Why did I grow up?

I complain about earphones not working properly. I throw my phone against the wall when the data connection is too slow. The only thing that brings a smile to my face is the completion of a level in Candy Crush.

But wasn’t there a time when I had no idea about these things? There certainly was a time when building the perfect sand castle was the highlight of the week. I remember cooking an imaginary sweet dish with my cooking-set and serving it to my mom. I surely remember acting like a doctor, and handing out medical certificates to every person who visited my room a.k.a. clinic. Couldn’t I go back to those days? I recall those days when I played a random tune on the xylophone, much to the badly concealed displeasure of my neighbours. Swings in the garden serve to remind me of the awesome moments I’ve spent surrounded by fresh air, green grass under my feet.

I wonder how those days flew past me. Here I am now, besieged by heavy books with scary titles. I don’t step into the kitchen, unless it is to get a bottle of water or a packet of chips. There’s absolutely no time to diagnose myself, forget about others. The only music I here these days is full of rap and chockablock with innuendos. And if I need a break from studies, I can only swing by a fast food joint or an ice-cream parlour.

But this time I went to a garden.

No, you don’t need to gasp and ‘ooh’ and ‘aah’ at me. I went there only so that I could write this post down.

When I entered the kiddie section of the garden, I really had to stop myself from wandering over to the swing sets. I still remember the last time I did it: I was stared at so badly by a girl who wanted to sit on the swings. And I was the one who occupied the only not-broken swing. I thought she’d pull me off the swing with her tiny little hands, and throw me onto the ground.

girl-838260_960_720

I really wish it was acceptable for a teenager like me to ride on a swing. I know, there are weight restrictions, and if I sat down on the swing, it would break. But I’d trade anything with anyone who could make a swing for me to sit on. No, not those huge ones for the full family to sit on. I want the exact same swing I used to fly on, just with a little changes pertaining to weight restrictions et al.

Shaking off this memory, I headed over to the next thing that attracted me: the sand pit. There were a few kiddos in there. All of them had the same plastic toys I used to play with. These hardworking brats brought another memory to my mind. The memory of my first quest.

The quest was quite simple: dig and dig into the sand till I hit the jackpot of a hole full of sea water. If you’re wondering how I got the idea for this quest, here’s the back story. I was playing with my beach toys; just the routine digging, making small hills, and basically getting sand into my shoes, clothes and mouth. That was till I saw another girl my age playing with her beach toys just like me. But unlike me, she had dug deep enough, and had hit jackpot: there was water in the hole she had dug up! The dodo I was, I thought she had dug right into the sea, and that the water in the hole was sea water. And that made me start digging every time I went to the beach.

I stopped this quest the day I saw the girl bring water from the sea in a bucket and pour it into the freshly dug hole.

sand-pit-1345728_960_720

Thinking about this incident brought a smile to my face. And then I wondered: Would it really look awkward if I were to head to a sand pit now with my beach toys? Obviously, I would be able to make better and bigger castles now. But would the little kings around me raise a fight? After all, a king who leaves his kingdom is seldom welcomed back. Specially by the ones who have usurped the throne in his absence.

I headed back home, but my wanderings into Nostalgia Path had not ceased.

The cooking set was another toy set I loved. And since cooking is a lone man’s show, I wouldn’t be judged if I were to enter the kitchen with my toys, would I? At least I wouldn’t be surrounded by midgets. No one could laugh at me in the kitchen!

Or who am I kidding? My kitchen toy set is plastic, and the stove was plastic. One peek into the kitchen confirmed that the toy set AND the stove were made of metal. Plus the knives are sharp.

Maybe I could just heat up some Potato Smileys and finish off this fantasy?

music-818459_960_720

The sight of my out-of-order earphones reminded me of the xylophone. I have no qualms about banging a mallet against wooden bars even now. But wouldn’t that take away a lot of time from my study timetable? And I have to mention here: my neighbours wouldn’t forgive me so easily. Not when I have that teenage smug, I-don’t-care attitude plastered across my face, along with an unapologetic smile.

I think it would be better for me to just zone out once in a while, and play with my baby toys in my dreams. Or would I be judged if I were to play Snakes and Ladder in public?

~Just-A-Kid-Acting-Like-A-Teenager


This is my first entry for the Non-Fiction Challenge. I do hope I’ve managed to write this post down with few or no crutches. Awaiting your feedback,

32 Comments Add yours

  1. Life was so much more fun then, right? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dashy says:

    Smiles come with a bigger price now doesn’t it? It sure was very easy back then, sand castles and baby toys being the pinnacle of joy. *Sigh* If only…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      A great thought, dear!
      Things change, and the only thing that one can do is to change with things! 🙂

      Like

  3. Parul Thakur says:

    Why did I grow up? Cos it was to know that time will not stop. It was to tell me to enjoy the present as much as I can. Growing old is mandatory. Growing up is optional. Don’t they say?:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s brilliant, Parul! We don’t have an option when we age physically. But staying innocent and fun-loving like children is always in our own hands! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Christy says:

    Just a kid acting like a grown up here 🙂 As much as we would like, time doesn’t stand still for anyone. We all grow up, we all grow old, or we die. I enjoy my life, so I’m glad for growing up or growing old for now (I’ll be 51 in a few weeks). Being a teen is an odd sort of middle ground, but you’ll grow past it. And when you have kids, it’s legal to play make believe again…and then the day will come when you won’t care and you will swing on the black rubber seats with the chains, and play in the sand without caring what others think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s a beautiful thought, Christy! Indeed, at one point we might not care about what others think. But at that stage, we may or may not have the same dexterity and agility that we used to have when we were young. So maybe the experiences would differ. Don’t you think so?

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

      Like

  5. Shailaja V says:

    Life certainly catches up with you and you’re talking about all this before 20.Imagine us on the verge of 40 then 😉 I still indulge in some of these things thanks to my daughter being around. I guess there’s more perks to having a kid than we know 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahaha, wouldn’t that have been possible for me if I had a younger sibling too? 😛

      That’s great! Maybe the grown-up adults can get away with acting like kids, only because of us tiny-tots! 😀

      Thank you Shailaja! 🙂 ❤

      Like

  6. Vinitha says:

    I am way past my teenage days and I still enjoy flying on a swing whenever I get the chance. In fact, my son loves it when I swing high. 🙂 Enjoy these little moments of joy whenever you can, Mithila. We will grow old for sure but I can’t restrict myself from having such funs. 😉 I still feel like a five-year-old in a grown woman’s body.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Wow! That’s really amazing. Reading this gives me hope that maybe one day I’ll be able to play on my favourite garden play-thing again! As I said in the post, the children would throw me off the seat if I were to dare to do it now! 😀

      Thank you Vinitha for the advice! 🙂

      Like

  7. Rajlakshmi says:

    hahaha you are so cute 😀 It feels like my transition period when I was still childlike but taking steps into the adult world … took me a lot of years before I got tired of teddy bears 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Speaking of teddy bears, I still have one in my bedroom. But I don’t use it. Just keep it for memories sake. 😀

      Thank you Raj! 😉

      Like

  8. Ah! A question that a lot of us ponder over, often. And you’re almost a couple of decades behind me. Wait and watch, things will get better (before it gets worse :P). Sorry, I’m a meanie 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I can always depend on you to give me the meanest picture of the world, can’t I? 😛

      Is it really a question that people ponder about as they grow older? I thought that everyone just keeps on worrying about stock market rates, global warming crisis, etc. 😀

      Thank you Sid 🙂

      Like

  9. Meg says:

    I liked this little passage especially: “But would the little kings around me raise a fight? After all, a king who leaves his kingdom is seldom welcomed back. Specially by the ones who have usurped the throne in his absence.” It shows much more about the pain of growing up. Thanks for joining us this week and sharing! Welcome to yeah write.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That paragraph is one the best ones I’ve written! Thank you Meg! It was truly a great week at YeahWrite 🙂

      Like

  10. kalaravi16 says:

    Why or why indeed! I hated growing up and now I hate seeing my kids grow up so fast! And now you’ve made me go boo-hoo! Beautifully done Mithila….hang on to your childhood as long as you can!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’ve just got five more months to enjoy! I hope I can edge past children and jump into the sand pit with glee by then 😀
      Thank you Kala 🙂 ❤

      Like

  11. It’s why I now tell my daughters not to “wish away life.” When you’re little, you want to be big and vice versa.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That really is true. Thank you Danielle 🙂

      Like

  12. Modern Gypsy says:

    Those were the days, eh? Of innocence and play and wonder. Sigh! You’ve really made me nostalgic with this one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m glad you liked the post, dear 🙂

      Like

  13. Shalzzz says:

    Beautifully expressed 🙂
    At times, I feel the same too- to be that lil’ girl who always held Dad’s hand and walked around! Sigh!
    Tale Of Two Tomatoes
    Something’s Cooking

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, those memories of holding your parent’s hand when walking are truly beautiful and nostalgic!

      Thank you Shalini 🙂

      Like

  14. Cheney says:

    This was a great first post to submit to yeah write. It really made me reflect on the same sorts of things, especially since I went for a nice long walk on the beach after therapy today 🙂 We don’t need all this STUFF to make us happy, do we?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I guess that when we grow older, we replace all the fun outdoor activities we used to do when we were kids with walks and long relaxing hours in coffee shops. We are still having fun, just in a different way.
      Thank you Cheney, and do get better soon! 🙂

      Like

  15. Loved this one .
    Walk to childhood happiness
    And now we are messed up rectifying the earphones wires most of all time .

    When you write a post, you catch the exact nerve of the post and present it so beautifully that I believe that the topic can’t have any better than this one write up .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I am glad that you appreciate the aim of every blog post that I write: there has to be something unique, which the reader has never thought of before, in the weird way I put it. Thank you so much Dixita! Reading this comment made my day! 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  16. shalzmojo says:

    Swinging higher and higher till I could fly- that was my belief when I used to sit on a swing as a child. Now I am too scared to sit on one, lest it breaks 😉

    Like

And now, it's time for you to share your thoughts! Go on, your thoughts and feedback are valuable to me.

