When Death Comes Calling..

The sharp tones of the telephone blast through my favourite song, “Victorious”. Hurriedly lowering the volume, I pick up the receiver.

Hello?” I say in a tentative voice.

Hello. Can I speak to Danielle? This is Death speaking.” 

phone-499991_960_720

Uhm, she’s not at home right now.” I manage to stumble out finally. “Can I take a message?

I need to speak to her, personally. No intermediaries, and of course, no one to stand by her side.”

I don’t know when she’ll be back, though.” I think of some excuse. “She’s gone to Mauritius for a while.

Aah. Which airlines?”

Uhm, I think she went there walking.” A complete dodo that I am, I can’t even think of a proper lie.

I have a feeling that I’m speaking to you, Danielle.”

No no. I’m Danielle’s friend.” At least this is true.

So, is she sitting by your side, asking you to intercede on her behalf? There’s nothing that can stop me, you know. Unless she can go hide under my Helm of Darkness. Or wear Ignotus Peverell’s gift from me.” There’s a slight sting in his tone.

No, she isn’t sitting by my side. She really is at Mauritius!” A thin film of sweat has formed on my forehead. What if Death has got some CCTV or something, and can see exactly where I am?

How do you know that I’m not standing exactly behind you right now, or looking in through the window?” I can almost hear him rub his hands in glee.

Because then I would have heard you, wouldn’t I?” I swat my right hand around, beating at the air, trying to grab a fistful of Death’s black cloak.

Danielle is not in Mauritius. My man there has already scoured the place.”

Maybe your man didn’t check properly?” I’m doing a horrible job at stalling the inevitable.

Look, whoever you are. Danielle needs to listen to me. Please ask her to speak to me.” The voice seems too depressed and sad, totally unlike Death.

I look at Danielle, who’s busy reading a book. She isn’t even bothering to listen to the conversation. Or is it a monologue?

She’s busy reading ‘Me Before You’. Give me your number. I’ll tell her to call you back.

The receiver has grown hot all of a sudden. I shriek and throw it away from me. And then I hear Death’s icy voice explode. “You eejit, I’m not calling her up to speak about her imminent death. It’s.. it’s something else.”

Danielle still hasn’t bothered to find out the reason why I am screeching and blowing at my slightly scorched hand. Not even the usual, “You okay?”

I’m sorry, but she doesn’t seem interested in talking. She isn’t even speaking to me.” I pick up an eraser from the table, and throw it at her. She looks at me for just a second, and raises her eyebrows quizzically.

Death is on the line,” I whisper.

Ohh.” And she goes back to reading her book.

He says he wants to talk to you about something.”

She looks up again. Maybe my sweaty face and scared expression gets her attention.

Oh. Okay.”

She walks towards me, and picks up the slightly scorching receiver.

What is it now?” She says it in such a bored voice. Add a bit of chewing gum, and she’d look exactly like those cliched cheerleaders.

I can’t hear Death’s reply, but Danielle’s reply to Death is weird.

No, I don’t have any more Pomegranate seeds. Nor do I have any fertilizer. Or any medicine that will cure Persephone. I told you about the Golden Fleece, didn’t I? Go find it. Jason would be dying to help you. And besides, the Oracle warned me against taking this Quest. So, goodbye.” There’s so much sarcasm in her voice. I’m surprised that Death didn’t die another death.

She slams the phone down, and turns to me.

Really, when will you start acting like a demigod?

~A-Half-Baked-Greecian

 

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Quite the demigod, Danielle is. 😀 LOL. She put Death in his place. 😛 The ending made me laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Standing up to Hades is no mean job 😀
      Thank you Vinay 🙂

      Like

  2. BellyBytes says:

    What a story. You had me hooked from the title and as for the end…not what I expected.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I hope you liked the twists in the story!

      Like

  3. Vishal says:

    Haha. So Hades wants Persephone to be treated? And he turns to Danielle for it? Crazy!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      He could have gone to Demeter to get the pomegranate tree to be alright again. But then they aren’t on talking terms. And the Greek Gods preferred to act through demigods in order to avoid wars, didn’t they? 🙂

      Like

  4. CM says:

    So tight and tantalizing.. I almost thought death is trying to speak to Danielle to warn her that her very close friend is whom it’s after.. that was dark and twisted and thoroughly enjoyable..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I myself was shocked when I wrote the post. It was a free-write, absolutely no plot in my mind. I just wrote whatever came to my mind. That’s partly the reason why it turned out to be a flash fiction post 😀

      Thank you for feedback, dear 🙂 ❤

      Like

      1. CM says:

        My pleasure.. the pub was fantastic..keep writing!

        Like

  5. haha… this is so meta… And a Supernatural reference too in there (eejit) 🙂
    Nice , smart and super creative.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Roshan! I’m glad you liked it 🙂
      I don’t know about the Supernatural reference. Was reading a book by Sophie Kinsella, and she uses the word eejit instead of idiot. That’s how I got the idea to put it here 😀

      Like

  6. RamyaRao says:

    Haha. This was brilliant. Reading , Percy Jackson lately ,are we?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I reread Percy Jackson this summer before Harry Potter. 😀

      But Greek mythology has always been close to my heart. 🙂

      Thank you Ramya 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Is death Irish? What’s with the eejit ? 😉
    Well, nice little ‘combination’ greek mythology story there with a twist. Keep at it, little one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Death could also be Scottish, you know.
      But then I just substituted the word ‘idiot’ with ‘eejit’. Just to sound a little bit cooler, and to prove that I’m trying to get to know my role model a little more better. #JKRowlingRocks

      Thank you Sid for your feedback! I really appreciate it 🙂

      Like

  8. shanayatales says:

    I loved it. Was hooked until the end – which was very unexpected. Nicely done, Mithila. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m glad you liked it, Shantala 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Parul Thakur says:

    Ha ha! Good one, eejit 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Girl the thinking process behind writing this post ..

    Truly appreciate your intellectual writing skills 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much Dixita 😃💓

      Liked by 1 person

And now, it's time for you to share your thoughts! Go on, your thoughts and feedback are valuable to me.

