That Annoying Talking Mirror

I would be totally stupid if I were to equate my alter ego, fabulus, with my full-length mirror at home. After all, isn’t she is my best critic, and worst enemy?

Weird jokes apart, a mirror is an object which gives the perfect reflection of our outward personality. It will tell you when a strand of hair decides to leave his friends and wander solo. It will point out that weird crease on your shirt on the day of your ‘important’ meeting. The mirror will also do the unfortunate job of showing how you look, when you try all those awkward dance moves, just to see whether you will end up resembling a baboon on the dance floor.

So, what would my mirror tell me, if it were to be bestowed with the gift of speech?

girl-1317084_960_720

It would point out that I need to comb my hair more often. To avoid looking like a crow’s nest every time I stepped out of the house.

It would tell me that my shorts are too long, my shirts too loose. I don’t think my mirror would agree with my retort- “Fashion is what’s comfortable, ain’t it?”

It would positively shriek if I started my dancing in front of it. After all, someone with two left feet should be kept far, far away from the dance floor. And of course, far away from the bar, lest a drunken fantasy of wanting to dance like JLo pops up uninvited.

It would shout at me if I used it to check the weird angles of my teeth. And also to check whether I’ve got new pimples, and if the old ones have finally bid adieu.

It would urge me to use a little make-up. A dash of lipstick, a dab of foundation, and a sprinkle of eye-shadow. Just to make me look a little less oily. Or maybe it wouldn’t. After all, it would have to bear witness to the break-out of pimples after the make-up induced catastrophe.

It would ask me to start walking a little more, and doing a bit of exercise. Obviously, if my mirror started commenting about my weight or if it used any euphemism to indicate that I’ve grown fat, it would be crushed to pieces. Thanks to my teenage existential angst.

It would plead with me to stop singing, as it fears death just like any normal person.

And of course, it WILL ask me to do a blog post on – ‘Why Mirror-Selfies are a good idea’.

Hmph. Narcissistic mirrors.

~Mirror-Over-You


fridayreflections-button

I’ve selected the prompt: What if your mirror started talking to you? What would it say?

Check out the other prompts at Write Tribe!

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Debbie D. says:

    What a concept! 🙂 That was a fun read. Mirrors are so hyper-critical. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Debbie! 🙂

      Like

  2. Shilpa Garg says:

    Looks like your mirror and mine are friends, coz mine would say exactly all that and much more! *Sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahaha, who knows? The mirrors might have been gathering at clandestine ‘What to say to your owners’ meetings every time we go out for an outing! 😛
      Thank you Shilpa for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  3. Anita says:

    Well expressed & well said!
    Nodding my head 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Anita 🙂

      Like

  4. Perfect post 🙂

    Mirror is our biggest friend 🙂
    And a good critic too 😝😝.

    Nicely explained, all the girls are in relationship with mirror- this is what my namma says me .

    But I have also heard people who talk to themselves are the people who are brilliant ones 😉 .

    Keep writing !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Tell mom that a new substitute to our best friend is the selfie camera 😛

      Hahaha, thank you for the comment Dixita! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Nibha says:

    Then I’l sing to it, “Mirror Mirror Go away.. come again another day!!” 😛 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hilarious! 😛
      Really, I ought to try this one out. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nibha says:

        Let me know if its behaivour changes! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  6. BellyBytes says:

    When we are young we want to grow up – wear those high heels, paint our lips red and do all the things that mummy doesn’t let us do….It is sad to grow up but then you have to ! I remember I used to discourage my girls from staring into the mirror for too long by scaring them it would crack. They believed me till one day a friend of theirs stared at it for a good 5 minutes and it didn’t!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Really! Staring at mirrors is okay if you’re checking an outfit or make-up. Many times, people walk out of the house without really checking how they look in the mirror. But any type of narcissistic fawning over the mirror is a big no-no!

      Did you come up with a new trick to keep them away from the mirror then? 😀

      Like

  7. BellyBytes says:

    Oh I forgot. My apologies if you have more than 1000 followers but I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award via my blog http://mumbaionahigh.com/2016/05/first-ever-blogger-award.html because your’s is truly a darling of a blog. Please do accept the nomination and keep the award going. Happy blogging !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, I checked out the post. Thank you so much Sunita for the nomination! I really appreciate it! 🙂 ❤

      Like

  8. Parul Thakur says:

    Ha ha! Such a fun read. I loved your take on the prompt, how you went so simple with the concept and this was just a delightful read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Parul! I’m glad you liked it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. CM says:

    Agree with Parul .. excellent prompt.. though I doubt your mirror would be as critical ..
    mine would just tell me to take it easy coz am way too critical myself 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Mirrors tend to be reflections of our own personalities, don’t you think? 😀
      Relax whenever you look at the mirror. There’s nothing to get critical about, specially when you are staring at the reflection of the best flash fiction writer! 😉

      Like

      1. CM says:

        You are too funny .. would love to read satire from you .. am I kidding? try me 😉

        Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

