Until The Very End #AtoZChallenge

I’m patting myself on the back, because I have managed to stick on to the #AtoZChallenge for two years in running. And I can boast about this achievement as a seventeen year old! Does this get any better?

Before I start ranting about myself and all the wonderful things I have learnt and experienced through this challenge, let me present to you the weird part of this post, the one I promised I would give you (in my last Sunday Summation post.)


Aurora has this magical effect on me. I have to start the day by reading a book, or else I’ll be grumpy the entire morning. I had a choice between “The Da Vinci Code” or “Tales of Beedle The Bard”. I chose the former, and was reading it till mom knocked on my bedroom door. I thought I’d tell mom that I didn’t want to attend class and she would allow me to stay at home, but that was a tall expectation. I had forgotten to complete my homework. I got up from my bed grumbling, but then I saw the screen of my phone light up: Guess who it was? It was Madam Rosmerta from Hogsmeade! She wanted to hire me as an Interior Designer! I was filled with a beautiful feeling of Joie de Vivre. I told mom about Madam Rosmerta’s proposition, and she kindly told me to attend classes and focus on studies for now. I was so angry, I wished that my classes would suffer the same fate as Lakshagraha! I ate my breakfast in silence, wondering about the beauty of motherhood and the sadness of being a widow. I packed my bag quickly, wondering if I had done the right thing by saying No to Madam Rosmerta.

When I reached classes, my friend asked me if I was okay. Without waiting for my reply, she asked me if I wanted to attend a party for another friend’s birthday. She wanted me to try this hotel which had this famous dish : Qatari Chicken Majboos. I asked her if we’ could go to Sheroes Hangout instead. Looking at her blank expression, I shook my head and proceeded to book a table for one there.

The lecture started, and all I could manage to do was munch on Ukadlelya Shenga on the last bench of the classroom. I dreamt of adding a new villain to my novel, but then I thought that would be unwise. I started focusing on the blackboard once I ran out of peanuts, because I knew that when I wake up on the last day before the exams, I’d be cursing myself for not paying attention! But the battery in my brain had already (e)xpired. I then wondered if performing yoga on the rocks would boost my brain skills. But then, I know zilch about exercising.


I’m sure that after the initial puzzlement and weird experience, you figured out what the hell was going on. Have you identified your own post from among these lines? I do hope you liked this story although it had absolutely no central plot. *hides face*

Here's a chocolate for each of you! Thank you for being my companion in this #AtoZChallenge journey!
Here’s a chocolate for each of you! Thank you for being my companion in this #AtoZChallenge journey!

 

A few things that I have learnt through this challenge:

  1. Commenting: Many of you might have experienced first-hand the problem I had with commenting on posts- My comments either lacked maturity or spilled too many personal secrets out. But through this challenge, I think I have learnt to comment effectively. I know how to focus on expressing my thoughts about the topic, and offer my view-point about the presentation and style of writing. I have stumbled sometimes, but I do feel that I am getting better at commenting. What do you think?
  2. Reading posts quickly and efficiently: Reading 24 blog posts in one hour and commenting is not a joke. But I have only one hour to spare everyday because of classes and studies et al. This has helped me master the skill of reading blog posts, understanding the essence of it and quickly grasping the gist of it to comment properly.
  3. Not everyone shines everyday: Yes, there have been a few times that my fellow companions in this challenge couldn’t keep up with the pace (all because of legit reasons. Not reasons like mine: I’ve got more homework to do, I’ve got a dental appointment etcetera.) But the thing that matters is that they always bounce back, and that served to be an inspiration for me.
  4. No ‘comment for comment’: I didn’t really understand what the hullabaloo was about this blogging strategy. I comment on posts only if I really like them, and feel that they are worth sharing. Not if someone drops a comment on my blog post with ten-thousand links in them. And I doubt that would change, ever.
  5. Encouraging one another: Thanks to the fact that I had scheduled all my posts for midnight everyday of the challenge, I didn’t have to really worry about my next post or anything. But there were a few bloggers who needed that nudge in the right direction, a little motivation and some appreciation. And I’m happy to say, I learnt how to encourage bloggers to keep writing for this challenge! I do hope that I helped, I really did try to!

I took up this challenge after a four-month-long blogging hiatus. I was pretty much worried if I would be able to write these 26 blog posts in my usual fabulous style. The few posts which I wrote in March weren’t really excellent, in my eyes. But after blogging for every day of April (yes, I haven’t even missed a Sunday) I feel pretty confident that I am back to my fabulus self. I’m so totally gonna rock May!

Check out the other reflections posts here
Check out the other reflections posts here

Do share some happy moments from your AtoZ journey in the comments below. If you have any criticism/sweet words to say to me after reading 26 posts of utter stupidity/fabulusness, do share that too!

~Word-scavenger

36 Comments Add yours

  1. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Identified my post. Glad to have found your blog and written along in April. 🙂 I’ve a few posts pending to backdate. I guess I’ll do that maybe later today. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I still have to catch up on your posts! *hides face*
      Do let me know when you finish posting them all. Some Harry Potter trivia is all I need to read and think about right now! 😀

      Like

  2. Shalzzz says:

    Cool idea! Thanks for tagging mine! It was great connecting with you, darling! I know I have to read a few posts of yours. Blame it on my early morning shift and exams, I could hardly finish writing my posts on time. I will get back to yours this month!
    Cheers! And yayyy… we survived the challenge! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Handling two blogs for the Challenge is not easy, and hence you are forgiven 😉 #JustKidding
      I loved your theme from last year, and this year was more fantastic! I wonder what the theme will be next year. Something army-related again? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Shalzzz says:

        Oh God… nooop idea! For now I’m happy that it is successfully completed. And I’m breathing a sigh of relief. May is the month of visiting blogs, reading books and reviewing them. And yes, thanks very much dear. I loved HP posts by you, and I good learn so many great and unique words from this year’s theme. 🙂

        Like

  3. My Era says:

    You have been a rockstar all through the A to Z Challenge for many more reasons than you’ve chalked out in this fabulous post of yours.
    Indeed, this challenge has been a fantastic learning curve and I’ll perhaps do a round up post after a breather and break to get my computer fixed because blogging from a mobile device has been too much effort.
    It’s time to rejoice that we’ve made it to the end and how.
    So glad to have come across your blog and your wonderful self through this challenge. Keep rocking and best wishes for your book ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I think I’ve surely done better than last year. I could really manage time and comment on posts, and also interact with wonderful bloggers like you on twitter!
      Yes, I’ll surely be waiting for your round up post. The AtoZ Challenge Blog will be hosting the linky list on 9th May, till 13th May. Do remember to add it to that list!

      Mutual feelings here! It’s so hard to find bloggers nowadays who write really lengthy and meaningful posts, with deep thoughts in every word! Good wishes to you too, and take care! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Parul Thakur says:

    What a fun post and thank you so much for the mention. You know what? You are awesome and your posts have been such a delight. On your commenting, I think you are perfect. You just now leave a few words but you engage and leave some thoughtful words. See you around!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I thought I’ll get online tomatoes and eggs thrown at me for the story 😛

      There’s still a lot many things I need to learn to be perfect, and I’m glad that I have amazing bloggers like you to look up to! 🙂 Thank you for all the support and love through the challenge ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Parul Thakur says:

        How sweet of you to say that! Thank you 😄

        Like

  5. Shilpa Garg says:

    What a fitting end to the grand finale, Mithila. Loved and enjoyed the month of April learning so many new words with you.
    A blogging challenge like this is a great learning experience, you get to know of your strengths, the ways to overcome challenges, read and learn diverse views and thoughts and connect with some wonderful people out there.
    April was challenging for me, as I had lots of travel and renovation work at home. I barely managed to write the post of the next day before the clock struck 12. And as for commenting, I had dedicated the night time post dinner as commenting time and I prioritized those who visited my blog. I owed it to them, for they invested their time and energy to read, review and inspire me. And when I had time, I visited other blogs too.
    Thanks for linking my post here. Very Kind of you ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed this post, Shilpa! Maybe next year I will have the guts to post a 55-word summary of the whole challenge *hides face* 😀
      Truly, there are so many good blogging habits one can inculcate through this challenge. And then we also get an exposure of how other people manage their time effectively when it comes to blogging, commenting, and basically providing good content on their posts!

      Your posts never seemed hurried though. There was always a deep meaning in each of them, and a perfectly suitable quote attached to it! You should be really proud of yourself! *hugs*

      I hope to stay in touch and reading more of your amazing posts ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This is so creative side of you 😄

    Loved this idea of A B C D very much

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You also should do a round up post! Would surely love to read about the Challenge from your point of view! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes am preparing it :*

        Like

  7. Dashy says:

    OMG you are seventeen? ! Am I spellbound! Two consecutive A to Z challenges is no small achievement, especially as a student! I say so because I myself am a student and have been giving little importance to my blog for the same reason.

    Fabulous, that you are! And I love what you said about coommenting. Keep going…you’re doing great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You did read the hiatus line, didn’t you? 😀
      But I’m glad that I participated in this challenge and made the best of it. You should take it up next year. Maybe you could start by preparing an outline of your theme, or writing posts from now itself!

      Thank you so much, Darshana! I’m glad I got a new ardent follower through this challenge 🙂

      Like

  8. Kalpanaa says:

    I’m still reeling from the shock of finding out that you’re seventeen. Congratulations on all that you’ve achieved. Your blog is excellent and certainly neither it nor your comments lack maturity. Keep blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much Kalpana! It means a lot to me 🙂
      Adding your blog to my May Reading list. Expect a lot of comment spam from me in a few days 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  9. kalaravi16 says:

    Gosh! That was simply amazing and I’ll have to call you : Li’l girl with a big heart and beautiful words! You my dear are a wordsmith and going to go a long way with books and words! Thanks for including me in this lovely summation. It was fantastic being a part of this awesome challenge and connecting with some really talented bloggers!
    Till later stay blessed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you so much Kala! You’ve been a dedicated follower of all my posts from Day one, always leaving wonderful comments that were witty and thoughtful at the same time! It truly motivates me!

      Your posts on Interiors ought to be made into a fantastic eBook. I;m sure you’ve already been told that too many times! But the tips that you’ve given, along with the images, are just what every person needs and will appreciate!

      Glad to connect with you too! Keep smiling and blogging 🙂

      Like

  10. inquisitivegeet says:

    That was such and interesting and creative way to summarise and mention the bloggers as well! And your comments, they were always meaningful and motivated every time you dropped them!
    And reading 24blogs along with commenting on them in one hour!!! You’re super girl or what?

    Glad to have connected with you and learned so many words which were alien to me!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      One hour usually stretching to one and a half, only because I was tweeting along side 😀

      I’m glad you liked the story, as you yourself posted 26 amazing stories for the challenge! #Honoured 🙂

      Hope to stay connected post the Challenge too! Cheers 😀

      Like

  11. 2nd year. 17! And made the Challenge look so easy.
    If you do this again, next year, I’ll be here ready to read 🙃
    Dead batteries? (Better than a dead sister, I guess.).
    Thank you for the tag and the entertainment, Dearie! 🌹🍀🐰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahahaha. Heading over to your blog right now, to see what actually happened to the dead (or dying) sister!

      You can catch up with my posts, you know. They’re all neatly categorised into #AtoZChallenge16. I’m pretty like Gia in that sense 😀

      You’re welcome, Mr. Rabbit 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. That was immensely creative to show your love to fellow A to Zers and I liked the sneak peek into your daily life. You are all of 17 and this was your 2nd time with A to Z challenge, Wow!!. What was I doing when I was 17? Studying economics, yes me too. I would like to assure you I have read your comments on other blogs and I think they are pretty intelligent 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m glad that you liked it! I didn’t really know where the story would go when I started wrtiting it, because I was selecting random post titles. But the end result turned out to be a story of a day in my life!
      I don’t eat peanuts in class, okay? 😀
      Wow! I’ve found another blogger with a Commerce background *hi-fi*
      Thank you so much for stopping by, and your thoughts on my comments is appreciated 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Here’s the *hi-fi* 😀

        Like

  13. All of seventeen 😃. Mithila my dear I felt your are around that age but from the sheer youthfulness about you. Your posts and comments are balances and superb. Tks for including my blog in your creative story idea and I hope to stay in touch with you and your writing ❤

    Like

  14. akaushiva says:

    Well done for completing the A-Z challenge and for a very clever summation and inclusion of fellow bloggers!

    Like

  15. Shilpa Gupte says:

    Mithila, when I was your age, I was a dud! No, really! So, when I see what all you have achieved by way of blogging each and every day of the month, visiting blogs and commenting and attending your classes and studies, man, I am in awe of you! So, when we meet – and, I am sure we will – do grace me with an autograph, will you? 🙂
    I read your posts, but didn’t comment on every post that I read, although I wasn’t as busy as you, but, I am impressed by your choice of words and your posts revolving around those words. And, also, this post, with all the other blogs that you visited! This is such a fabulous idea! Well, it has to be fabulous, coz it comes from a fabulous girl, with a fabulous mind…Mithila! Congrats and best wishes !

    Like

  16. M, you are the bombdiggity, you know? Thank you so much and you know I waw you ❤

    Like

  17. randommusings29 says:

    I sussed out what was going on when you got the message from Hogsmeade lol, yeah it took me a while! Congrats on finishing the challenge 🙂
    Debbie

    Like

  18. A prodigy! I have read some of your posts and would have liked to read all except for my time constraints. Great work and best wishes for a bright future. Whatever you study, dont let this writing spark die off…

    Like

  19. Ah! I didn’t realise you had moved to wordpress. I can only apologise in general to most A-Z-ers. I honestly dont have the patience to read all the posts, which is why I dont usually participate in it.
    But my heartfelt congrats to everyone who attempts it as well as completes it.
    Good luck for your future, little one.

    Like

  20. Rajlakshmi says:

    Now that’s a very innovative reflection post 😀 As for A to Z posts, there was always something new to learn from you, everyday!
    Thank you so much for the mention. I was quite tired by the last week and I am still catching up with commenting and blog hopping… but now in a more relaxed 🙂

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

