If I Were A Book

Waiting to be looked at, patiently hoping that you don’t judge me by my cover, yearning to jump into your arms, and then feeling low as you look at my neighbour and take her away.

Yes, that’s the story of me. A fanfic on the Harry Potter series. 

I was born a few years ago. Deathly Hallows was released on 21st July 2007, and I was born exactly a month after that! My author had read the book on the day it was released. She wanted to ponder about the life of Percy Weasley, her favourite character, after the Battle at Hogwarts. She wondered why Percy was issuing broomstick regulations at Platform 9 and 3/4 after being Junior Assistant to the Minister of Magic! A little more research, and she found that he was made Head of the Department of Magical Transportation under Kingsley Shacklebolt’s ministry. She wanted to write a story about how Percy recreated his life and became a true Weasley, and simultaneously earned the trust of the members of the now-disbanded Order of The Phoenix.

I must warn you, I am pretty boring. The words on me are basic, and the story-telling is not that great. My story has a few ups and downs and many heartbreaks. But in the end my author ended the story in a happy way. And that’s what makes the book tolerable, isn’t it?

If I were to review myself, I would give three stars. One, because it’s me. Two, because Percy looks cute. Three, because it’s me.

I wonder what life would be if I were a different story: maybe the story about Ginny having an affair, or Luna becoming the Care of Magical Creatures professor? Or what if I were the story of Hugo being a complete failure in Arithmancy, and how he conquered the subject with a little help from Albus? I sometimes fantasize about being the story of Professor Severus Snape. If he were Harry’s dad, would Harry have become a Death Eater?

In case you are wondering, I don’t have any siblings. My author has lost her zest for writing, after the not-so-encouraging reviews by her friends and critics. But I like being here at the library. I have so many friends here, it feels like home! One of them is the story of “If Draco and Hermione were in love”. I hardly get to meet her often, because she’s always out of the library. My best friend is the story “If Harry Potter did not have the lightning bolt scar”. Her views on Harry’s seven years of learning at Hogwarts are just hilarious. Mind you, her author has added many more quests and challenges to replace the Voldemort-ending that every book usually has. I wonder why she isn’t in demand though. But that’s okay. At least I have one intelligent friend by my side always!

A few things that you must know about me before you pick me up:

  1. Don’t use bookmarks when you read me. It tickles badly!
  2. It would take you hardly one and a half hour to read me thoroughly. Forty-five minutes if you have a good reading speed and don’t like the story. So I would suggest that you sit here in the library and read me, and then take another better book home to read.
  3. If you still want to take this book home, it’s okay. But please don’t drink coffee while reading and spill it all over me! I have got burnt on page 97 four-five times. I wonder what my author has described on that page!
  4. Please do not write anything on me. But feel free to copy down any lines you like! I’ll surely let my boss know about that.
  5. And enjoy reading me. I daresay you will, but I think you should at least try to skim through a few pages.
  6. And yes, if you can, please do contact my author and boost her morale a little.

 

Oops. Looks like someone is going to take my bestie home tonight. Would you like to spend some time with me instead?

~Forever-Potterhead


writing prompt deadline 5th may

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Lata Sunil says:

    Interesting take. Its funny.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Lata 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dashy says:

    Would do anything to get my hands on you (err…the book I mean :p ), and all your friends too…especially ‘If Draco and Hermionie were in love’, I’ve always wished for it! #ForeverPotterhead ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m sure my friends would love to meet you too 😜😂

      Glad you liked the post, dear 😊 #Potterheads

      Like

  3. Written nicely .
    I felt like a book is talking 😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      At least the book has more interesting things to talk about 🙈😁
      Thank you Dixita ❤😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. RamyaRao says:

    Hahah. Nicely written! Would love to have you. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      And I would love to be yours 😉🙈

      Thank you Ramya! 😊❤

      Like

  5. Parul Thakur says:

    Ha ha! Such a sweet one. And why would book mark tickle. A dog ear would pain, isn’t it? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Dog ears would pain, true that. But I’ve been scolded in school to many times for not maintaining my books properly, that’s why I chose to skip that 🙈

      I had this habit of remembering the page number I was on, when I was too lazy to fetch a bookmark from a book. That’s how the idea came 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Mithila! I so love it! And yes like Parul I want to know why would a bookmark tickle 😛 *super cute read*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      The thing is, I’ve been scolded in school too many times for not maintaining my books properly, and they always have dog ears on them. That’s why I chose to skip that 🙈

      I had this habit of remembering the page number I was on, when I was too lazy to fetch a bookmark from a book. That’s how the idea came 😁
      The craziest thing I have done is use a scale as a bookmark when studying 🙈

      I’m glad you liked the post, Richa! Much love ❤😊

      Like

  7. well written. like the humor 🙂

    Like

  8. Shalzzz says:

    Haha! It is indeed so cute! Loved your take on the prompt, dear 🙂

    Like

  9. Vishal K says:

    I doubt that you are a boring person, Mithila. Anyone who has such love for writing and reading like you is interesting and a lot of fun.

    You might be a 45-minute read as a book right now. But I think that by the time you’re a few years older, it will take us as long to read you as it took us to read The Deathly Hallows.

    Like

  10. Omkar Jadhav says:

    wonderfully written BlogStar of the week! I loved how artfully you embodied the book with a human persona – a humble, honest, lively, cheerful and adorable young soul who one can hardly ignore. 5 stars for this book!

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

