The Diary of a Wimpy Blogger

Let me clear this first: This is a BLOG POST, not a DIARY. I know what it says in the blog title. But then Blogchatter wanted us to write a blog post inspired by our favourite book. And one of my favourites is the “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” by Jeff Kinney.

Observe the title of the post again. Yes, you’re right. This is a blogger’s take on the “Diary of a Wimpy Kid”. 


Here are a few things you must know about the blogging world which lies beyond The Door. It’s quite similar to the secret door in the wardrobe. (“Narnia” Reference) It leads you into a world that’s completely different. And whether that’s good or bad, is for you to decide.

On opening The Door, you will see a relatively nice looking road. Don’t be fooled, though. There are obstacles set by the high and mighty gods of the blogging world on this road. To name a few – selecting between Blogger and WordPress, blogging on sensitive topics, search engine optimization, the need for a niche, staying motivated, and the worst challenge ever – Blogger’s Block. However, the treasure at the end of the rainbow is something magical – being known and respected as a dedicated blogger, with a flair for writing. I guess that’s the innermost desire of every blogging hopeful who gets in through The Door. (Attention, Potterheads. This was a HP1 Reference)

As you face these challenges, don’t forget the reason why you started blogging: to express your thoughts, or to express your wish to make your thoughts fill the bank account. So, the first thing you need to do is: get your priorities straight. Is blogging your passion, or are you doing it for the money? Or if you’re super awesome, both? Don’t ask me what my priorities are. You should have figured it out by now, knowing that I’m a total wimp.

The question of skill arises next. Are you good at writing down your thoughts? Can you whip up catchy blog post titles? If the answer is yes to both these questions, move on to the next: How do you intend to reach your target audience? You need some amazing people (besides family and bloggers) who will regularly read your blog posts and give you some much needed advice. And also share your posts via a tweet or a status update. Don’t ask me how to get such a wonderful audience. I’m looking for an answer to that question myself. (Did anyone get the “Looking For Alaska” reference?)

Then comes the dilemma of doing a guest blog post. Should you, or should you not? I haven’t done many- just two to my credit. But I have one tip for you – your guest post should offer a glimpse of your personality and your blog, simultaneously. It should be the perfect example of your writing style, your likes and dislikes. In short, it should be like the review of your blog. Something that makes the reader hop over to your blog. A simple example- when you read a book by an author, and love it to the heights of being a fan, don’t you grab each and every book by that author?

Lastly, don’t expect fame and a huge fat pay-cheque with just one post. Don’t even expect recognition within a month into blogging. You will be foolish to demand a million views after a year of blogging. Keep your aim low, and be delighted with the results. After all, that’s just how a wimpy blogger survives one year and five months in the world of blogging.

~Is-The-Wimpiness-Getting-Too-Much?


Blogchatter Prompt of the Week!

For those of you who didn’t understand a single word of what I’ve written, here’s the gist of “Diary of A Wimpy Kid”. The main character Greg, gives a complete overview about his life at home, at school, and with his friends, along with some humorous tips on how to survive in each of these spheres of life. If you read the post again now, you will be able to comprehend it!

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. My Era says:

    That is one clever blogpost for reasons more than one or perhaps five or more.
    From this post I can say one thing confidently that besides knowing your books well you are surely well sorted as a blogger. The many questions people spend many years to figure out in blogging are crystal clear in your mind.
    You’re doing well and I’m sure your perseverance and skill will take you places.
    Keep up the good work ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Most of the questions that I have pointed out come not only from my own experience, but also from the observations I have made. Now that identifying questions is done, I do hope that I’m skilled enough to gain answers to them in the same way! 🙂

      Thank you, dear! Your wise comments and appreciated feedback boost me up! ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dashy says:

    That is quite an informative post with tips in all its wimpiness 😉 . I have a lot to learn from you, my lord! Oh well, at least I did one thing right – keeping my aim low and becoming delighted with the smallest of results 😀 .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Then you would be exactly like Rodrick, a character in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid 😛
      Thank you so much Darshana 🙂

      Like

  3. Vinay Leo R. says:

    OK. Honestly, the first thing that came to mind when I read Wimpy was the dude in Popeye. 😉

    But seriously, this was awesome. There will be times when you have a dilemma to decide if you want to shift between blogging for passion or blogging for money too. Eloquently written, and written as only a bookworm would do. I’d take my hat off to you, or I would, if I weren’t afraid to lose it. 😛 (I am kind of possessive of that hat).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True, that is one dilemma that comes to my mind, but then I haven’t been approached frequently to write for money. That’s why I didn’t add it to the list! 😀

      Thank you Vinay for your great feedback! 🙂

      Like

  4. Rachna says:

    Both my sons are huge fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid. My younger son has read each book umpteen times and what I know about the books is mostly from what they’ve told me. This is one goofy post. I enjoyed reading it. About blogging, well let’s just say that is some sane advice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Rachna 😀❤

      P.S.: I still read Diary of a Wimpy Kid once a year 😀

      Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

