V for Vemodalen #AtoZChallenge

Vemodalen

Meaning: the frustration of photographing something amazing when thousands of identical photos already exist

Etymology: word made up by John Koenig, creator of the Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows

Pronunciation: vem-uh-do-len (‘d’ has to be said like ‘the’)

Usage in a sentence: “He experienced feelings of vemodalen as he captured the Taj Mahal in a frame.”

 

vemodalen

I won’t pretend to be a good photographer. If you take a peek at my  Instagram account, you’ll find only one type of pictures: blurry. Except the poetry edits, of course. The other pictures are all blurry, and you can figure out that I’m a complete dodo when it comes to photography. I’m good at taking candid photos though. Maybe I don’t like the pressure of clicking a good picture? Maybe.

I always experience vemodalen at sea-shores. I go there when I need to get inspired to write a blog post. At the end of these boost-up sessions, I promptly take out my Lumia 630 to click a picture of the waves and sand out there. And every time I do this, I do it with the following reason: “I’ll use this picture for my next blog post!! 😛

When I go home, I find a thousand better pictures of that place, taken by hundreds of photographers. And it thoroughly demotivates me. If it affects a camera-skills-lacking person like me, I wonder how it saddens a skilled photographer!

Share your experiences with vemodalen in the comments section. If you’re an avid photographer, you need to share your vemodalen inducing experience too!

~Word-scavenger

Information sourced at Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Ah. That happens with me for any nature shot. 🙂 Especially sunsets. I’ve taken them at the beach, from the roof of my apartment and also from the flyover. 😀 But still, I find a hundred different sunset pictures that are a thousand times better!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Maybe then you need to find sunrises to click? 😁

      Like

  2. Lata Sunil says:

    check this one trablogger.wordpress.com. He gives good tips for amateurs and novices.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Will surely do so. Thank you Lata ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha
    I am Vemodalen too 😝😝
    I always think if I had Canon, I would be a good photographer 😂.
    Nice post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Maybe then you need to get your hands on a Canon soon!
      I loved those pictures in the handicraft post 😍 I don’t think you’d ever experience Vemodalen with those pics 😍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ☺☺
        Yes, I need a canon
        Christmas wish list ;).

        Like

  4. Rian Durant says:

    I use my phone to take pictures, I don’t have a separate camera. The truth is, I don’t think I’ve experienced that feeling, though, maybe because I don’t compare the photos I take. I just know there are pros and I just do it for the love of it. And because I do it with love, sometimes very nice things happen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I cant figure out how to use a camera at all! And to top it, I have really shaky hands. 🙈
      The pictures you’ve posted about the flowers and smoothies are really amazing. And I don’t think I’ve seen such beautiful pics till now 😇

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rian Durant says:

        Thank you very much! I’m flattered. I hope I’ll have the time to post others as well.

        Like

  5. Dahlia says:

    Not only do I jouska but I suffer from vemodalen as well 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Hahahaha 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Dashy says:

    Every time near the river bank at my grandparents’ place, when I take my camera out, vemodalen creeps in. And yet the scenic beauty becomes too hard to resist!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I guess it would be just better to sit down and watch the view next time? 😊

      Like

  7. kalaravi16 says:

    I have given up trying, when there are so many better and more capable folks out there with the best gadgets, why bother! Vemodalen is what I feel then I guess! 😦
    @KalaRavi16 from
    Relax-N-Rave

    Like

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I know right! And then the stock photos available online are just beautiful! Why bother with our own mediocre clicks 😁🙈

      Like

  8. My Era says:

    I am an amateur photographer and to be honest when I take a picture I do not worry about how would the rest of the world perceive it as, or how has the place or moment been shot by anyone else. I shoot only for my memory sake so I think I have been spared of vemodalen till date.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      That’s another way of looking at it! And it surely seems more positive. No comparison, only betterment 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  9. For me, it would be pics of my dog I think… not much into selfies since I dont fit into them (hmmph!)

    My Recent Entries for the #AtoZChallenge –
    Villains Who Elevated Their TV shows
    Underrated TV Shows that deserve more love

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      But dogs have to be kept away from the flash, no? All animals infact!

      Like

  10. Shilpa Garg says:

    Aha! So my fixation/obsession has a name. Cool 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  11. richajindal says:

    Thanks for sharing another word. So many pics are already available that the newness is lost. But cheers let’s all keep trying till be become professionals.
    @2richajindal
    http://jindalpackers.com/blog/value-added-services-packers-movers/
    http://richajindal.com/variety-adds-value-health-food/

    Liked by 1 person

  12. inquisitivegeet says:

    Oo.. That is a feeling that only a photographer can only relate to! I know my cousin who keeps on clicking numerous pictures in order to find the perfect one!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I’m sure your cousin must have experiences vemodalen many times then 😊

      Like

  13. Tell me about it! I’m changing your example to this.

    I experienced feelings of vemodalen as I captured the Taj Mahal in a frame.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      Aah! The perfect example, Soumya 😊

      Like

  14. 2 AM Writer says:

    This has happened to me like a million times. Especially at Hampi. I have pictures that have a million other better pictures. But couldn’t resist taking one for myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fabulus1710 says:

      I guess we love our own masterpieces 😁🙈

      Like

  15. Rajlakshmi says:

    that’s why I always change the angle… there’s always one perspective that’s different from others 🙂 ok so I learnt another new word 😀

    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

    Like

If you're here, you might as well make your mark. This is true for your place in the world, and your presence on my blog. Go on, comment away!

