, then you’re welcome to eat them.


3. Noodles have really really long strands.

spaghetti-781795_960_720

And maybe that’s why you’ll have to mash them up into tiny bits, or else you’ll risk swallowing something more than just noddles. (hint-wires or brackets)


4. Ice cream is more than just a dessert, it’s a life saver.

ice-cream-sundae-1058249_960_720

But, nuts, sprinkles and chocolate chips are out of the question.


5. Some food portions were really really large, and you never noticed it.

sandwich-918646_960_720

Forget about eating food like this anymore. Everything has to be diced up neatly and into smaller-than-normal-bite-size portions.

bread-1242240_960_720


6. Apples may keep the doctor away, but it’s a different story with the dentist.

apple-15687_960_720

Nope, you’re never going to play Snow White when you’ve got braces.


7. Eating breakfast within five minutes and rushing to school/college is a distant dream.

child-933267_960_720

This child is surely going to beat you at the Eating Games.


8. Your tongue can really do some amazing gymnastics when there’s something stuck in your braces.

Image Source

But then this seems like a cool idea too.


9. You’re probably banned from your canteen for the near future.

201503_0925_gabgb
Image Source

10. You can learn to smile a different smile: a new one in which your ugly teeth are hidden safely.

201503_1657_icagc
Image Source

11. Monday mornings are not the only mornings with dark thoughts in your head.

enhanced-26190-1456528092-5
Buzzfeed / WikiHow / Via Twitter: @VictoriaM_1501

12. You really were addicted to potato chips, and now you’re even willing to settle for a chip smoothie.

potato-chips-448737_960_720

Never mind I’ll find someone like you, I wish nothing but the best for you… 


13. You want to believe in Eminem’s lyrics more now, than ever before

eminem mockingbird


14. You will never appreciate the elastic force of rubber bands till you have to place them in your mouth.

enhanced-22121-1456526457-1
via Twitter: @anndurxn

15. Your mom suffers more than you trying to figure out what you can and not eat.

braces menu

Limited options, and you are NOT allowed to get bored with it.


16. You no longer laugh at people wearing braces, nor do you call them nerds.

best-friends-1425552_960_720

You probably are going to start a “Brace Friends Forever” group. Or just give each other  motivational messages before the dreaded visit to the orthodontist.


17.  Your new hobby is not defacing people’s photos with specs or a moustache. You draw braces on them.
BEFORE AFTER BRACES

~Brace-Up-Your-Life


I hope you could relate with this post! Feel free to share any other observations that you have experienced here in the comments section or on Twitter.

Linking this post to Monday Musings at Corinne’s blog.
image

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Ah I’m sure it’s not that bad! At the risk of sounding centuries old, I’m gonna say “It’s for your own good”.

    Plus, the snacks for later is a pretty neat idea 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Frankly, the future hope of me getting super nice looking teeth is the only reason why I haven’t pulled out the braces. Yet. 😁
      I know right? 😛
      Thank you Soumya 😃

      Like

  2. Lata Sunil says:

    My son has braces and he has been extremely accomodating. He does take longer to eat and some things are off the menu. But, he never ever gives up the food he likes including chocolates. Take heart.. in some days, you can eat them again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, I do remember you telling me about him! 🙂
      I can’t even think about eating chocolate now. But yes, I do hope that I’ll be able to do so soon!
      Thank you Lata! 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dashy says:

    I am so glad my days of braces are over. Initially I refused to take food restrictions seriously and ended up breaking the wire twice. And oh the separators were such a pain! It was like there were too many things inside my mouth, and when the braces were finally taken off I felt my mouth was too empty. 17 things pointed out quite well. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      They’re over? *Shoots looks of envy at you* 😂
      I guess I’m going to stick to the rules, and be a good girl! I didn’t really feel the pain of the separators much, although everyone told me it would be painful.
      Thank you Darshana😃

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Rajlakshmi says:

    My sister has braces since college… and I know what you mean. But it was so much fun eating all those food in front of her… teasing her 😛 {yeah I am bad sister}
    Hope your braces days are over soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahaha, I’ve already warned everyone at home not to eat chips in front of me. 😁
      Thank you Raj 😃

      Like

  5. Av8tor1988 says:

    I never gave up chocolate, or apples, and I pretty much ate normal when I had braces, not once but twice. If I wanted apples, all I did was slice them or cut them into apple chips. I really only had to give up corn on the cob, popcorn and baklava.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I guess I’ll start eating them once a few months have passed and I feel a little more confident about it. Thank you for the tip on what to eat and what not to eat too 😃

      Like

  6. Shailaja V says:

    Aww I had a removable denture when I was growing up, for about two years and I remember staying away from all those foods. Am sure it’s not as dramatic as you make it sound, though 😉 And hey, look at you! You’ve done humour pretty well too 😀 Well, you had me laughing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m sure you agree that you’d rather not eat food at all than stay away from favourite foods, don’t you? Don’t you? DON’T YOU? *sheepish grin*

      Of course it is quite painful! But then it’s just the starting few days. I’m sure I’ll be happier and less negative about the braces after sometime! But then the drama queen in me had to write this post before she wandered off to the greener grass 😁

      That’s a compliment I’ll cherish, Shailaja. I’m glad you liked the post 🙂

      Like

  7. The post had me in splits, especially the last point. My brother had this habit, since he was a little kid, of getting creative with the photos in magazines and newspapers with a pen making mustaches for males and females alike. i am sure if he would have had drawn braces he would have drawn braces for all of them. Having laughed out, I can realize the pain the braces bring. Never thought about it, never thought beyond the looks of it. Have your eyes on the future 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You can check my school textbooks and see the same thing! Although my textbooks now don’t have any photos of people 🙈

      That was the whole point of this post: getting people to understand the pain of braces, in a funny way! I’m glad you enjoyed it 😃

      Like

  8. Rachna says:

    That is a cute post. My niece had braces and she pretty much complained about ask these things. But she does look better as a result of having them. Hold on to that thought.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Will surely keep this in mind all through my braced-up journey.
      Thank you Rachna 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Kikibee says:

    Perks of being a dentist and so I’m laughing at you! Haha.. Sorry the post made me too 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      A dentist read my post and laughed at it 🙈
      I consider it as a compliment, dear. Thank you so much 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Ah talk about turning pain into something hilarious. I would love to embrace you…I mean give you a hug! 😉
    This too shall pass…what say?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahaha no problems at all Corinne. 😁
      It surely will, and I’m waiting to write the sequel for this post: 17 things you learn after getting your braces off 😁
      Thank you dear 😃

      Like

  11. Parul Thakur says:

    Poor you! No experience there but I feel like giving you a hug and saying – no pain, no gain. 🙂
    But on a lighter note – you made this so much fun. You are wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      This really boosted my spirit, Parull! The people who never have had braces or any dental problems often find it hard to empathize with braced up people like me 🙈
      I’m glad you liked the post 😃

      Like

  12. BellyBytes says:

    Ha Ha. I don’t have braces but false teeth and they have another set of problems……I too can’t chew toffee, icecream is out because of the sensitive teeth, meat gets stuck, popcorn is worse and the list of what I can or cannot do goes on and on. The great thing though, is that I can take out my removables and frighten my grandchildren that this is what they will look like if they don’t give up chocolates!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahahahah this is too hilarious! Just don’t let them see you refusing chocolates, or else they’ll come up with the conclusion that they can either eat chocolates now and not eat them later, or vice versa 🙈😁
      I think I can safely eat ice cream, if not the rest. I never knew that having false teeth also was a problem!

      Thank you dear 😃

      Like

  13. :’)
    All points are true .

    Wish for you to get off braces soon

    Liked by 1 person

  14. That line Eminem songs one :’D
    So true ….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Listen to the whole song.. It’s just beautiful: “Mockingbird” 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  15. deepagandhi says:

    Haha..I was going through your blog and this is this post got my attention as I have a teen at home who just had the same experience. I am sure she can relate to all the points. Although it was not as painful as I was expecting. It used to hurt only after the monthly visit to the dentist as he used to tighten it every time. She loves chocolates too and is a foodie. So I know how hard it is. 🙂

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

