W for Wyrd #AtoZChallenge

Wyrd

Meaning: Fate, destiny, particular in an Anglo-Saxon or Norse context.

Etymology: From Old English wyrd.

Pronunciation: weird or word

Usage in a sentence: “Don’t blame your destiny. Blame wyrd.”

wyrd

The reason I selected this word for today’s post is quite ingenious. My theme is #WeirdWords , and the word ‘weird’ is derived from ‘wyrd’! How cool is that? 😀

Let’s get back to the topic before I start gushing about my fabulusness.

According to Wikipedia,

Wyrd is a term for concepts roughly corresponding to those of fate or destiny but involving complex interactions of universal necessity and individual choice within a cosmos beyond any fixed notions or concepts of mortal minds.

 

Basically, ‘wyrd’ means fate or destiny, but it means something more than that. It also includes the power that we have in ourselves to decide our destiny. No, I’m not talking about that “Power of your Mind” thing. I’m talking about the basic things that make a great difference in your life.

A simple example: You usually cross the road near the bakery, but today decided to cross the road from the junction. And you got hit by a scooter. (I do not wish this upon anyone *covers mouth* *hides face*). You can’t really blame destiny entirely for getting your bones cracked. You were, in a way, responsible for your own life! Weird, isn’t it?

As I mentioned earlier, wyrd is the ancestor of the more modern ‘weird’, which before it meant ‘odd or unusual’, carried connotations of the supernatural. A popular example is the Weird Sisters in Macbeth. The original Wyrd Sisters were of course, the three Norns, the Norse Goddesses of destiny. However, they are not related to the Greek fates. Weird again!

Today’s question is: Share a weird experience,something that made you blame destiny for it.

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at Octavia Randolph’s website.

32 Comments Add yours

  1. Vinay Leo R. says:

    I usually avoided the main road for walking home from college, but on one particular occasion, I decided to take that. And a speeding omni did knock me down. No broken bones, but lots of cuts and bruises then.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Vinay Leo R. says:

      Wyrd it was indeed. And the omni never bothered to stop also.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. fabulus1710 says:

        That’s really scary!
        There are truly many examples of wyrd in our lives 😊

        Like

  2. My Era says:

    It is rather weird that I can’t think of any wyrd incident just now but Aon the whole I feel I lead a pretty weird life. I liked your example though that where we habitually pounce upon blaming destiny or luck, we are often ourselves responsible for the said accident.
    Another wonderful pick of word for the day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Wonderfully said, dear! Couldn’t have summed it up better 😊
      Thank you ❤

      Like

  3. Eli Pacheco says:

    I can’t help but think that a decision to speed up or slow down for a yellow light 17 years ago could have impacted the rest of my life. You’re in another place, and displacing someone who would have been there. So for every light you run … well, you contribute wyrdly to fate.

    Glad I found you through the A to Z Challenge.

    ~Eli@CoachDaddy (#878)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I observed this phenomenon when sitting in a train one day. What if one train doesn’t stop at the signal? What a twist of wyrd indeed.

      Thank you for stopping by Eli 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Eli Pacheco says:

        Days that thoughts of the wyrd dominate our minds are the best days.

        Like

  4. Shilpa Garg says:

    I had planned the sequence of work for the renovation of our home. Thought 15 days would be more than enough to get the home all new and sorted. But looks like my wyrd had other plans. Because of non-availability of painter, the rest of the works like polishing of furniture, dry cleaning of sofas and chairs and final cleaning of floors etc has gone for a six. Wyrd is never fair!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Wyrd is never fair! True that!
      I do hope the work gets over soon. It’s truly irritating when house renovation work takes ages 🙈

      Like

  5. Perfect with theme 😉
    Wyrd words 😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I know right 😁

      Like

  6. I also avoid change
    Because change usually 😂😂doesbt suit me

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Creatures of habit. Same here 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  7. kalaravi16 says:

    Wyrd ain’t it life? A new word that is really old! Your explanations and examples are so much fun Mithila! I can’t seem to be able to think of anything wyrd in my life….weird huh?!
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Paying a little more attention to even insignificant details would help. The weirdest wyrd is hidden there mostly 😁

      I thought my explanation would get a little boring with all the quotes and definitions, but I’m glad you liked it 😊❤

      Like

  8. djinnia says:

    i had to look up the word weird in my history of the english language class in the OED. It was so much fun to discover this post. it took me back to one of my favorite classes and words. Thing is another one of those Viking words that is awesome. love the post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m glad that you could relate to this post, and that it brought back good memories 😊
      Thank you for stopping by 😊

      Like

  9. Wyrd! Weird ofcourse! Loved this word. And yeah, not about road accidents, but many a times when I am in unfamiliar territory and I think that I won’t be able to do something then that has to happen!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Yes, positive things also sometimes are caused by wyrd!
      Glad you liked the post, Reema 😊❤

      Like

  10. inquisitivegeet says:

    This word is sure pretty weird! I’ll have to think a bit before using it, knowing if I’m using it correctly or not!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I guess you could start by replacing “destiny” and “fate” with “wyrd”! 😊

      Like

  11. Obsessivemom says:

    That’s a new addition to my vocabulary. Here’s my ‘wyrd’ story – I always liked to write yet never gave it any thought. After working for about five years at various finance/marketing jobs wyrd put me in a place where the only job available to me was that of a journalist – and lo! my life’s wish, one even I didn’t know existed, was fulfilled.

    Like

  12. Dahlia says:

    Dropping in out here is surely wyrd play

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I love this pun 😍😊

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Wyrd. There is something very interesting about words that do not have vowels 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Rhythm. Syzygy. And now wyrd! 😊

      Like

  14. 2 AM Writer says:

    I’ve heard the word Wyrd before. But never really used in context of anything so it was difficult for me to place the meaning of the word. I would guess it was Wyrd for “word” rather than weird. Did not know it was fate

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Even I used to think it was an Old English way of saying “word” 🙈
      Now we both know better, don’t we? 😊

      Like

  15. Rajlakshmi says:

    the one time I took a different path my heels got stuck in one of the holes on the road… damn embarrassing 😛

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

