Y for Yoghurt #AtoZChallenge

Yoghurt (or Yogurt)

Meaning: a prepared food having the consistency of custard, made from milk curdled by the action of cultures, sometimes sweetened or flavored.

Etymology:  Turkish yogurur (long life)

Pronunciation: yoh-gert

Usage in a sentence: “She loved the fruit-flavoured packaged yoghurt that her mom bought her every summer.”

yoghurt

Yoghurt is a dish that most Indian grandmoms and moms churn out for daily use. You may confuse this word with curds, or ‘dahi’ as it is called in India. There is only a fine line of difference between the two: method of preparation and the beneficial bacterial strains that kick-start the fermentation of milk.

However, this post is not about the done-and-dusted yoghurt. It’s about yoghurt in a form that rivals ice-cream. Mumbai has seen the rise of many dessert salons offering this sweet dish. I remember Pinkberry setting up shop near my school. I so badly wanted to enter that beautiful pink portal to bliss. I haven’t tasted frozen yoghurt till now (I’m guessing you’d have guessed it), but do hope to treat myself after I complete the #AtoZChallenge . Can you believe it? Tomorrow’s the last day 😦

Ice-cream or Frozen Yoghurt?

Some facts about (frozen) yoghurt:

  1. In the 1970s, frozen yoghurt’s entry into the dessert market was a distinct failure—consumers complained that it tasted too much like yoghurt.
  2. Frozen yoghurt was soon available in a variety of flavors throughout the U.S. It proved to be just as versatile as ice cream, served in cones and cups, with toppings, on crepes, waffles, and banana splits. Frozen yoghurt offers a tangier flavor than ice cream and more depth in flavor and texture than sherbet.
  3. Flavours include: cranberry, cookie dough, oatmeal raisin, pumpkin, pineapple, java latte, pomegranate, salted caramel, marshmallow, spiced chai latte, cookies and cream, peanut butter, red velvet cake, gingerbread cookie, Nutella, iced coffee, mocha fudge and cappuccino. (Available at Menchies – it’s currently based in USA, and has franchises in India at Bangalore, Hyderabad, Pune, Tamil Nadu, Ludhiana and it’s here in Mumbai too! <3)
  4. Did you know that yoghurt can be made from the milk of any mammal be it goat sheep, water buffalo, yak and camel?
  5. Yoghurt can make workouts less tiring by reducing the muscular stress. It is also beneficial for those who are lactose intolerant.

Have you tasted frozen yoghurt? Which flavour and topping do you recommend to a first timer? Share in the comments section! 🙂

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at Dictionary.com , MadeHow.com , The Times Of India , I Love Frozen Yogurt.

23 Comments Add yours

  1. My Era says:

    The first time I had a Frozen yogurt, the tangy punch despite the ice-cream like appeal was a surprise to me. It feels like eating Shrikhand (a Gujarati sweet) but I guess once you get a hang of it, there’s no looking back.
    If you’re a lover of sour cream and Indian curd I think you’ll fall in love quicker. I’ve tasted many flavours and I think to start beginning with one that matches your liking closest is best to go for. Go for cookie dough if you’re a chocolate lover.

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Shrikhand 😍
      Then I surely will try it out, when I save enough pocket money to treat my friends too! 😁
      Cookie dough is something I haven’t ever tried, I’m eager to taste this new flavour now! 😊

      Like

  2. Not a big fan of frozen yoghurt. It makes me want to replicate the recipe at home, but not pay a dime for this reinvented dish. I’m turning into Scrooge, I know. But, yoghurts are best when you’re working out, and I literally live on yoghurt in this awful Delhi weather.
    [@samantha_rjsdr] from
    Whimsical Compass

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      We can make frozen yoghurt at home? I think I’ll join you and we’ll be the Scrooge troop! 😁
      The weather isn’t as bad as Delhi here in Mumbai, but I still find curds very necessary here! 😊

      Like

  3. kalaravi16 says:

    Now you have me drooling and all I can do about it is dig into a bowl of fresh curd with loads of sugar! Last one to go! All the best for that and later 🙂
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I do that everytime the curds are a little sour (usually when mom makes them) 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Rian Durant says:

    As strange as it sounds, because I love yogurt, I’ve never tried frozen. I have to correct this mistake as soon as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Do so soon! And then I’d love to read your view on frozen yoghurt , along with some wonderful pics 😊

      Like

  5. Yummmm.
    I love it too 🙂
    It beat summers 😉

    Good to know its benefits relating to workout 😄😄
    Happy last week !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Totally no? 😁
      I must try it out before the summer runs away! 🙈

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It tastes yummier even in winters.
        But then winter and yoghurt is not a good idea for throat .

        Like

  6. 2 AM Writer says:

    I both love and hate yogurt. I love chocolate but anything else is out of question for me. I love that image that youve included. Yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Then maybe you would like the mocha fudge? I don’t know 🙈
      I love milk in any form except ghee 🙈

      Like

  7. Shilpa Garg says:

    I LOVE frozen yoghurt and LOVE curd too. My no meal is complete without it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      It’s on and off for me. With pulao or biryani, I have to eat dahi, or else no! 😊

      Like

  8. Ah I love FroYos so much! Salted Caramel from Pinkberry is my favorite. Have you tried it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’ll try that out!
      I had tried salted caramel popcorn, but then it didn’t appeal to me. Maybe the yoghurt will? I’ll try that out 😊

      Like

  9. richajindal says:

    That’s quite a collection of yogurts! loved it
    @2richajindal
    http://jindalpackers.com/blog/packing-companies/
    http://richajindal.com/meals/

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Parul Thakur says:

    I first had frozen yogurt in New York some six years ago. It was -13 outside and I loved the taste. Pinkberry is in Bangalore too and I like the place. Just wish there weren’t so expensive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Wow! That would be the perfect setting to eat something frozen, no? 😊
      Exactly. That’s what’s making me pinch my pocket money 🙈

      Liked by 1 person

  11. inquisitivegeet says:

    O and there’s Cocoberry as well that serves frozen yoghurt. First time I tried, I wondered what the hell was it but loved it in another moment!
    How the forms of foods have changed, isn’t it?

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I guess eating it the first time would guarantee that kind of reaction! But you do love it now, don’t you? 😊

      Like

  12. Rajlakshmi says:

    I love yogurt… I usually use them to make my own blueberry or strawberry smoothie.

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

