X for Xenium #AtoZChallenge

Xenium

Meaning: a present given among the ancient Greeks and Romans to a guest or stranger and especially to a foreign ambassador

Etymology: From Ancient Greek ξένιον ‎(xénion)

Pronunciation: zee-ni-uhm

Usage in a sentence: “She gave the Greek Ambassador a box of Indian sweetmeats.”

xenium

Giving gifts to guests when they visit us and not expecting the guests to bring something home. Weird, isn’t it?

Guests usually bring some gifts or eatables when they come home. It maybe as simple as a packet of Marie Biscuits, or as elegant as a box of Swiss chocolates. And in return, they are always given something to take home- slices of cake that mom just baked, etc. During festival seasons, there’s no need to worry about what to gift the guests. There’s always something sweet to share. But when it’s not festival time, hmm, that’s when the trouble usually starts. If there are smaller children in tow, ‘something for the baby’ as a gift is appreciated. But otherwise, I’m pretty sure most of you fly into panic mode. Or if you’re like me, you’ll just promptly ignore this nicety of society and pretend like you don’t know what the word xenium means.

So, if you’re in a situation where a guest arrives out of the blue, what would you do? Share in the comments section 🙂

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at  Merriam-Webster

20 Comments Add yours

  1. My Era says:

    Over the years, our guests have usually requested the gift they wanted. Yes, our garden has been a source of Xenium to all guests who love taking along a pot, a sapling, a few bulbs or even fruits and flowers.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That is a really nice thing to give as a gift! I’ll surely be snatching away all the guavas and chillies from your garden 😁🙈

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kalaravi16 says:

    I have this shelf in one of my cupboards which is a cornucopia of Xenium that I dig into whenever we have impromptu guests. I always ensure to keep it replenished and my guests are always happy with the xenium they recieve 🙂
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      The perfect hostess you are indeed, Kala! 😍😊

      Like

  3. Sweet post 🙂

    Who don’t like gifts ;)?
    And gifting!
    This has bounded sweetness from years.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m waiting for the day guests will bring me books

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Guests who bring me books are super welcome😝

        Like

  4. Well, if there is anything sweet at home, chances are my dad has already finished them. So either mum or I are invariably running to the market to load up on snacks and sweets before guests arrive. Woe the day we get unexpected guests. Sigh.
    [@samantha_rjsdr] from
    Whimsical Compass

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      True! And when the guests pop up without any warning! I guess we should keep some handy gift vouchers ready, to give when they arrive 🙈😁

      Like

  5. Kalpanaa says:

    I love this word xenium! I’m afraid I just ignore it. Gifts of food are fine but how can you produce a decent xenium without warning?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s the problem! I think what Kala has suggested in the comments is the best way of tackling this 😊

      Like

  6. 2 AM Writer says:

    i like to always give guests something to remember me by, if they’re coming home for the first time, then books are perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m coming knocking at your door then, dressed as a new person everyday 🙈😂

      But it really is a thoughtful way of gifting. Certainly more appreciated then just snacks! 😊

      Like

  7. Guests bring gifts? As far as I know my guests have only asked for them 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Shilpa Garg says:

    I keep some gifts at home always for some sudden gifting. Have books, bags and other knickknacks and loads of gifts for kids, the return gifts from birthday parties work well in emergencies. And in case, I have time, baked goodies are my absolute favorite gifting options!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I have all these gifts that I’ve received (but don’t like) all wrapped in the same wrapping paper in one corner of the shelf. But the problem is I often forget about them when guests arrive 🙈

      Your way of giving a xenium is truly amazing, Shilpa 😊😇

      Like

  9. Debbie D. says:

    That’s not common practice here, except for the food items, as you mentioned. I do gift my clients with vacation photos of their dogs. They love those! 🙂

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Wow! That would be something they would surely treasure, and they’ll always remember you when they look at it 😊

      Like

  10. Rajlakshmi says:

    I am aware of bringing gifts while visiting a friend’s place but the other custom is not so common I guess. We mostly serve lunch or dinner and make elaborate preparations for that but not gift giving.

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

