Z for Zilch #AtoZChallenge

Zilch

Meaning: nothing at all

Etymology: origin uncertain; perhaps from a Mr Zilch, a character in the 1930s US humorous magazine Ballyhoo.

Pronunciation: rhymes with Argus Filch #HarryPotterReference

Usage in a sentence: “She knew zilch about playing cards.”

zilch

There are so many things we know absolutely nothing about.

Here’s a list of things I don’t know, and never will be able to learn, even if you paid me a thousand million dollars:

  1. I’ll never be able to understand French. All those grammar rules, and spellings. Phew. Even though I love words, and I’m totally devoted to understanding their etymologies, French words scare me away.
  2. I can’t for the life of me understand how to play a guitar. I’ve dabbled with the harmonium and the flute, but these stringed instruments really get me tangled up in a mess!
  3. I can’t ever set myself a word limit and stick to it. That’s why I’m in true awe of people who can write microfiction. They are fabulus folks in my eyes!
  4. I can’t figure out how to keep my clothes properly arranged, and end up repeating clothes twice to thrice a week. And when I do my before-start-of-new-season cupboard rearranging, I discover all the pretty shirts and shorts that I had, and now unfortunately cannot wear, because the season changed.

So what are the four things you know zilch about? Don’t worry, it’s the last day of the challenge. No one is going to judge you today. Everyone is busy wiping their noses with tissues and crying their eyes out. #AprilAttachment

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at Merriam-Webster

P.S.: I’ll be doing a more detailed Survivor blog post tomorrow, scheduled for midnight 🙂

30 Comments Add yours

  1. My Era says:

    Congratulations on successful completion of the A to Z Challenge 2016 🙂
    I know zilch about my capabilities and that I guess says it all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I would never say that! But then, keeping that approach helps us find so many things that we are talented in😊
      Thank you so much dear ❤😚 It was an amazing April with your wonderful support 😇

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Zilch …beautiful this one .
    I am zilch about many things 😂😂especislly French in common

    Congratulations 😃😃
    You, did it. 😃😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      French should be left for only food, dont you think? 😋

      Thank you Dixita ❤😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha , exactly .
        Foodie-smile*

        Like

  3. Lata Sunil says:

    Zilch…I know zilch about many things…like cycling…but I learned to ride the scooty. I want to learn.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I love watching children from my society riding the cycle, and I wonder why I never learnt it!
      I still have a lot of time to go to learn the Scooty 😁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lata Sunil says:

        Pls learn cycling, I always regret it. I tried last year too..but now it’s difficult for me.

        Like

  4. Dashy says:

    And I know zilch about bikes and cars..and hate to be engaged in any conversation concerning them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True that! But I’d love to watch the Grand Prix or some other racing event. It just looks so crazy! 😁

      Like

  5. Parul Thakur says:

    Zilch! I love the word. Simple and easy to use. I am zilch about many things and french, micro-fiction here too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Parul Thakur says:

      Oh missed saying this! Congrats! Your posts were so informative and I got to know, I know Zilch 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. fabulus1710 says:

        But you’re good at Microblogs no? I think one step is already conquered: Limiting the words!

        I can say the same about knowing absolutely zilch about Women Movements all over the globe. But that has changed all because of you ❤😊

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations, Mithila. A fab finish to the A-Z! I love the ‘rhymes with Argus Filch’ bit. Only you could have thought of that. 🙂 Look forward to staying in touch! xx
    PS: I know zilch about football, cricket, ….most games actually. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I was trying to find the pronunciation online, but then this Argus Filch thought popped up, because I couldn’t find any proper pronunciations online! Glad you liked it 😊

      Same here. I didn’t even know how many balls are there in an over, till I saw this recent match, the one which we lost. South Africa it was, no? 🙈

      Like

  7. kalaravi16 says:

    What you know pretty much overshadows what you don’t, methinks! You have the most amazing knack for writing the most fabulus stuff out of seemingly boring topics….that is mighty cool! I thoroughly enjoyed reading all your posts and your comments on my posts encouraged me to keep on with the challenge! Congrats on completing the challenge so well! Lovely connecting with you 🙂
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      *blushing*
      That’s one of the sweetest comments I’ve ever read, Kala ❤😊
      But then one must always have the approach of knowing that you know zilch, so that one is encouraged to learn more! And with amazing bloggers like you, there’s always more scope to grow!

      Thank you Kala! All the best! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. slfinnell says:

    Love your Z post! Congratulations on the finish and will drop in here and there this coming year 🙂
    Stephanie Finnell
    @randallbychance from
    Katy Trail Creations
    Stephanies Stuff

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Thank you Stephanie

      Like

  9. You know I bet if you had the right guitar teacher it might make sense with the strings (my husband taught guitar off and on in his career).

    I know zilch about all foreign languages and how to follow directions to put things together other than a recipe.

    Congrats on finishing the challenge!

    betty
    http://viewsfrombenches.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I think I can manage the recipes, and the foreign languages. I should see about the guitar but! 😊

      Thank you for stopping by 😊

      Like

  10. Shilpa Garg says:

    I think I will never be able to learn driving. Have tried thrice and failed miserably!
    It was a wonderful, insightful and interesting journey this April with you, Mithila. Thanks for adding so many new words in our vocab. And congratulations for successfully completing the challenge! Cheers ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s okay. The only downside about not knowing how to drive, is that you don’t know how to drive 😁
      Thank you so much, Shilpa! I really enjoyed this challenge, and I hope you liked my posts 😊❤

      Like

  11. Kalpanaa says:

    Congratulations on completing the challenge. Delighted to have found your fabulus blog and looking forward to your survivor post. What do I know zilch about?
    Shilpa inspired me to say – flying a plane, deep sea diving, writing code and surgery and I’m fine with not knowing anything more than the average person knows about these skills 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Me too, Kalpana! Will surely read up on a few posts that I missed out soon 😊

      The ones you’ve mentioned are truly offbeat! I guess knowing about basic surgery like stitching up wounds would be cool to know! 😊

      Like

  12. inquisitivegeet says:

    Congratulations on completing the challenge so gracefully!
    The words were always informative and so is zilch… And micro fiction, I too thought the same about me until I started with the challenge! You have no idea how much I struggled keeping my posts to the set word limit! That ate so much of the time of the day, but I guess, it went just fine!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Then you would be my soul sister! I haven’t had the guts to try microfiction, except the random #HeShe stories I post on Twitter. I loved your stories, you know. They were cute and nice, and relatable! 😊

      Congratulations to you too dear 😊❤

      Like

  13. This is one of my most used words. “If you don’t know zilch about the topic in hand, do NOT talk about it”! Oh man if only I had a penny for everytime I used this line.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      You could add more variety with “nada”, “null”! I remember reading a story in which all these three words were used together in one line, and that’s how I learnt that they all meant the same thing 🙈😁
      Thank you for stopping by, Soumya 😊❤

      Like

  14. Rajlakshmi says:

    hahaha I could so relate to the season change part. Happens to me too 😀 Congrats on completion of A to Z challenge 😀

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

